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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION  

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Duramed  

Respondent Name 

Texas Mutual Insurance Co 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-20-2776-01 

MFDR Date Received 

July 27, 2020 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 54 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary: “The above date of service was not paid in FULL...” 

Amount in Dispute: $62.92 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary: “…the DMEPOS manual does provide guidance that rental is 10% of the 
purchase price…”. 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

May 26, 2020 E0730-RR $62.92 $11.25 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 
2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 sets out the reimbursement guidelines for durable medical 

equipment. 
3. The insurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes: 

• P12 – Workers’ Compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment 

• 790 – This charge was reimbursed in accordance to the Texas Medical fee guideline 

• 196 – Original payment decision is being maintained 
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Issues 

1. Are the insurance carrier’s reasons for reduction of payment supported? 
2. Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The requestor is seeking additional reimbursement for the rental of durable medical equipment.  The 
insurance carrier reduced the disputed services based on fee guidelines.  28 TAC §134.203 (b)(1) states in 
pertinent part for coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of professional medical services, Texas 
workers' compensation system participants shall apply Medicare payment policies.” 
 
The Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 20, Section 30.1.2 found at www.cms.gov states, In order 
to permit an attending physician time to determine whether the purchase of a TENS is medically appropriate 
for a particular patient, MACs pay 10 percent of the purchase price of the item for each of 2 months. 
 
28 TAC §134.203 (d) (1) states The MAR for Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Level II 
codes A, E, J, K, and L shall be 125 percent of the fee listed for the code in the Medicare Durable Medical 
Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Supplies (DMEPOS) fee schedule.   
 
Review of the DMEPOS fee schedule found the purchase price for the disputed service to be $145.78.  Ten 
percent of this amount is $14.58 multiplied by 125% equals a maximum allowable reimbursement of $18.23. 
 

2. The MAR of the disputed service is $18.23.  The insurance carrier paid $6.98.  The balance of $11.25 is due 
to the requestor. 

 

Conclusion 

In resolving disputes over reimbursement for medically necessary health care to treat a compensable injury, the 
role of DWC is to adjudicate payment following Texas laws and DWC rules.  The findings in this decision are 
based on the evidence available at the time of review.  Even though not all the evidence was discussed, it was 
considered. 

For the reasons above the requestor has established payment is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $11.25. 

ORDER 

In accordance with Texas Labor Code Section 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable) and based on the submitted 
information, DWC finds the requestor is entitled to additional reimbursement.  DWC hereby ORDERS the 
respondent to remit to the requestor $11.25, plus accrued interest per Rule §134.130, due within 30 days of 
receipt of this order. 

 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 
   
Signature 

   
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 September 1, 2020  
Date 

http://www.cms.gov/
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YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with Rule §133.307, 
effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by DWC within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to DWC using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the 
dispute at the same time the request is filed.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings 
and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 

 

 


