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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Chronic Pain Recovery Center 

Respondent Name 

Texas Mutual Insurance Co 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-13-0823-01 

MFDR Date Received 

November 29, 2012 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 54 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “In both the Requestor’s “Request for Timely Filing Exemption” and 
“Request for Reconsideration” letters the Requestor sought an exemption a timely filing exemption 
pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE  §408.0272.  Such exceptions are allowed under this Labor Code when 
charges are errantly submitted the incorrect workers’ compensation carrier. ” 

Amount in Dispute: $19,562.50 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “When the requestor initially billed Texas Mutual, the requestor did 
not submit copies of the original bills it submitted to Gallagher Bassett Service as required.  With its 
requests for reconsideration the requestor did not submit copies of the bills it submitted to Gallagher 
Bassett.  And with its request for medical fee dispute resolution the requestor did not the original bills it 
submitted to Gallagher Bassett.  No payment is due.” 

Response Submitted by: Texas Mutual Insurance Co 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

November 30 – December 13, 2011 
January 10 – 31, 2012 

97799 CP, CA $19,562.50 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted 
rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.  

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out requirements for medical bill submission by health 
care providers. 

3. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 29 – The time limit for filing has expired 

 731 – Per 133.20 provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95
th
 day after the date the 

service for services on or after 9/1/05 
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 928 – HCP must submit documentation to support exception to timely filing of bill (408.0272).  
Notification of erroneous submission not included 

 193 – Original payment decision is being maintained.  Upon review it was determined that this claim 
was processed properly. 

Issues 

1. Did the requestor support exception to rule?  

2. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The carrier denied the claim with 731 – “Per 133.20 provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 
95

th
 day after the date the service for services on or after 9/1/05.”  28 Texas Labor Code §133.20(b) 

states in pertinent part a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day 
after the date the services are provided. In accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health 
care provider shall submit the medical bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier not 
later than the 95th day after the date the health care provider is notified of the health care provider's 
erroneous submission of the medical bill. A health care provider who submits a medical bill to the 
correct workers' compensation insurance carrier shall include a copy of the original medical bill 
submitted, a copy of the explanation of benefits (EOB) if available, and sufficient documentation to 
support why one or more of the exceptions for untimely submission of a medical bill under §408.0272 
should be applied.”  Review of the submitted documentation finds the following; 

a. Prior authorization for services from Texas Mutual 

b. Patient ledger under name charges where entered 

c. Claims for charges entered under patient name administered by Gallagher Bassett 

d. Explanation of benefits from Gallagher Basset  

e. Claims for services to Texas Mutual 

f. Explanation of benefits from Texas Mutual 

  There is no documentation to support when and how notification made to provider of medical services of 
incorrect carrier.  The carrier’s denial is supported. 

 

2.  The documentation does not support an exception to the 95 day claim filing time limit exists.  No 
additional reimbursement can be recommended. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has not established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00.  

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas 
Labor Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement 
for the disputed services. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 May     , 2014  
Date 
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YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


