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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

JOSE G DONES-VAZQUEZ MD 
Respondent Name 

TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-14-2042-01 

MFDR Date Received 

MARCH 10, 2014 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

BOX NUMBER:  54

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “…Claim was denied due to the time limit for filing has expired.  As per the 
§133.20 provider should not submit a medical bill later than the 95

th
 day after the date of service.  Claim was 

originally billed on July 2, 2013 and was received by Texas Mutual on July 5, 2013 and was signed by Nathan 
Pirlke, as per the certified mail receipt.” 

Amount in Dispute: $415.00 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “The requestor alleges it timely submitted a bill for payment on 7/2/13 via 
certified mail to Texas Mutual.   However, Texas Mutual is not persuaded by the evidence presented in the 
requestor’s DWC60 packet.” 

Response Submitted By:  TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 
 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Date of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

June 19, 2013 Professional Services & Special Report $415.00 $269.61 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for health care providers to pursue a medical 
fee dispute.  

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out the procedures for health care providers to submit workers’ 
compensation medical bills for reimbursement. 

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4 sets out the rules for non-Commission communications.  

4. Texas Labor Code §408.027 sets out the rules for timely submission of a claim by a health care provider.  

5. Texas Labor Code §408.0272 sets out the rules for certain exceptions for untimely submission of a claim by a 
health care provider. 
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6. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203 sets out the guidelines for reimbursement. 

7. 28 Texas Administrative Code §129.5 sets out the procedures for Work Status Reports. 

8. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 29 – The time limit for filing has expired. 

 731 – Per 133.20 provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95
th
 day after the date the service, 

for services on or after 9/1/05. 

Issues 

1. Is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the services in dispute? 

2. Did the requestor forfeit the right to reimbursement for the services in dispute? 

Findings 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20(b) states, in pertinent part, that, except as provided in Texas Labor 
Code §408.0272, “a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date 
the services are provided. In accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health care provider shall 
submit the medical bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier not later than the 95th day after 
the date the health care provider is notified of the health care provider's erroneous submission of the medical 
bill. A health care provider who submits a medical bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier 
shall include a copy of the original medical bill submitted, a copy of the explanation of benefits (EOB) if 
available, and sufficient documentation to support why one or more of the exceptions for untimely submission 
of a medical bill under §408.0272 should be applied...”  Review of the documentation submitted by the 
requestor finds a certified mail receipt from the USPS signed by Nathan Pirkle on July 5, 2013.   Therefore, 
convincing documentation was found to support that the bill was submitted timely.   

2. Texas Labor Code §408.027(a) states, in pertinent part, that “Failure by the health care provider to timely 
submit a claim for payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for 
payment.”  28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4(h) states that “Unless the great weight of evidence indicates 
otherwise, written communications shall be deemed to have been sent on:  (1) the date received, if sent by fax, 
personal delivery, or electronic transmission or, (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States 
Postal Service regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written 
communication or the date it was received minus five days.  If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or 
legal holiday, the date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday.”  
Review of the submitted information finds documentation, in the form of a fax confirmation sheet, to support 
that a medical bill was submitted within 95 days from the date the services were provided. Therefore, pursuant 
to Texas Labor Code §408.027(a), the requestor in this medical fee dispute has not forfeited the right to 
reimbursement due to untimely submission of the medical bill for the services in dispute. 

3. In accordance with 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203(b)(1) and (c)(1) reimbursement is as follows: 

 CPT Code 99204:  ((55.3 ÷ 34.023) x $156.65 = $254.61 

4. In accordance with 28 Texas Administrative Code §129.5(i)(1) reimbursement for the Work Status Report is 
$15.00. 

 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional reimbursement 
is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $269.61. 

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to 
additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute.  The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent 
to remit to the requestor the amount of $269.61 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative 
Code §134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 December 17, 2014  
Date 
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YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


