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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION  

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Texas Health Denton 

Respondent Name 

Hartford Casualty Insurance Co  
 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-19-2026-01 

MFDR Date Received 

December 7, 2018 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 47 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “The purpose of this letter is to inform you that payment for services provided 
to the above referenced patient does not comply with Chapters 134.403 and 134.404 of Texas Administrative 
Code.” 

Amount in Dispute: $72.58 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary: “Services were processed in accordance with Texas Guidelines, Rule 
134.403.” 

Response Submitted by:  The Hartford 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

 
July 2 – 18, 2018 

 
Outpatient Therapy Services $72.58 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 
2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.403 sets out the reimbursement guidelines for outpatient hospital 

services. 
3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 sets out the reimbursement guidelines for professional medical 
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services. 
4. The insurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment 

codes: 

• 97 – Payment adjusted because the benefit for this service is included in the payment/allowance for 
another service/procedure that has already been adjudicated 

• 119 – Benefit maximum for this time period or occurrence has been reached 

• 163 – The charge for this procedure exceeds the unit value and/or the multiple procedure rules 

• P12 – Workers’ compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment 

Issues 

1. Is the carrier’s reduction of payment supported? 
2. What rule applies to reimbursement? 
3. Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The requestor is seeking additional reimbursement for outpatient therapy services performed from July 2 
– 18, 2018. The carrier reduced the allowed amount as 119 – “Benefit maximum for this time period or 
occurrence has been reached” and 163 – “The charge for this procedure exceeds the unit value and/or the 
multiple procedure rules.”  28 TAC §134.403 (d) states in pertinent part,  

 For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of health care covered in this section, Texas 
 workers' compensation system participants shall apply Medicare payment policies in effect on the 
 date a service is provided 

Review of the Medicare Claims Processing Manual, https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-
Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Internet-Only-Manuals-IOMs.html , Chapter 5 - Part B Outpatient 
Rehabilitation and CORF/OPT Services 20.2 – D, which states in pertinent part, 

 Reporting of Service Units With HCPCS, D. Specific Limits for HCPCS. The Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, 
 section 5107 requires the implementation of clinically appropriate code edits to eliminate improper 
 payments for outpatient therapy services. The following codes may be billed, when covered, only at or 
 below the number of units indicated on the chart per treatment day. 

The codes in dispute 97110, 97035 and 97140 are not listed on this chart.  The services in dispute will be 
reviewed per applicable fee guideline shown below.  

2. The applicable Division Rule are found in 28 TAC §134.403.  The applicable sections are listed below: 
 (f) The reimbursement calculation used for establishing the MAR shall be the Medicare facility specific 
 amount, including outlier payment amounts, determined by applying the most recently adopted and 
 effective Medicare Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) reimbursement formula and 
 factors as published annually in the Federal Register.  

 (h) For medical services provided in an outpatient acute care hospital, but not addressed in the 
 Medicare payment policies as outlined in subsections (f)(1) or (f)(2) of this section, and for which 
 Medicare reimburses using other Medicare fee schedules, reimbursement shall be made using the 
 applicable Division Fee Guideline in effect for that service on the date the service was provided. 

The OPPS reimbursement formula factors are found at https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-
Service-Payment/HospitalOutpatientPPS/Addendum-A-and-Addendum-B-Updates.html.  The specific 
factor is the Status Indicators.  The status indicator for each of the HCPCs code listed on the DWC060 have 
an “A” status indicator which is defined as, “Not paid under OPPS.  Paid by MACs under a fee schedule or 
payment system other than OPPS.”   

Based on the requirements of 28 TAC §134.403 (h) the applicable Division fee guideline is found in 28 TAC 
§134.203.  The maximum allowable reimbursement calculation requires application of the Medicare 
Multiple Procedure Payment Reduction (MPPR) implemented found in the CMS Claims Processing Manual 

https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Internet-Only-Manuals-IOMs.html
https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Internet-Only-Manuals-IOMs.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/HospitalOutpatientPPS/Addendum-A-and-Addendum-B-Updates.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/HospitalOutpatientPPS/Addendum-A-and-Addendum-B-Updates.html
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100-04, Chapter 5, section 10.7.  The MPPR policy was used in in conjunction of applicable DWC fee 
guideline in the calculations found below. 

3. 28 TAC §134.203 (c) (1) states.  
To determine the MAR for professional services, system participants shall apply the Medicare 
payment policies with minimal modifications.  

(1) For service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical Medicine and 
Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when performed in an office setting, 
the established conversion factor to be applied is (date of service yearly conversion factor). 

The MAR is calculated by the DWC Conversion Factor of 58.31/Medicare Conversion Factor 35.9996 
multiplied by the Medicare allowable.  To ensure the appropriate application of the MPPR reductions all 
services billed for each date will be calculated.  The calculation is as follows: 

• Procedure code 97010 billed July 2, 2018.  This code has a “B - bundled” status.  No separate 
payment recommended. 

• Procedure code 97035 billed July 2, 2018 has a PE of 0.16 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $10.55.  58.31/35.9996 x $10.55 = $17.09 

• Procedure code 97035 billed July 5, 2018 has a PE of 0.16 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $10.55.  58.31/35.9996 x $10.55 = $17.09 

• Procedure code 97035 billed July 9, 2018 has a PE of 0.16 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $10.55.  58.31/35.9996 x $10.55 = $17.09 

• Procedure code 97035 billed July 11, 2018 has a PE of 0.16 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $10.55.  58.31/35.9996 x $10.55 = $17.09 

• Procedure code 97035 billed July 16, 2018 has a PE of 0.16 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $10.55.  58.31/35.9996 x $10.55 = $17.09 

• Procedure code 97035 billed July 18, 2018 has a PE of 0.16 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $10.55.  58.31/35.9996 x $10.55 = $17.09 

• Procedure code 97110 billed July 2, 2018 has a PE of 0.4 the highest for this date and will be paid 
at the full rate of $30.28.  58.31/35.9996 x $30.28 = $49.05 

• Procedure code 97110 billed July 5, 2018 has a PE of 0.4 the highest for this date and will be paid 
at the full rate of $30.28.  58.31/35.9996 x $30.29 = $49.05 

• Procedure code 97110 billed July 9, 2018 has a PE of 0.4 the highest for this date and will be paid 
at the full rate of $30.28.  58.31/35.9996 x $30.29 = $49.05 

• Procedure code 97110 billed July 11, 2018 has a PE of 0.4 the highest for this date and will be paid 
at the full rate of $30.28.  58.31/35.9996 x $30.29 = $49.05 

• Procedure code 97110 billed July 16, 2018 for two units has a PE of 0.4 the highest for this date 
and will be paid at $30.28 for the first unit and $23.53 for the second unit.  58.31/35.9996 x 
$30.29 = $49.05.  58.31/35.9996 x $23.53 = $38.11.  $49.05 + $38.11 = $87.16. 

• Procedure code 97110 billed July 18, 2018 for three units has a PE of 0.4 the highest for this date 
and will be paid at $30.28 for the first unit and $23.53 for the second and third unit.   
58.31/35.9996 x $30.29 = $49.05.  58.31/35.9996 x $23.53 x 2 = $76.22.  $49.05 + $76.22 = 
$125.27 

• Procedure code 97140 billed July 2, 2018 has a PE of 0.35 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $21.68.  58.31/35.9996 x $21.68 = $35.12 

• Procedure code 97140 billed July 5, 2018 has a PE of 0.35 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $21.68.  58.31/35.9996 x $21.68 = $35.12 
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• Procedure code 97140 billed July 9, 2018 has a PE of 0.35 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $21.68.  58.31/35.9996 x $21.68 = $35.12 

• Procedure code 97140 billed July 11, 2018 has a PE of 0.35 not the highest for this date and will be 
paid at the reduced rate of $21.68.  58.31/35.9996 x $21.68 = $35.12 

The total allowable reimbursement for the services in dispute is $651.65. The carrier paid $651.65.  No 
additional payment is recommended. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has not established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00. 

ORDER 

Based on the submitted information, pursuant to Texas Labor Code Section 413.031, the division hereby 
determines the requestor is entitled to $0.00 additional reimbursement for the services in dispute. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 
   
Signature 

   
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 January 9, 2019  
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with Rule §133.307, 
effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the 
dispute at the same time the request is filed.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings 
and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


