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Texas Department of Insurance 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 • Austin, Texas 78744-1645 
512-804-4000 telephone • 512-804-4811 fax • www.tdi.texas.gov 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Barry W Raborn 

Respondent Name 

Service Lloyds Insurance Co 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-11-1979-01 

MFDR Date Received 

February 18, 2011 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 01 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “Claim was processed and denied stating physician not payable.” 

Amount in Dispute: $85.00 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  Written acknowledgement of medical fee dispute received however, no 
position statement submitted. 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

May 19, 2010 L3310 $85.00 $85.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.  

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240 sets out the division rules for medical payments and denials. 

3.  28 Texas Administrative Code §134.202 sets out medical fee guidelines for professional services. 

4. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 Physician no subject to reim., not license provider 

Issues 

1. Did the carrier process the claim per division rules? 

2. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240(a) states in pertinent part, “An insurance carrier shall take final action 
after conducting bill review on a complete medical bill, or determine to audit the medical bill in accordance with 
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§133.230 of this chapter (relating to Insurance Carrier Audit of a Medical Bill), not later than the 45th day after 
the date the insurance carrier received a complete medical bill. An insurance carrier's deadline to make or 
deny payment on a bill is not extended as a result of a pending request for additional documentation.”  Review 
of the submitted documents finds the carrier returned the claim to the provider  rather than pay or deny 
payment within 45 days as required by the Division rules. Therefore, the disputed service will be reviewed per 
applicable rules and guidelines. 

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.202(2)(A) states in pertinent part, “To determine the maximum allowable 
reimbursements (MARs) for professional services system participants shall apply the Medicare payment 
policies with the following minimal modifications:  (2) for Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) Level II codes A, E, J, K, and L: (A) 125% of the fee listed for the code in the Medicare Durable 
Medical Equipment, Prosthethics, Orthotics and Supplies (DMEPOS) fee schedule…”  The Medicare Pricing, 
Data Analysis and Coding (PDAC) found at (www.dmepdac.com) shows the allowable for HCPCS code L3310, 
for date of service 5/19/2010 to be $74.08.  This amount multiplied by 125% or (74.08 x 125% = $92.60). 

3. The Maximum Total Allowable (MAR) is $92.60.  The carrier previously paid $0.00.  The requestor is seeking 
$85.00.  This amount is recommended. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional reimbursement 
is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $85.00. 

ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code Sections 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to 
additional reimbursement for the services involved in this dispute.  The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent 
to remit to the requestor the amount of $85.00 plus applicable accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.130 due within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 

   
Signature

    
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 June    , 2014  
Date 

 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute may appeal this decision by requesting a contested case hearing.  A 
completed Request for a Medical Contested Case Hearing (form DWC045A) must be received by the DWC Chief 
Clerk of Proceedings within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  A request for hearing should be sent to:  
Chief Clerk of Proceedings, Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation, P.O. Box 17787, 
Austin, Texas, 78744.  The party seeking review of the MDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request for a hearing 
to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a 
copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information 
specified in 28 Texas Administrative Code §148.3(c), including a certificate of service demonstrating that the 
request has been sent to the other party. 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 

 

 

http://www.dmepdac.com/

