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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

CAPITOL ANESTHESIOLOGY  
ASSOCIATES 

Respondent Name 

TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-15-1493-01 

MFDR Date Received 

January 20, 2015 

Carrier’s Austin Representative Box 

Box Number  54 
 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “We were JUST notified by the patient that the bills are workers comp related. 
Patient called our office and notified us on 10/13/2014. Bills were previously self pay due to no other insurance. 

PER THE TEXAS DEPT OF INSURANCE 

DIVISION OF WORKERS COMP 

CH. 133 GENERAL MEDICAL PROVISIONS 

SUBCHAPTER B HEALTH CARE PROVIDER BILLING PROCEDURE  

28 TAC 133.20 MEDICAL BILLS SUBMISSION BY HEALTH CARE PROVIDER. 

In effort to provide billing provisions similar to those maintained in the group health system, §408.0272 provides, in 
pertinent part, that the time limit of 95 days for a health care provider to submit a claim for payment to the workers’ 
compensation insurance carrier, as set forth in Labor Code §408.027(a), will not apply in three circumstances.” 

Amount in Dispute: $1,099.63 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “CAPITOL ANESTHESIOLOGY ASSOCIATION provided services to the 
claimant on 3/18/14. Texas Mutual on 11/16/14 received the billing from CAPITAL ANESTHESIOLOGY 
ASSOCIATION. (Attachment) 

CAPITOL ANESTHESIOLOGY ASSOCIATION provided services to the claimant on 7/2/14. Texas Mutual on 
11/5/14 received the billing from CAPTIOL ANESTHESIOLOGY ASSOCIATION. (Attachement) 

Rule 133.20(b) states, “Except as provided in Labor Code §408.0272(b), (c) or (d), a health care provider shall not 
submit a medical bill later than the 95

th
 day after the date the services are provided. In accordance with subsection 

(c) of the statute, the health care provider shall submit the medical bill to the correct workers’ compensation 
insurance carrier not later than the 95

th
 day after the date the health is notified of the health care provider’s 

erroneous submission of the medical bill. A health care provider who submit a medical bill to the correct workers’ 
compensation insurance carrier shall include a copy of the original medical bill submitted, a copy of the explanation 
of benefits (EOB) if available, and sufficient documentation to support why one or more of the exceptions for 
untimely submission of a medical bill under §408.0272 should be applied.” 

Response Submitted by: Texas Mutual Insurance Company 
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SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

March 18, 2014 and July 02, 
2014 

CPT Codes 01120-QX, 01120-QK-P2 and 01830-
QK-P1 

$1,099.63 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.   

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out medical bill submission procedures for health care providers. 

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4 sets out the rules for non-Commission communications.  

4. Texas Labor Code §408.027 sets out the rules for timely submission of claims by health care providers.  

5. Texas Labor Code §408.0272 provides for certain exceptions to untimely submission of a medical bill. 

6. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 CAC-W3 – In accordance with TDI-DWC Rule 134.804, this bill has been identified as a request for 
reconsideration or appeal 

 CAC-193 – Original payment decision is being maintained. Upon review, it was determined that this claim was 
processed properly 

 CAC-29 – The time limit for filing has expired 

 350 – In accordance with TDI-DWC Rule 134.804, this bill has been identified as a request for reconsideration 
or appeal 

 724 – No additional payment after a reconsideration of services. For information call 1-800-937-6824 

 731 – Per 133.20(B) provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95
th
 day after the date the service 

Issues 

1. What is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the services in dispute? 

2. Did the requestor forfeit the right to reimbursement for the services in dispute? 

Findings 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20(b) requires that, except as provided in Texas Labor Code §408.0272, 
“a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are 
provided.”  No documentation was found to support that any of the exceptions described in Texas Labor Code 
§408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute.  For that reason, the requestor in this dispute was required to 
submit the medical bill not later than 95 days after the date the disputed services were provided.   

2. Texas Labor Code §408.027(a) states, in pertinent part, that “Failure by the health care provider to timely submit 
a claim for payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for payment.”  
28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4(h) states that “Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, 
written communications shall be deemed to have been sent on:  (1) the date received, if sent by fax, personal 
delivery, or electronic transmission or, (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States Postal Service 
regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written communication 
or the date it was received minus five days.  If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, 
the date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday.”  Review of the 
submitted information finds no documentation to support that a medical bill was submitted within 95 days from 
the date the services were provided.  Therefore, pursuant to Texas Labor Code §408.027(a), the requestor has 
forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely submission of the medical bill for the disputed services.” 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the division finds that the requestor has not established that reimbursement is due.  
As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00. 
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ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the disputed 
services. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 4/10/15  
Date 

 
 
 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all parties involved in the dispute at 
the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution 
Findings and Decision along with any other required information specified in 28 Texas Administrative Code §141.1(d). 
 
Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812 
 

Health care providers may verify workers’ compensation insurance coverage and contact information 

from our website at www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employer/coverage.html or for additional assistance 

call the TDI-DWC Insurance Coverage section at 800-372-7713. 

file://tdi-sav-coral/MR2SHH1$/M4%20DISPUTES/ENF95/2015/www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employer/coverage.html

