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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION

GENERAL INFORMATION
Requestor Name Respondent Name
Universal DME LLC Ace American Insurance Co
MFDR Tracking Number Carrier’s Austin Representative
M4-16-1161-01 Box Number 15

MFDR Date Received
January 4, 2016

REQUESTOR'’S POSITION SUMMARY

Requestor’s Position Summary: “We should be paid for services rendered because we have submitted the
appropriate paperwork for review.”

Amount in Dispute: $913.00

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY

Respondent’s Position Summary: “The carrier has reconsidered the bill and no additional payment has been
recommended.”

Response Submitted by: Broadspire, P.O. Box 14351 Lexington, KY 40512-4351

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS
. : . Amount In
Dates of Service Disputed Services . Amount Due
Dispute
June 30, 2015 E0673 -RR, E0675 -NU $913.00 $0.00
FINDINGS AND DECISION

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Background

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 sets out the reimbursement guidelines for professional medical
services.

3. Theinsurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:
e P13 —Payment reduced or denied based on workers’ compensation jurisdictional regulations or payment
policies
e B50— No reimbursement recommended as this service should be included in the hospital/asc billing
e D98 - reimbursement not recommended in accordance with the official fee schedule guidelines
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e D00 — Based on further review, no additional allowance is warranted

Issues

1. Are the insurance carrier’s reasons for denial or reduction of payment supported?
2. lIs the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement?

Findings

1. The services in dispute are considered “durable medical equipment.” The insurance carrier denied disputed
services with claim adjustment reason code B50 — “No reimbursement recommended as this service should
be included in the hospital/asc billing.” 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 (b) states,

For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of professional medical services, Texas workers'
compensation system participants shall apply the following:

(1) Medicare payment policies, including its coding; billing; correct coding initiatives (CCl) edits;
modifiers; bonus payments for health professional shortage areas (HPSAs) and physician scarcity areas
(PSAs); and other payment policies in effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or
exceptions in the rules.

Per the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid, “Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 20 - Durable
Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPQOS), 30 - General Payment Rules, B3-5102,
found at https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Downloads/clm104c20.pdf
states in pertinent part,

The definition of DME in §1861(n) of the Act provides that DME is covered by Part B only when intended
for use in the home, which explicitly does not include a SNF or hospital. (See the Medicare Benefit Policy
Manual, Chapter 15). This does not preclude separate billing for DME furnished after discharge.

The Medicare Benefit Policy Manual, Chapter 15 — Covered Medical and Other Health Services, D. Definition
of a Beneficiary’s Home, found at https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-
Guidance/Guidance/Manuals/Downloads/bp102c15.pdf states in pertinent part,

For purposes of rental and purchase of DME a beneficiary’s home may be his/her own dwelling, an
apartment, a relative’s home, a home for the aged, or some other type of institution (such as an assisted
living facility, or an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded (ICF/MR)). However, an
institution may not be considered a beneficiary’s home if it:

* Meets at least the basic requirement in the definition of a hospital, i.e., it is primarily engaged in
providing by or under the supervision of physicians, to inpatients, diagnostic and therapeutic
services for medical diagnosis, treatment, and care of injured, disabled, and sick persons, or
rehabilitation services for the rehabilitation of injured, disabled, or sick persons; or

* Meets at least the basic requirement in the definition of a skilled nursing facility, i.e., it is primarily
engaged in providing to inpatients skilled nursing care and related services for patients who
require medical or nursing care, or rehabilitation services for the rehabilitation of injured, disabled,
or sick persons.

Thus, if an individual is a patient in an institution or distinct part of an institution which provides the
services described in the bullets above, the individual is not entitled to have separate Part B payment
made for rental or purchase of DME. This is because such an institution may not be considered the
individual’s home. The same concept applies even if the patient resides in a bed or portion of the
institution not certified for Medicare.

Review of the submitted medical claim finds the place of service listed in box 24B of the Form 1500 is “22” or
outpatient hospital. Based on the above referenced Medicare payment policy, the carrier’s denial is supported.

2. Pursuant to requirements of Rule 134.204(b) no additional payment is recommended.
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Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has not established that additional
reimbursement is due. As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00.

ORDER

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor
Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the
disputed services.

Authorized Signature

January , 2016

Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer Date

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas
Administrative Code §133.307, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form. The request must be received
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision. The request may be faxed, mailed or personally
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division. Please include a copy of the Medical Fee
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas
Administrative Code §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en espaiiol acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812.
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