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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION
GENERAL INFORMATION

Reguestor Name Respondent Name

PHYSICIANS MANAGEMENT SERVICES XL SPECIALTY INSURANCE CO
DBA INJURY 1 TREATMENT CENTER

MEDR Tracking Number Carrier’s Austin Representative
M4-13-3434-02 Box Number 19

MEDR Date Received
August 26, 2013

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY

Requestor’s Position Summary: “Broadspire has not paid for the medical services for [injured employee] in
accordance with applicable state law and regulations for the patient's Work Hardening Program... | am requesting
Medical Dispute Resolution to help resolve this matter.”

Amount in Dispute: $8,369.60

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY

Respondent’s Position Summary: “It is our position that this dispute falls out of the medical fee dispute
resolution jurisdiction as it is a compensability issue and not a fee issue.”

Response Submitted by: Broadspire

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS

Dates of Service Disputed Services Amount 1 Amount Due
Dispute
January 16, 2013 through
January 22, 2013 97545-WH-CA and 97546-WH-CA $1,662.00 $1,631.00
January 23, 2013 through
March 5, 2013 97545-WH-CA and 97546-WH-CA $6,707.6 $0.00
TOTAL $8,369.60 $1,631.00

FINDINGS AND DECISION

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Background
1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204 sets out the fee guidelines for division specific services.
3. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes:

e W1 —Workers’ Compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment.

e 663 — Reimbursement has been calculated according to the state fee schedule guidelines.
e 18 - Duplicate claim/services.
[ ]

886 — Reimbursement not recommended as service appears to be a duplicate of another service billed on the
same date of service. $0.00.
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Issues

1.
2.

3.
4.

Is the Requestor pursing dispute resolution for dates of service January 23, 2013 through March 5, 2013?

Did the insurance carrier appropriately raise the compensability issue(s) during the medical bill review
process?

Did the Requestor bill for a CARF accredited Work Hardening Program?
Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement?

Findings

1.

The Requestor contact, Kathy Gatewood, indicated that the requestor is no longer pursuing dispute resolution
for dates of service January 23, 2013 through March 5, 2013 and continues to pursue dispute resolution for
dates of service January 16, 2013 through January 22, 2013. As a result, the Division will only consider for
review dates of service January 16, 2013 through January 22, 2013.

The insurance carrier denied the disputed services with claim adjustment reason codes, “W1 — Workers’
Compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment; 663 — Reimbursement has been calculated according to
the state fee schedule guidelines; 18 — Duplicate claim/services; and 886 — Reimbursement not recommended as
service appears to be a duplicate of another service billed on the same date of service. $0.00.”

Extent-of-injury and related disputes are decided through the Tex. Lab. Code Chapter 410 and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code Chapters 140 through 144 dispute resolution processes. To determine whether such an extent-of-injury
or related dispute existed at the time any particular medical fee dispute was filed with the Division and whether
it was related to the same service, the applicable former version of 28 Tex. Admin. Code §133.240(e), (e) (1),
(2) (C), and (g) addressed actions that the insurance carrier was required to take, during the medical bill review
process, when the insurance carrier determined that the medical service was not related to the compensable
injury: 31 TexReg 3544, 3558 (April 28, 2006). Those provisions, in pertinent parts, specified Former
133.240(e), (e)(1), (2)( C), and (g): The insurance carrier shall send the explanation of benefits in the form and
manner prescribed by the Division .... The explanation of benefits shall be sent to: (1) the health care provider
when the insurance carrier makes payment or denies payment on a medical bill; and (2) the injured employee
when payment is denied because the health care was ... (C) unrelated to the compensable injury, in
accordance with § 124.2 of this title ,... (g) An insurance carrier shall have filed, or shall concurrently file, the
applicable notice required by Labor Code § 409.021, and § 124.2 and 124.3 of this title ... if the insurance
carrier reduces or denies payment for health care provided based solely on the insurance carrier’s belief that:. .
(3) the condition for which the health care was provided was not related to the compensable injury.

Review of the submitted documentation does not support that the insurance carrier denied/reduced the
disputed services for compensability, extent of injury and or liability issues during the medical bill review
process. As a result, the new issue raised by the insurance carrier in their position summary is not supported.
MFDR will therefore, proceed with the audit and only consider the denial reason(s) raised by the insurance
carrier during the medical bill review process.

. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204 (h)(1) states, “The following shall be applied to Return To Work

Rehabilitation Programs for billing and reimbursement of Work Conditioning/General Occupational
Rehabilitation Programs, Work Hardening/Comprehensive Occupational Rehabilitation Programs, Chronic
Pain Management/Interdisciplinary Pain Rehabilitation Programs, and Outpatient Medical Rehabilitation
Programs. To qualify as a Division Return to Work Rehabilitation Program, a program should meet the specific
program standards for the program as listed in the most recent Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation
Facilities (CARF) Medical Rehabilitation Standards Manual, which includes active participation in recovery and
return to work planning by the injured employee, employer and payor or carrier. (1) Accreditation by the CARF
is recommended, but not required. (A) If the program is CARF accredited, modifier ‘CA’ shall follow the
appropriate program modifier as designated for the specific programs listed below. The hourly reimbursement
for a CARF accredited program shall be 100 percent of the MAR. (B) If the program is not CARF accredited,
the only modifier required is the appropriate program modifier. The hourly reimbursement for a non-CARF
accredited program shall be 80 percent of the MAR.”

28 Texas Administrative Code 8134.204 (h)(3) states, “For Division purposes, Comprehensive Occupational
Rehabilitation Programs, as defined in the CARF manual, are considered Work Hardening. (A) The first two
hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, using CPT Code 97545 with modifier ‘WH.’
Each additional hour shall be billed using CPT Code 97546 with modifier ‘WH.” CARF accredited Programs
shall add ‘CA’ as a second modifier. (B) Reimbursement shall be $64 per hour. Units of less than one hour
shall be prorated by 15 minute increments. A single 15 minute increment may be billed and reimbursed if
greater than or equal to 8 minutes and less than 23 minutes.”
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Review of the CMS-1500’s documents that the requestor billed CPT Code 97545-WH and 97546-WH and
appended modifier —CA to identify a CARF accredited work hardening program. As a result, reimbursement is
calculated per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204 (h) (3) (B).

Review of the CMS-1500’s document that the requestor billed 2 hours of CPT Code 97545-WH and 5 hours of
CPT Code 97546-WH for dates of service 1/16/2013, 1/18/2013, 1/21/2013 and 1/22/2013. Review of the
supporting documentation finds that the requestor seeks reimbursement in the amount of $415.50 for 7 hours
of a CARF accredited Work Hardening Program rendered on January 16, 2013, January 18, 2013, January 21,
2013 and January 22, 2013. The requestor documented the following hours for each disputed date of service:

January 16, 2013, 7 hours documented. The Requestor seeks $415.50; the MAR amount is $448.00. The
Requestor is therefore entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $415.50.

January 18, 2013, 6.15 hours documented. The Requestor seeks $415.50; the MAR amount is $400.00. The
Requestor is therefore entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $400.00.

January 21, 2013, 6.15 hours documented. The Requestor seeks $415.50; the MAR amount is $400.00. The
Requestor is therefore entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $400.00.

January 22, 2013, 6.30 hours documented. The Requestor seeks $415.50; the MAR amount is $416.00. The
Requestor is therefore entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $415.50.

4. Review of the submitted documentation find that the requestor is entitled to a total MAR amount of $1,631.00
for disputed dates of service or the disputed services January 16, 2013 through January 22, 2013. As a result,
$1,631.00 is recommended.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional reimbursement
is due. As a result, the amount ordered is $1,631.00.

ORDER

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to
additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute. The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent
to remit to the requestor the amount of $1,631.00 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative
Code 8§134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this Order.

Authorized Signhature

July 30, 2015

Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer Date

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas
Administrative Code 8133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on
or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form. The request must be received
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision. The request may be faxed, mailed or personally
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim.

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division. Please include a copy of the Medical Fee
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas
Administrative Code §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en espafiol acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812.
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