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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 

Jan Petrasek, M.D. 

Respondent Name 

New Hampshire Insurance Co. 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-21-2020-01 

DWC Date Received 

July 12, 2021 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 19 

 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of 

Service 
Disputed Services 

Amount in 

Dispute 

Amount 

Due 

January 16, 2021 
Designated Doctor Examination 

(99456-W5-WP) 
$800.00 $800.00 

 

Requestor's Position  

“THE CARRIER CLAIMS THE CLAIM WASN’T SUBMITTED TIMELY, PLEASE SEE ATTACHED FOR 

OUR PROOF OF SUBMISSION FROM 01/28/2021.” 

Amount in Dispute: $800.00 

Respondent's Position  

The Austin carrier representative for New Hampshire Insurance Co. is Flahive, Ogden & Latson. 

The representative was notified of this medical fee dispute on July 20, 2021. 

Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 (d)(1), if the DWC does not receive the response 

within 14 calendar days of the dispute notification, then the DWC may base its decision on the 

available information. 

As of today, no response has been received from the insurance carrier or its representative. We 

will base this decision on the information available. 
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Findings and Decision 

 
Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 

of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out the procedures for submitting medical bills. 

2. 28 TAC §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

3. 28 TAC §134.250 sets out the fee guidelines for examinations to determine maximum 

medical improvement and impairment rating. 

Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim 

adjustment codes: 

• 29 – The time limit for filing has expired. 

• P12 – Workers’ compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment. 

• 193 – Original payment decision is being maintained. Upon review, it was determined 

that this claim was processed properly. 

• 90950 – This bill is a reconsideration of a previously reviewed bill, allowance amounts 

reflect any changes to the previous payment. 

• 5721 – To avoid duplicate bill denial for all reconsiderations/adjustments/additional 

payment requests submit a copy of this EOB or clear notation that a recon is 

Issues 

1. Is New Hampshire Insurance Company’s denial based on timely filing supported? 

2. Is Jan Petrasek, M.D. entitled to additional reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. Dr. Petrasek is seeking reimbursement for a designated doctor examination to determine 

maximum medical improvement and impairment rating performed on January 16, 2021. The 

insurance carrier denied payment stating that “the time limit for filing has expired.” 

The health care provider is required by 28 TAC §133.20 (b) to submit a medical bill within 95 

days from the date of service.  

The greater weight of evidence submitted to DWC supports that the medical bill was 

submitted to the insurance carrier or its agent on or about January 28, 2021. This is less than 

95 days from the date of service.  
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The insurance carrier’s denial of payment for this reason is not supported. 

2. Because the insurance carrier failed to support its denial of payment, Dr. Petrasek is entitled 

to reimbursement.  

The submitted documentation supports that Dr. Petrasek performed an evaluation of 

maximum medical improvement as ordered by DWC. 28 TAC §134.250 (3)(C) states that the 

maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for this examination is $350.00. 

Review of the submitted documentation finds that Dr. Petrasek performed impairment rating 

evaluations of the left shoulder with range of motion testing and a contusion and strain of 

the left knee.  

The rule at 28 TAC §134.250 (4)(C) defines the fees for the calculation of an impairment 

rating. The MAR for the evaluation of the first musculoskeletal body area performed with 

range of motion is $300.00. The MAR for the evaluation of subsequent musculoskeletal body 

areas is $150.00 each.  

The total MAR for the determination of impairment rating for this dispute is $450.00. 

The total allowable reimbursement for the disputed examination is $800.00. This amount is 

recommended. 

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 

and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 

discussed, it was considered. 

DWC finds the requester has established that additional reimbursement of $800.00 is due.  

Order 

 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled 

to additional reimbursement for the disputed services. It is ordered that New Hampshire 

Insurance Company must remit to Jan Petrasek, M.D. $800.00 plus applicable accrued interest 

within 30 days of receiving this order in accordance with 28 TAC §134.130. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 

 

 

 Signature

 

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

September 29, 2021 
Date 
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Your Right to Appeal 

 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 

§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 

a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 

instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 

must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 

personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 

office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 

CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 

parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 

copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 

information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 

1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

 

 

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html

