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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Hand and Wrist Center of Houston 

Respondent Name 

Employers Preferred Insurance Company

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-16-2907-01 

MFDR Date Received 

May 23, 2016 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 4 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “The healthcare provider’s position on this claim is that this date of service has 
been partially denied. We find that one of the charges on this claim has not been paid at 100% of the statutory 
fee as required by law per Texas Administrative Code  Title 28 Part 2 Chapter 134 Subchapter C Rule 134.202” 

Amount in Dispute: $190.48 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “The bill was denied requesting the rendering physician’s state license 
number. Per Texas administrative code 133.10, this is a requirement for billing.” 

Response Submitted by:  Bunch Care Solutions 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

November 12, 2015 Occupational Therapy $190.48 $127.47 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 
2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 sets out the fee guidelines for professional services. 
3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.600 sets out the procedures for preauthorization. 
4. The insurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes: 

 Per TX Rule 134.600, Pre-auth is required. If services have been pre-authorized re submit the bill with 
authorization info for reconsideration. 
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 Original payment decision is being maintained. Upon review, it was determined that this claim was 
processed properly. 

Issues 

1. Did the insurance carrier appropriately raise an issue regarding the requestor’s license number? 
2. Is the insurance carrier’s reason for denial of payment supported? 
3. What is the maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for the disputed services? 
4. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement for the disputed services? 

Findings 

1. In their position statement, the insurance carrier argued that “The bill was denied requesting the rendering 
physician’s state license number.” 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307(d)(2)(F) states, in relevant part, 

The response shall address only those denial reasons presented to the requestor prior to the date the 
request for MFDR was filed with the division and the other party. Any new denial reasons or defenses 
raised shall not be considered in the review… 

Review of the submitted documentation does not support that the issue in question was raised prior to the 
date the request for MFDR was filed. Therefore, this issue will not be considered. 

2. The requestor is seeking reimbursement of occupational therapy procedure codes 97110 and 97140 for date 
of service November 12, 2015. The insurance carrier denied disputed services stating, “Per TX Rule 134.600, 
Pre-auth is required. If services have been pre-authorized re submit the bill with authorization info for 
reconsideration.” 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.600(c) provides that:    

The insurance carrier is liable for all reasonable and necessary medical costs relating to the health care: 
(1) listed in subsection (p) or (q) of this section only when the following situations occur: 

(A) … 
(B) preauthorization of any health care listed in subsection (p) of this section that was approved 

prior to providing the health care 

Review of the submitted information finds a utilization review notice dated November 10, 2015 which 
approved preauthorization for occupational therapy for three times a week for four weeks, including 
procedure codes 97140 and 97110. The insurance carrier’s denial reason is not supported.  The disputed 
services will therefore be reviewed per applicable Division rules and fee guidelines.  

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203(c) states, 

To determine the MAR for professional services, system participants shall apply the Medicare payment 
policies with minimal modifications. 
(1) For service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical Medicine and 

Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when performed in an office setting, 
the established conversion factor to be applied is $52.83… 

(2) The conversion factors listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be the conversion factors for 
calendar year 2008. Subsequent year's conversion factors shall be determined by applying the 
annual percentage adjustment of the Medicare Economic Index (MEI) to the previous year's 
conversion factors, and shall be effective January 1st of the new calendar year… 

The Medicare fee is the sum of the geographically adjusted work, practice expense and malpractice values 
multiplied by the conversion factor. The MAR is calculated by substituting the Division conversion factor. The 
Division conversion factor for 2015 is $56.20. 

For CPT code 97110 on November 12, 2015, the relative value (RVU) for work of 0.45 multiplied by the 
geographic practice cost index (GPCI) for work of 1.019 is 0.458550. The practice expense (PE) RVU of 0.44 
multiplied by the PE GPCI of 1.006 is 0.442640. Per Medicare policy, when more than one unit of designated 
therapy services is performed on the same day, full payment is made for the first unit of the procedure with 
the highest practice expense. Payment for each subsequent unit is reduced by 50% of the practice expense.  
This procedure has the highest PE for this date. The reduced PE for subsequent units is 0.221320. The 
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malpractice RVU of 0.02 multiplied by the malpractice (MP) GPCI of 0.955 is 0.019100. The sum of the 
calculations for the first unit, 0.920290, is multiplied by the Division conversion factor of $56.20 for a total of 
$51.72. The sum of the calculations for subsequent units, 0.698970, is multiplied by the Division conversion 
factor of $56.20 for a total of $39.28. The total MAR for 2 units is $91.00. 

For CPT code 97140 on November 12, 2015, the RVU for work of 0.43 multiplied by the GPCI for work of 
1.019 is 0.438170. The PE RVU of 0.40 multiplied by the PE GPCI of 1.006 is 0.402400. Per Medicare policy, 
when more than one unit of designated therapy services is performed on the same day, full payment is made 
for the first unit of the procedure with the highest practice expense. Payment for each subsequent unit is 
reduced by 50% of the practice expense. This procedure does not have the highest PE for this date. The 
reduced PE is 0.201200. The MP RVU of 0.01 multiplied by the malpractice GPCI of 0.955 is 0.009550. The 
sum of 0.648920 is multiplied by the Division conversion factor of $56.20 for a total of $36.47. The total MAR 
for 1 unit is $36.47. 

4. The total MAR for the disputed services is $127.47. The insurance carrier paid $0.00. A reimbursement of 
$127.47 is recommended. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $127.47. 

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to 
additional reimbursement for the services in dispute.  The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent to remit to 
the requestor the amount of $127.47 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 
   
Signature 

 Laurie Garnes  
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 June 22, 2016  
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 

 


