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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

DAVID A. WEST, DO 

Respondent Name 

NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE CO

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-14-1807-01 

MFDR Date Received 

FEBRUARY 21, 2014 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 19 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “DESIGNATED DOCTOR REFERRED DIAGNOSTIC TESTING.” 

Amount in Dispute: $957.44 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “Carrier has not been able to process the bill as the bill was incomplete and 
did not include the requesting provider’s license number in Box 17a and the rendering provider’s license number 
is box 24j as required by 18 TAC 133.4(f)(J),(K) & (U).” 

Response Submitted By:  Flahive, Ogden & Latson 
 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

November 18, 2013 
CPT Code 97750-FC (16 units) 

Functional Capacity Evaluation (FCE) 
$957.44 $873.76 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.  

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204 and §134.203, effective March 1, 2008, sets the reimbursement 
guidelines for the disputed service. 

3. The requestor submitted copies of explanation of benefits; however the basis of the denial for services in 
dispute was not listed. 

Issues 

Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement for the FCE rendered on November 18, 2013? 
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Findings 

The respondent states in the position summary that “Carrier has not been able to process the bill as the bill was 
incomplete and did not include the requesting provider’s license number in Box 17a and the rendering provider’s 
license number is box 24j as required by 18 TAC 133.4(f)(J),(K) & (U).” A review of the submitted medical bill 
reveals box 17a and 24j are completed; therefore, the disputed service will be reviewed per Division rules and fee 
guideline. 

This dispute relates to services with reimbursement subject to the provisions of 28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.204. 

On the disputed date of service, the requestor billed CPT code 97750-FC. 

The American Medical Association (AMA) Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) defines CPT code 97750 as 
“Physical performance test or measurement (eg, musculoskeletal, functional capacity), with written report, each 
15 minutes.”   

The requestor appended modifier “FC” to code 97750.  28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(n)(3) states “The 
following Division Modifiers shall be used by HCPs billing professional medical services for correct coding, 
reporting, billing, and reimbursement of the procedure codes. (3) FC, Functional Capacity-This modifier shall be 
added to CPT Code 97750 when a functional capacity evaluation is performed”.   

28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(g) states ”The following applies to Functional Capacity Evaluations 
(FCEs). A maximum of three FCEs for each compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed. FCEs ordered by 
the Division shall not count toward the three FCEs allowed for each compensable injury. FCEs shall be billed 
using CPT Code 97750 with modifier "FC." FCEs shall be reimbursed in accordance with §134.203(c)(1) of this 
title. Reimbursement shall be for up to a maximum of four hours for the initial test or for a Division ordered test; a 
maximum of two hours for an interim test; and, a maximum of three hours for the discharge test, unless it is the 
initial test. Documentation is required.”  

The requestor states in the position summary that the disputed FCE was requested by the Designated Doctor.   A 
review of the submitted medical bill indicates that the requestor billed for sixteen units, which equals four hours; 
therefore, the requestor did not exceed the four hour limit set in 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(g) for 
Division ordered FCEs.  

Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(g) to determine the reimbursement for FCEs the Division refers to 
28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203(c)(1)(2).  

Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.203(c)(1)(2), the following formula is used to calculate the Maximum 
Allowable Reimbursement (MAR):  (DWC Conversion Factor/Medicare Conversion Factor) X Participating 
Amount = MAR. 

The 2013 DWC conversion factor for this service is 55.3. 

The Medicare Conversion Factor is 34.023. 

Review of Box 32 on the CMS-1500 finds that the services were rendered in zip code 75247 which is located in 
Dallas, Texas; therefore, the Medicare locality is “Dallas, Texas.” 

The Medicare participating amount for CPT code 97750 is $33.60.  

Using the above formula, the MAR is $54.61 per unit.  The requestor billed for 16 units; therefore, $54.61 X 16 = 
$873.76.  The respondent paid $0.00.  The difference between MAR and amount paid is $873.76; this amount is 
recommended for reimbursement. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that reimbursement is due.  As 
a result, the amount ordered is $873.76 
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ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to 
additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute.  The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent 
to remit to the requestor the amount of $873.76 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative 
Code §134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 04/24/2015  
Date 

 
 
 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 
 


