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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

ACS Primary Care Physicians 

Respondent Name 

State Office of Risk Management 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-13-0815-01 

MFDR Date Received 

November 20, 2012 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 45 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “…ACS was notified that this is a Workers’ Compensation claim Blue Cross 
Blue Shield of Texas notified us of this.  ACS is sending the  EDI statement showing this claim was sent with in 
timely filing.” 

Amount in Dispute: $623.00 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  “The Office reviewed the timely filing evidence submitted in the requestor’s 
dispute packet and out of good faith we contacted the requestor on two separate occasions trying to obtain the 
notification date from Blue Cross Blue Shield to the provider stating that this date of service was to treat a 
worker’s compensation injury.” 

Response Submitted by: State Office of Risk Management 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

December 11, 2012 Emergency Room Services $623.00 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.  

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20. sets out required procedures for medical bill submission by health care 
provider 

3. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 29 – The time limit for filing has expired 

 193 – Original payment decision is being maintained 
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Issues 

1. Did the requestor support claim submitted within 95 days?  

2. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. 28 Texas Labor Code §133.20(b) states in pertinent part, “Except as provided in Labor Code §408.0272(b), (c) 
or (d), a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services 
are provided.”  Review of the submitted documentation finds; 

a. Document titled, “Accounts Receivable Claim Maintenance” 

    This document shows a section titled “Sent” 12/19/11 and “Received” 12/19/11 however, this document does 
not show a time or length of transmission or any other information to support the claim was submitted 
electronically on this date. 

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 (c) states, “In accordance with subsection (c) of the statute, the health 
care provider shall submit the medical bill to the correct workers' compensation insurance carrier not later than 
the 95th day after the date the health care provider is notified of the health care provider's erroneous 
submission of the medical bill. A health care provider who submits a medical bill to the correct workers' 
compensation insurance carrier shall include a copy of the original medical bill submitted, a copy of the 
explanation of benefits (EOB) if available, and sufficient documentation to support why one or more of the 
exceptions for untimely submission of a medical bill under §408.0272 should be applied.”  There was no 
documentation found to support the requestor had submitted to Blue Cross and Blue Shield and received 
notification of the Workman’s Compensation. 

3. Based on the requirements of Rule 133.20 not being met the Division cannot recommend additional payment. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has not established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $0.00.  

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the disputed 
services. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 August 14, 2014  
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, effective May 31, 2012, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on 
or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


