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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION

GENERAL INFORMATION
Requestor Name Respondent Name
TEXAS HEALTH OF ARLINGTON HARTFORD CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY
MFDR Tracking Number Carrier’s Austin Representative
M4-19-3362-01 Box Number 47

MFDR Date Received
March 4, 2019

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY
Reqguestor’s Position Summary: “Underpaid Therapy Rate.”
Amount in Dispute: $45.77

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY
Respondent’s Position Summary: “Disallow Modality (97010-97039) codes not billed with PT codes (97110-97799).”
Response Submitted by: The Hartford

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS
Dates of Service Disputed Services Dispute Amount| Amount Due
August 2, 2018 to August 8, 2018 Physical Therapy: 97110, 97140, G0283 $45.77 $17.62
FINDINGS AND DECISION

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and rules of the Texas Department
of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Background

28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.

28 Texas Administrative Code §134.403 sets out the hospital facility fee guideline for outpatient services.

28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 sets out the fee guideline for professional medical services.

Texas Labor Code §408.021 entitles an injured employee to all required health care as and when needed.

The insurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:

e 107 — CLAIM/SERVICE DENIED BECAUSE THE RELATED OR QUALIFYING CLAIM/SERVICE WAS NOT PREVIOUSLY PAID OR
IDENTIFIED ON THIS CLAIM.

e 246 —THIS PROCEDURE IS INAPPROPRIATELY BILLED. IT SHOULD ONLY BE BILLED IN CONJUNCTION WITH APPROPRIATE
REQUIRED CODE.

e 119 —BENEFIT MAXIMUM FOR THIS TIME PERIOD OR OCCURRENCE HAS BEEN REACHED

e P12 —WORKERS' COMPENSATION JURISDICTIONAL FEE SCHEDULE ADJUSTMENT.

e 163 —THE CHARGE FOR THIS PROCEDURE EXCEEDS THE UNIT VALUE AND/OR MULTIPLE PROCEDURE RULES

e 170 - REIMBURSEMENT IS BASED ON THE OUTPATIENT/INPATIENT FEE SCHEDULE.

e W3 —ADDITIONAL PAYMENT MADE ON APPEAL/RECONSIDERATION.

e 1115-WE FIND THE ORIGINAL REVIEW TO BE ACCURATE AND ARE UNABLE TO RECOMMEND ANY ADDITIONAL ALLOWANCE

e 193 —ORIGINAL PAYMENT DECISION IS BEING MAINTAINED. UPON REVIEW, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THIS CLAIM WAS
PROCESSED PROPERLY.
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Issues

1. Is the injured employee subject to a benefit maximum?
2. What is the recommended payment for the services in dispute?
3. Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement?

Findings
1. The insurance carrier denied disputed services with claim adjustment reason code:
e 119 —BENEFIT MAXIMUM FOR THIS TIME PERIOD OR OCCURRENCE HAS BEEN REACHED

While the division has adopted Medicare payment policies in administering the workers’ compensation medical
fee guidelines, it has not adopted Medicare’s benefit limitations. Texas Labor Code §408.021(a) entitles injured
employees “to all health care reasonably required by the nature of the injury as and when needed.”

The insurance carrier did not present any information to support that the injured employee or the disputed
services were subject to a “benefit maximum.” This denial reason is not supported. The services will therefore
be reviewed for reimbursement in accordance with division rules and fee guidelines.

2. The insurance carrier denied therapy code G0283 (electrical stimulation) with claim adjustment reason code:
e 107 — CLAIM/SERVICE DENIED BECAUSE THE RELATED OR QUALIFYING CLAIM/SERVICE WAS NOT PREVIOUSLY PAID OR
IDENTIFIED ON THIS CLAIM.
e 246 —THIS PROCEDURE IS INAPPROPRIATELY BILLED. IT SHOULD ONLY BE BILLED IN CONJUNCTION WITH APPROPRIATE
REQUIRED CODE.

In support of these denial reasons, the respondent’s position statement asserts, “Disallow Modality (97010-
97039) codes not billed with PT codes (97110-97799).”

DWC Professional Medical Services Fee Guideline Rule §134.203(b)(1) requires for coding, billing, reporting, and
reimbursement of professional medical services, Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply
“Medicare payment policies, including its coding; billing; correct coding initiatives (CCl) edits; modifiers; ... and

other payment policies in effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions in the rules.”

The respondent presented no information to support that Medicare payment policy requires code G0283 to
be billed with a qualifying service or additional required code. These denial reasons are not supported. The
disputed service will therefore be reviewed for payment in accordance with division rules and fee guidelines.

3. This dispute regards outpatient physical therapy services that are not paid under Medicare’s Outpatient
Prospective Payment System (OPPS) but using Medicare’s Physician Fee Schedule. Per DWC's Hospital Facility Fee
Guideline, Rule §134.403(h), if Medicare reimburses using other fee schedules, services are paid using DWC
guidelines applicable to the code on the date provided. DWC Medical Fee Guideline for Professional Services,
Rule §134.203(c), requires the maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) be determined by applying
Medicare payment policies modified by DWC rules. The MAR is the sum of the geographically adjusted work,
practice expense and malpractice values multiplied by the DWC annual conversion factor.

When more than one unit is billed of therapy services designated by multiple-procedure payment indicator ‘5’,
Medicare policy requires the first unit of therapy with the highest practice expense for that day be paid in full.
Payment is reduced by 50% of the practice expense (PE) for each extra therapy unit provided on that date.

Reimbursement is calculated as follows:

e Procedure code G0283, August 2, 2018, has a Work RVU of 0.18 multiplied by the Work GPCI of 1.007 is
0.18126. The practice expense RVU of 0.23 multiplied by the PE GPCl of 0.986 is 0.22678. The malpractice RVU
of 0.01 multiplied by the malpractice GPCl of 0.747 is 0.00747. The sum is 0.41551 multiplied by the DWC
conversion factor of $58.31 for a MAR of $24.23. For each extra therapy unit after the first unit of the code with
the highest PE for each day, payment is reduced by 50% of the practice expense. The PE for this code is not the
highest. The PE reduced rate is $17.62. The insurance carrier paid $0.00. The recommended payment is $17.62.
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e Procedure code 97110, August 6, 2018, has a Work RVU of 0.45 multiplied by the Work GPCI of 1.007 is
0.45315. The practice expense RVU of 0.4 multiplied by the PE GPCI of 0.986 is 0.3944. The malpractice
RVU of 0.02 multiplied by the malpractice GPCl of 0.747 is 0.01494. The sum is 0.86249 multiplied by the
DWC conversion factor of $58.31 for a MAR of $50.29. For each extra therapy unit after the first unit of the
code with the highest PE, payment is reduced by 50% of the practice expense. The PE for this code is not
the highest. The PE reduced rate is $38.79 at 2 units is $77.58. The insurance carrier paid $77.58.

No additional payment is recommended.

e Procedure code 97140, August 8, 2018, has a Work RVU of 0.43 multiplied by the Work GPCl of 1.007 is
0.43301. The practice expense RVU of 0.35 multiplied by the PE GPCI of 0.986 is 0.3451. The malpractice RVU of
0.01 multiplied by the malpractice GPCl of 0.747 is 0.00747. The sum is 0.78558 multiplied by the DWC
conversion factor of $58.31 for a MAR of $45.81. For each extra therapy unit after the first unit of the code with
the highest PE, payment is reduced by 50% of the practice expense. The PE for this code is not the highest.
The PE reduced rate is $35.75. The insurance carrier paid $35.75. No additional payment is recommended.

The total MAR (maximum allowable reimbursement) for the services in dispute is $130.95. The insurance carrier
has previously paid $113.33. The amount due to the requestor is $17.62. This amount is recommended.

Conclusion

In resolving disputes regarding the amount of payment due for health care determined to be medically necessary
and appropriate for treatment of a compensable injury, the role of the division is to adjudicate the payment,
given the relevant statutory provisions and division rules.

The division emphasizes the findings in this decision are based on the available evidence presented by the requestor
and respondent up to the time of review. Even though not all the evidence was discussed, it was considered.

For the reasons stated above, the division finds that the requestor has established that additional
reimbursement is due. As a result, the amount ordered is $17.62.

ORDER

Based on the submitted information, pursuant to Texas Labor Code Section 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable),
the division has determined the requestor is entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed services.
The division hereby ORDERS the respondent to remit to the requestor $17.62, plus applicable accrued interest
per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this order.

Authorized Signature

Grayson Richardson March 29, 2019
Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer Date
YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with Rule §133.307.

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute
Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the form’s instructions. The division must receive the request within
twenty days of your receipt of this decision. The request may be faxed, mailed or personally delivered either to the
division, using the contact information listed on the form, or to the field office handling the claim.

The party seeking review must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same
time the request is filed. Include a copy of this Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together
with any other information required by 28 Texas Administrative Code §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en espafiol acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812.
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