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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

UVALDE MEMORIAL HOSPITAL 

Respondent Name 

TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-15-2689-01 

MFDR Date Received 

APRIL 21, 2015 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 54 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “Uvalde Memorial Hospital was not aware that the above date of service was to 
be filed with workers comp.  Patient gave us copy of Blue Cross And Blue Shield insurance card.  We filed with 
Blue Cross and we received payment.  On 08/25/14 we were informed by patient that this bill should have gone 
to Texas Mutual Insurance.  Per the Texas Department of Workers Comp Division rule 133.20 states that a 
provider has an additional 45 days from receipt of workers compensation information to file a claim.  Enclosed is 
copy of Blue Cross And Blue Shield explanation of benefits for proof of timely filing along with UB04, itemized bill 
and medical records.” 

Amount in Dispute: $2,419.49 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “Texas Mutual on 10/16/2014 received the bill from Uvalde Memorial 
Hospital, with 95 days.  However, Rule 133.20(b) states in part, ‘Except as provided in Labor Code §408.0272(b), 
(c) or (D), a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services 
are provided.  In accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health care provider shall submit the medical 
bill to the correct workers’ compensation insurance carrier not later than the 95th day after the date the health 
care provider is notified of the health care provider’s erroneous submission of the medical bill.  A health care 
provider who submits a medical bill to the correct workers’ compensation insurance carrier shall include a copy 
of the original medical bill submitted, a copy of the explanation of benefits (EOB) if available, and sufficient 
documentation to support why one or more of the exceptions for untimely submission of a medical bill under 
§408.0272 should be applied.’  Texas Mutual reviewed its claim file and found no bill from Uvalde Memorial 
Hospital to Blue Cross Blue Shield.  And there is not such bill found in the DWC60 packet.  No payment due.” 

Response Submitted by:  TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE CO. 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

MAY 1, 2014 Hospital Outpatient Services $2,419.49 $0.00 
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FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out medical bill submission procedures for health care providers. 

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4 establishes rules for non-Commission communications. 

4. Texas Labor Code §408.027 sets out provisions related to payment of health care providers. 

5. Texas Labor Code §408.0272 provides for certain exceptions to untimely submission of a medical claim. 

6. The insurance carrier reduced payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes: 

 29 – The time limit for filing has expired. 

 731 - Per 133.20(b) provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the 
service. 

 631 – PT, OT, or SP code present without required non-payment G code. 

 246 – This non-payable code is for required reporting only. 

 18 – Exact duplicate claim/service. 

 927 – Health care provider has billed for service(s). 

 W3, 350 – In accordance with TDI-DWC rule 134.804, this bill has been identified as a request for 
reconsideration or appeal. 

 891 – No additional payment after reconsideration. 

Issues 

1. What is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the services in dispute? 

2. Did the requestor forfeit the right to reimbursement for the services in dispute? 

Findings 

1. The insurance carrier denied the disputed services with claim adjustment reason codes listed above.  28 
Texas Administrative Code §133.20(b) requires that, except as provided in Texas Labor Code §408.0272, a 
health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are 
provided.”  Texas Labor Code §408.0272(b) provides that: 

Notwithstanding Section 408.027, a health care provider who fails to timely submit a claim for payment 
to the insurance carrier under Section 408.027(a) does not forfeit the provider's right to reimbursement 
for that claim for payment solely for failure to submit a timely claim if: 

(1) the provider submits proof satisfactory to the commissioner that the provider, within the period 
prescribed by Section 408.027(a), erroneously filed for reimbursement with: 
(A) an insurer that issues a policy of group accident and health insurance under which the injured 

employee is a covered insured; 
(B) a health maintenance organization that issues an evidence of coverage under which the 

injured employee is a covered enrollee; or 
(C) a workers' compensation insurance carrier other than the insurance carrier liable for the 

payment of benefits under this title; or 
(2) the commissioner determines that the failure resulted from a catastrophic event that 

substantially interfered with the normal business operations of the provider. 

No documentation was found to support that any of the exceptions described in Texas Labor Code 
§408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute.  For that reason, the health care provider was required to 
submit the medical bill not later than 95 days after the date the disputed services were provided. 

2. Texas Labor Code §408.027(a) states that “Failure by the health care provider to timely submit a claim for 
payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for payment.”  
28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4(h) states that: 
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Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, written communications shall be deemed to 
have been sent on: 

(1) the date received, if sent by fax, personal delivery or electronic transmission or, 
(2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States Postal Service regular mail, or, if the postmark 

date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written communication or the date it 
was received minus five days. If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, the 
date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday. 

Review of the submitted information finds insufficient documentation to support that a medical bill was 
submitted within 95 days from the date the services were provided.  Consequently, the requestor has 
forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely submission of the medical bill, pursuant to Texas Labor 
Code §408.027(a). 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has not established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00. 

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the 
disputed services. 

 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 
   
Signature 

   
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 June 19, 2015  
Date 

 
 
 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


