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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

SOUTH TEXAS RADIOLOGY IMAGING CENTER 
Respondent Name 

TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-14-1856-01 

MFDR Date Received 

FEBRUARY 24, 2014 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number: 54

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “We were given Blue Cross Blue Shield Insurance at time services were 
rendered.  It was not until 09/03/2013 that we received patient’s workers compensation information.  Our claim 
denied based on past filing deadline.  Our request for reconsideration was also denied.  Per TDI-DWC Rule 
§133.20 we had 95 days from the time we were notified of Workers Compensation Insurance to file this claim.” 

Amount in Dispute: $424.04          

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “SOUTH TEXAS RADIOLOGY IMAGING CENTER provided services to the 
claimant on the date above.  SOUTH TEXAS RADIOLOGY IMAGING CNTER submitted its bill to BCBS based on 
information provided by the claimant.  SOUTH TEXAS RADIOLOGY IMAGING CENTER states it was notified of 
correct carrier on 9/3/13.  Texas Mutual on 10/1/13 received a bill from SOUTH TEXAS RADIOLOGY IMAGING 
CENTER.  Rule 133.20(b) states, ‘Except as provided in Labor Code §408.0272(b), (c) or (d), a health care 
provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95

th
 day after the date the services are provided.  In 

accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health care provider shall submit the medical bill to the correct 
workers’ compensation insurance carrier not later than the 95

th
 day after the date the health care provider is 

notified of the health care provider’s erroneous submission of the medical bill.  A health care provider who submits 
a medical bill to the correct workers’ compensation insurance carrier shall include a copy of the original medical 
bill submitted, a copy of the explanation of benefits (EOB) if available, and sufficient documentation to support 
why one or more of the exceptions for untimely submission of a medical bill under §408.0272 should apply.  The 
requestor did not submit a copy of the original BCBS bill to Texas Mutual or has it included in the DWC-60 packet.  
The bill is still late.  No payment is due.” 

Response Submitted by:  

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

May 9, 2013 Radiological Services $424.04 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for health care providers to pursue a medical 
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fee dispute. 

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out the procedures for health care providers to submit workers’ 
compensation medical bills for reimbursement. 

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4 sets out the rules for non-Commission communications.  

4. Texas Labor Code §408.027 sets out the rules for timely submission of a claim by a health care provider.  

5. Texas Labor Code §408.0272 sets out the rules for certain exceptions for untimely submission of a claim by a 
health care provider.  

6. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 29 – The time limit for filing has expired. 

 731 – Per 133.20 provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95
th
 day after the date the service. 

For services on or after 9/1/05. 

 W3, 350 – In accordance with TDI-DWC Rule 134.804, this bill has been identified as a request for 
reconsideration or appeal. 

 193 – Original payment decision is being maintained.  Upon review, it was determined that this claim was 
processed properly. 

 734 – No additional payment after a reconsideration of services.  

 928 – HCP must submit documentation to support exception to timely filing of bill (408.0272).  Notification of 
erroneous submission not included.  

Issues 

1. Is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the services in dispute? 

2. Did the requestor forfeit the right to reimbursement for the services in dispute? 

Findings 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20(b) states, in pertinent part, that, “except as provided in Texas Labor 
Code §408.0272(b)(c) and (d), a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day 
after the date the services are provided. In accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health care 
provider shall submit the medical bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier not later than the 
95th day after the date the health care provider is notified of the health care provider's erroneous submission 
of the medical bill. A health care provider who submits a medical bill to the correct workers' compensation 
insurance carrier shall include a copy of the original medical bill submitted, a copy of the explanation of 
benefits (EOB) if available, and sufficient documentation to support why one or more of the exceptions for 
untimely submission of a medical bill under §408.0272 should be applied...”  Review of the documentation 
submitted by the requestor finds no convincing documentation to support that any of the exceptions described 
in Texas Labor Code §408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute.  The requestor has submitted 
documentation showing they balanced billed the injured employee; however, did not submit the bill showing 
BCBS was billed.  For that reason, the requestor in this dispute was required to submit the medical bill not later 
than 95 days after the date the disputed services were provided. 

2. Texas Labor Code §408.027(a) states, in pertinent part, that “Failure by the health care provider to timely 
submit a claim for payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for 
payment.”  28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4(h) states that “Unless the great weight of evidence indicates 
otherwise, written communications shall be deemed to have been sent on:  (1) the date received, if sent by fax, 
personal delivery, or electronic transmission or, (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States 
Postal Service regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written 
communication or the date it was received minus five days.  If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or 
legal holiday, the date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday.”  
Review of the submitted information finds no documentation to support that a medical bill was submitted within 
95 days from the date the services were provided. Therefore, pursuant to Texas Labor Code §408.027(a), the 
requestor in this medical fee dispute has forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely submission of the 
medical bill for the services in dispute. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has not established that reimbursement is due.  
As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00.  
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ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the disputed 
services. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 April 15, 2015  
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


