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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Texas Health DBA Injury 1  

Respondent Name 

The Insurance Company 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-13-3026-01 

MFDR Date Received 

July 15, 2013 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 06 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “The Crawford Claims division has not paid for the preauthorized 
medical services approved for (injured worker) in accordance with applicable state law and regulations for 
the patient’s Work Hardening and Condition Program.  The claims were denied for “absence of 
precert/preauth” for services.  Both dates of service were approved and authorized prior to services being 
rendered.” 

Amount in Dispute: $2,192.32 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary: Written acknowledgement of medical fee dispute request received 
July 23

rd
, 2013.  However, no written position statement submitted. 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

January 16, 2013 and  
February 5, 2013 

 

97545, 97546  $1024.00 $1,024.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted 
rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.  

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.600 sets out the procedures for prospective and concurrent 
review of health care 

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204 sets our fee guidelines for specific workers' compensation 
services. 

4. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 080 – Denied per carrier 

 193 – Original payment decision maintained 

 197 – Payment adjusted for absence of precert/preauth 
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 168 – No additional allowance recommended 

Issues 

1. Did the requestor support additional payment is due? 

2. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The carrier denied the services in dispute as, 197 – “Payment adjusted for absence of precert/preauth.  
28 Texas Administrative Code §134.600(p) states, “Non-emergency health care requiring 
preauthorization includes: (4) all work hardening or work conditioning services requested by: (A) non-
exempted work hardening or work conditioning programs.”  Review of the submitted documentation 
finds; 

a. Texas Approval Determination Notice dated January 11, 2013 
i. 97545, work hardening 80 hours / approved 

ii. 97546, work hardening/conding; ea add hour / approved 

       The Division finds the disputed services were prior authorized.  The carrier’s denial is not supported.  
Therefore the services in dispute will be reviewed per applicable rules and fee guidelines. 

2. Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.202(5)(C) states, “Work Hardening/Comprehensive 
Occupational Rehabilitation Programs (for commission purposes, Comprehensive Occupational 
Rehabilitation Programs, as defined in the CARF manual, are considered Work Hardening.) (i) The 
first two hours of each session shall be billed and reimbursed as one unit, using the "Work 
hardening/conditioning; initial 2 hours" CPT code with modifier "WH." Each additional hour shall be 
billed using the "Work hardening/conditioning; each additional hour" CPT code with modifier "WH." 
CARF accredited Programs shall add "CA" as a second modifier. (ii) Reimbursement shall be $64.00 
per hour. Review of the carrier allowed charges finds the following; 

Date of Service Submitted Code Units Amount billed MAR 

January 16, 2013 97545  1 213.50 $64.00 x 1 unit / 2 hours = $128.00 

January 16, 2013 97456  6 640.50 $64.00 x 6 hours = $384.00 

February 5, 2013 97545  1 213.50 $64.00 x 1 unit / 2 hours = $128.00 

February 5, 2013 97546 6 640.50 $64.00 x 6 hours = $384.00 

 Total  1,708.00 $1,024.00 

 
3. Review of the submitted documentation finds that the total maximum allowable reimbursement is 

$1,024.00.  The carrier previously paid $0.00.  The balance of $1,024.00 is due to the requestor. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $1,024.00. 

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas 
Labor Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor 
is entitled to additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute.  The Division hereby 
ORDERS the respondent to remit to the requestor the amount of $1,024.00 plus applicable accrued 
interest per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.130 due within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 

   
Signature

  Peggy Miller  
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 July    , 2014  
Date 
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YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


