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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION  

GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

Requestor Name 

FUNCTIONAL RECOVERY ASSOCIATES 

Respondent Name 

LIBERTY INSURANCE CORPORATION 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-21-1032-01 

MFDR Date Received 

February 26, 2021 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 1 
 
Response Submitted by: 
Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

“Under the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) emergency rule, state-regulated health insurers and health 
maintenance organizations must: Pay in-network health professionals at least the same rate for the telemedicine 
services as for in-person services, including covered mental health services. Cover telemedicine services using any 
platform permitted by state law. Not require more documentation for telemedicine services than they require for 
in-person services. The rule does not affect how the claim for the service should be coded or submitted. Claims 
must use the codes reflecting the services actually provided and the method of care delivery actually used… It is 
our position that the charges are reasonable and well within the usual and customary charge for this type of 
procedure. Therefore, we request immediate reconsideration of the reduction of charges.”  

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

“We have reviewed the bills in question and find that the payment is appropriate as The Division's emergency 
rule (28 TEX. ADMIN, CODE §167, 1) states that Providers must bill for telehealth services in the same fashion as 
they would bill for in-person services, The Division’s emergency rule specifies that Providers must use the POS 
code 02, which defaults to facility reimbursement rates.  The CMS interim change allows a Provider to change 
the POS code to better reflect the place where the service would have been delivered were it to have taken 
place in person. The modifier 95 allows the provider to code the service as telehealth, a notification made 
necessary as POS 02 would not be Included on the bill.  The Provider, in its request for reconsideration, refers to 
Emergency Rule 28 TEX. ADMIN, CODE §35.1. However, that Emergency Rule applies to Health Benefit Plans as 
specified in sections 1455.002 and 1455.003 of the Texas Insurance Code, which specifically do not apply to a 
workers' compensation Insurance policy, Tex. Ins. Code §1455.003(4).”   

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services Amount in Dispute Amount Due 

April 21, 2020 through 
September 14, 2020 

99213-95 x 3   $151.96 $121.80 
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FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 
2. 28 TAC §134.203 sets out the reimbursement guidelines for professional medical services. 
3. 28 TAC §133.30 sets out the Telemedicine and Telehealth Services.   
4. The insurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes: 

• 170 – Reimbursement is based on the physician fee schedule when a professional service was performed 
in the facility setting. 

• 3452 – Modifier 95-synchronous telemedicine services rendered via real-time interactive audio and video 
telecommunications system. 

• B13 – Previously paid. Payment for this claim/service may have been provided in a previous payment. 

Issues 

Is the insurance carrier’s reduction of payment supported? 

Findings 

The requestor seeks reimbursement of $151.96 for professional medical services rendered on April 21, 2020  
through September 14, 2020.  The insurance carrier reduced the payment amount with reduction code “170 – 
Reimbursement is based on the physician fee schedule when a professional service was performed in the facility 
setting.”   

Review of the submitted medical records, titled, “RECHECK OFFICE ASSESSMENT” documents that the patient 
gave verbal consent to a telemedicine visit.  The requestor documented each office visit as a telemedicine visit. 

Per 28 TAC §133.30 a health care provider may bill and be reimbursed for telemedicine and telehealth 
services regardless of the geographical area or location of the injured employee.  Telehealth and telemedicine 
services are billed as professional services.  Reimbursement for professional services is established by 
the Medical Fee Guideline for Professional Services, 28 TAC §134.203.  

28 TAC §134.203(b)(1) states in part “For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of professional medical 
services, Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply the following: (1) Medicare payment 
policies, including its coding; billing; correct coding initiatives (CCI) edits; modifiers; bonus payments for health 
professional shortage areas (HPSAs) and physician scarcity areas (PSAs); and other payment policies in effect on 
the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions in the rules.”  The requestor’s supplemental 
position statement references the CMS Interim Final Rule 19230-01 stating “According to that rule, the 
reimbursement rates for in person medical visits and the reimbursement rates for telemedicine visits are the 
same. Since the Medicare reimbursement rates are the basis for Worker’s Compensation payments in Texas, the 
attached rule controls.”  Review of the CMS Interim Final Rule 19230, effective March 31, 2020, finds that 
Medicare changed the reimbursement rates for telemedicine services to health care providers from the facility 
rate to the non-facility rate.  

28 TAC §134.203 (a)(7) states that specific Texas Labor Code provisions and division rules take precedence over 
conflicting CMS provisions administering Medicare.  The division finds no provisions in the Labor Code or its 
adopted rules that conflict with the CMS Interim Final Rule 19230.  As there are no conflicts, the maximum 
allowable reimbursement (MAR) for telemedicine services provided in the workers’ compensation services 
follow Medicare payment policies.  As Medicare reimburses telemedicine services under the non-facility rate per 
Interim Final Rule 19230, the division finds that the MAR for telemedicine services is calculated using the non-
facility rate. 

DWC now considers whether the disputed services are covered telemedicine or telehealth services.  Review of 
the Medicare Covered Telehealth services at https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-General-
Information/Telehealth/Telehealth-Codes, found that the disputed services are CPT Codes listed in the covered 
telehealth code list.  The disputed codes are therefore subject to reimbursement pursuant to 28 TAC §134.203.  

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-General-Information/Telehealth/Telehealth-Codes
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-General-Information/Telehealth/Telehealth-Codes


Page 3 of 3 

28 TAC §134.203 (c)(1)(2) states in pertinent part, “To determine the Maximum Allowable Reimbursement 
(MAR) for professional services, system participants shall apply the Medicare payment policies with minimal 
modifications.  (1) For service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical Medicine and 
Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when performed in an office setting, the 
established conversion factor to be applied is $52.83. For Surgery when performed in a facility setting, the 
established conversion factor to be applied is $66.32.  (2) The conversion factors listed in paragraph (1) of this 
subsection shall be the conversion factors for calendar year 2008. Subsequent year's conversion factors shall be 
determined by applying the annual percentage adjustment of the Medicare Economic Index (MEI) to the 
previous year's conversion factors and shall be effective January 1st of the new calendar year. ...” 

Reimbursement is calculated as follows: 

DOS CPT CODE # UNITS AMOUNT 
PAID 

MAR MAR - Amount Paid = 
Amount Due 

DISPUTED 
AMOUNT 

AMOUNT 
DUE 

4/21/20 99213-95 1 $87.35 $127.95 $127.95 - $87.35 = $40.60 $50.65 $40.60 

6/23/20 99213-95 1 $87.35 $127.95 $127.95 - $87.35 = $40.60 $50.65 $40.60 

9/14/20 99213-95 1 $87.35 $127.95 $127.95 - $87.35 = $40.60 $50.65 $40.60 

TOTAL $262.05 $383.85 $121.80 $151.95 $121.80 

Per 28 TAC §134.203 (h)(1-2), “…When there is no negotiated or contracted amount that complies with Labor 
Code §413.011, reimbursement shall be the least of the: (1) MAR amount; (2) health care provider's usual and 
customary charge, unless directed by Division rule to bill a specific amount; (3) fair and reasonable amount 
consistent with the standards of §134.1 of this title.” The DWC finds that the requestor is entitled to a total 
recommended amount of $121.80. 

Conclusion 

In resolving disputes over reimbursement, the role of DWC is to adjudicate payment following Texas laws and 
DWC rules.  The findings in this decision, are based on the evidence available at the time of review.  Even though 
not all the evidence was discussed, it was considered. For the reasons above the requestor has established that 
additional payment in the amount of $121.80 is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $121.80. 

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to 
additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute.  The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent 
to remit to the requestor the amount of $121.80 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 TAC §134.130 due 
within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

__ ____ 
Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

April 9, 2021 
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 TAC §133.307, effective 
May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute 
Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received by DWC within twenty 
days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed, or personally delivered to DWC using the contact 
information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver 
a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed.  Please include a copy of the 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 TAC 
§141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


