Texas Department of Insurance

Division of Workers’ Compensation

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48

7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 ¢ Austin, Texas 78744-1645
512-804-4000 telephone « 512-804-4811 fax * www.tdi.texas.gov

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION

GENERAL INFORMATION

Reguestor Name Respondent Name

RICHARD ALEXANDER, D.C. NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE CO
MFEDR Tracking Number Carrier’s Austin Representative
M4-14-1690-01 Box Number 19

MFDR Date Received
FEBRUARY 10, 2013

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY

Requestor’s Position Summary: “[Claimant] was in a Work Hardening Program which each Daily Session he
was performing the program for 8 hours per session. He did perform all exercises at a slower pace. His low back
would frequently spasm on him in the middle of the day and his pain levels were elevated. This would further
slow his pace. There is no rule in the ODG Guidelines which sates that a patient in a Work Hardening Program
has to perform all of his/her exercises/activities at a given speed. Some patient do perform their
exercises/activities at a faster pace, some perform at a slower pace. This depends upon the degree of injury,
patient’s pain levels, patient’s functional abilities, etc.”

Amount in Dispute: $1,280.00

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY

Respondent’s Position Summary: “Requestor is not entitled to further reimbursement. Although Requestor
billed for an additional 6 hours of work hardening (in addition to the initial 2 hours) each day, the actual records of
treatment do not reflect provision of 8 hours of work hardening activities. A review of the records shows, at best,
6 hours of work hardening treatment. See attached treatment records. Thus, with reimbursement of 4 additional
hours of work hardening (4 hours X $64 per hour = $256 per date of service), Requestor has been reimbursed all
to which it is entitled for CPT Code 97546.”

Response Submitted by: Adami, Shuffield, Scheihing & Burns

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS

Dates of Service Disputed Services Ampunt In Amount Due
Dispute
CPT Code 97545-WH
Work Hardening
February 20, 2013 (2 hours per day X 10 days = 20 hours) $0.00 $0.00
through
March 5, 2013 CPT Code 97546-WH $128.00 X 10
Work Hardening — $1.280.00 $512.00
(6 hours per day X 10 days = 60 hours) U
TOTAL $1,280.00 $512.00
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This
the T

FINDINGS AND DECISION

medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of
exas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Background
1. 28 Texas Administrative Code 8133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204, effective March 1, 2008, sets the reimbursement guidelines for the
disputed services.

3. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes:

W1-Workers compensation state fee schedule adjustment.
309-The charges for this procedure exceeds the fee schedule allowance.

600-Allowance based on maximum number of units allowed per fee schedule guidelines and/or service code
description.

OA-The amount adjusted is due to bundling or unbundling of services.
W3-Additional payment made on appeal/reconsideration.

Issues

1.

Did the respondent file the response in the form and manner required by 28 Texas Administrative Code
§133.307?

Did the requestor exceed the number of work hardening units allowed?

Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement for the work hardening program rendered from February
20, 2013 through March 5, 2013?

Findings
1. The respondent states in the position summary that “the actual records of treatment do not reflect provision of

8 hours of work hardening activities.”

28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307(d)(2)(F) states “The response shall address only those denial
reasons presented to the requestor prior to the date the request for MFDR was filed with the division and the
other party. Any new denial reasons or defenses raised shall not be considered in the review. If the response
includes unresolved issues of compensability, extent of injury, liability, or medical necessity, the request for
MFDR will be dismissed in accordance with subsection (f)(3)(B) or (C) of this section.”

A review of the submitted explanation of benefits finds that the respondent did not raise the issue of
documentation prior to medical fee dispute resolution. The Division concludes that the respondent did not file
the response in the manner required by 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307(d)(2)(F). As a result, the
documentation issue will not be considered further in this decision.

2. The respondent denied reimbursement for the disputed work hardening program based upon reason code

“600.”

The requestor submitted a copy of the February 12, 2013 preauthorization report approving 80 units of work
hardening, CPT codes 97545 and 97546. A review of the submitted billing finds that the requestor billed for
80 hours of work hardening, CPT codes 97545 and 97546. The Division concludes that the respondent’s
denial based upon reason code “600” is not supported.

3. The issue in dispute is whether the payment was in accordance with the Division fee guideline, and if

additional reimbursement is due.

28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(h)(1)(B) states “If the program is not CARF accredited, the only
modifier required is the appropriate program modifier. The hourly reimbursement for a non-CARF accredited
program shall be 80 percent of the MAR.”

28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(h)(3)(A) and (B) states “For Division purposes, Comprehensive
Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, as defined in the CARF manual, are considered Work Hardening.

(A) The first two hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, using CPT Code 97545
with modifier "WH." Each additional hour shall be billed using CPT Code 97546 with modifier "WH." CARF
accredited Programs shall add "CA" as a second modifier.

(B) Reimbursement shall be $64 per hour. Units of less than one hour shall be prorated by 15 minute
increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and reimbursed if greater than or equal to 8 minutes
and less than 23 minutes.”
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The Division finds that the requestor billed CPT code 97545WH and 97546WH without the “CA” modifier.
Therefore, per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(h)(1)(B) and (3)(A) and (B), the MAR for a non-CARF
accredited program is $51.20 per hour ($64.00 X 80%). The requestor billed for 20 hours of code 97545-WH
that is not in dispute, and 60 hours of 97546-WH in dispute. $51.20 times the 60 hours billed for 97546-WH
is $3,072.00. The requestor indicated on the Table of Disputed Services that the respondent paid $2,560.00.
The difference between the MAR and amount paid is $512.00. This amount is recommended for additional
reimbursement.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional reimbursement
is due. As a result, the amount ordered is $512.00.

ORDER

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to
additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute. The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent
to remit to the requestor the amount of $512.00 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative
Code §134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this Order.

Authorized Signature

07/03/2014

Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer Date

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas
Administrative Code §8133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on
or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form. The request must be received
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision. The request may be faxed, mailed or personally
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim.

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division. Please include a copy of the Medical Fee
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas
Administrative Code §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en espafiol acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812.
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