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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 
General Information 

 

Requestor Name 
Vista Medical Center Hospital 

Respondent Name 
Zurich American Insurance Co. 

MFDR Tracking Number 
M4-05-1779-02 

DWC Date Received 
November 4, 2004 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 
Box Number 19 
 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of 
Service Disputed Services Amount in 

Dispute 
Amount 

Due 
November 11, 2003 - 
November 14, 2003 Inpatient Hospital Services $28,359.94 $0.00 

 
Requestor's Position  

Requestor’s Position Summary Dated October 7, 2004: “…TWCC Rule 134.401 requires 
payment of 75 % of audited charges for billed charges that reach the stop-loss threshold of         
$ 40,000.00.” 

Requestor’s Supplemental Summary Dated May 19, 2005: “TWCC Rule 134.401 provides the 
rules regarding reimbursement for Acute Care In-patient Hospital Fee services. Specifically, 
reimbursement consists of 75% of remaining charges for the entire admission, after a Carrier 
audits a bill …  

“The Carrier is allowed to deduct any personal items and may only deduct non-documented 
services and items and services, which are not related to the compensable injury. At that time, if 
the total audited charges for the entire admission are below $40,000, the Carrier may reimburse at 
a ‘per diem’ rate for the hospital services. However, if the total audited charges for the entire 
admission are at or above $40,000, the Carrier shall reimburse using the ‘Stop-Loss 
Reimbursement Factor’ (SLRF). The SLRF of 75% is applied to the ‘entire admission’ … 

“In this instance, the audited charges that remained after the last bill review by the insurance 
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carrier were $42,285.25. The prior amounts paid by the carrier were $3,354.00. Therefore, the 
Carrier is required to reimburse the remainder of the Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement 
Amount of$28,359.94, plus interest.” 

Amount in Dispute: $28,359.94 

Respondent's Position  

Respondent’s Supplemental Position Summary Dated November 24, 2015: “Based upon 
Respondent's initial and all supplemental responses, and in accordance with the Division’s 
obligation to adjudicate Requestor’s claim of entitlement to additional payment, Requestor 
failed to sustain its burden of proving entitlement to the stop loss exception.” 

Respondent’s Supplemental Position Summary Dated March 08, 2016: “The Requestor 
believes the reasonable resolution of these issues, and the one compelled by the Labor Code, 
Division rules and policies, and the Third Court of Appeals opinions, is to find the post SOAH en 
banc decision refund issue is not ripe for determination, and reserve the issue of the carriers’ 
right to a refund until after a final determination has been made of the amount due for each 
hospital admission. Dispute resolution or compliance actions by the Division would be initiated 
upon request or upon notification of any failure to refund as circumstances require.” 

Response Submitted by: Flahive, Ogden & Latson 

Findings and Decision 
 

Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code (TLC) §413.031 and applicable 
rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.305, 27 Texas Register 12282, applicable to 
requests filed on or after January 1, 2003, sets out the procedures for resolving medical 
disputes. 

2. 28 TAC §133.304, 17 Texas Register 1105, effective February 20, 1992, sets out the provisions 
for insurance carriers to dispute and audit medical bills. 

3. 28 TAC §133.307, 27 Texas Register 12282, applicable to requests filed on or after January 1, 
2003, sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

4. TAC §134.1, 27 Texas Register 4047, effective May 16, 2002, sets out the guidelines for a fair 
and reasonable amount of reimbursement in the absence of a contract or an applicable 
Division fee guideline. 

5. 28 TAC §134.401, 22 Texas Register 6246, effective August 1, 1997, sets out the fee guidelines 
for inpatient services rendered in an acute care hospital. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.413.htm#413.031
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=3&p_dir=&p_rloc=98851&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=98851&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=305&dt=01/02/2003
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=2&p_dir=&p_rloc=76118&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=76118&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=304&dt=09/22/2002&z_chk=&z_contains=
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=3&p_dir=&p_rloc=98852&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=98852&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=307&dt=01/02/2003
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=2&p_dir=&p_rloc=94064&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=94064&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=1&dt=08/23/2002&z_chk=&z_contains=
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=2&p_dir=&p_rloc=16018&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=16018&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=401&dt=09/20/2002&z_chk=&z_contains=
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Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim 
adjustment codes: 

• 1 – No mar 
• 2 – (F) The charges for this hospitalization have been reduced based on the fee schedule 

allowance 
• 3 – (F) The charge for this procedure exceeds fair and reasonable 

Dispute History 

• This dispute was originally decided on August 2, 2005. 
• The original dispute decision was appealed to District Court. 
• The 345th Judicial District remanded the dispute to the division pursuant to an agreed 

order of remand D-1-GN-08-002424 dated July 10, 2015. 
• As a result of the remand order, the dispute was re-docketed at the DWC’s medical fee 

dispute resolution section. 
• M4-05-1779-02 is hereby reviewed. 

Issues 

1. Did the audited charges exceed $40,000.00? 

2. Did the admission in dispute involve unusually costly services? 

3. Did the admission in dispute involve unusually extensive services? 

4. Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement? 

5. Is a refund claim presented for adjudication? 

Findings 

This dispute relates to inpatient surgical services provided in a hospital setting with reimbursement 
subject to the provisions of Division rule at 28 TAC §134.401, titled Acute Care Inpatient Hospital 
Fee Guideline, effective August 1, 1997, 22 Texas Register 6264. The Third Court of Appeals’ 
November 13, 2008 opinion in Texas Mutual Insurance Company v. Vista Community Medical 
Center, LLP, 275 South Western Reporter Third 538, (Texas Appeals – Austin 2008, petition denied) 
addressed a challenge to the interpretation of 28 TAC §134.401. The Court concluded that “to be 
eligible for reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception, a hospital must demonstrate that the 
total audited charges exceed $40,000 and that an admission involved unusually costly and 
unusually extensive services.” Subsequent decisions concerning this issue include the State Office 
of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) decision under docket 454-12-1961.M4 Vista Medical Center 
Hospital, v. Carriers issued June 24, 2019, and the Third Court of Appeals December 28, 2022 
opinion in Vista Community Medical Center, LLP, v. Carriers. These decisions concurred with the 
Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 opinion on eligibility for reimbursement under the 
Stop-Loss Exception which required that total audited charges exceed $40,000 and that an 
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admission involve unusually costly and unusually extensive services. 

The requestor and respondent in this dispute were given an opportunity to supplement the 
original MDR submissions after the 3rd Court of Appeals Decision. Both parties were given an 
opportunity to submit supplemental position statements addressing the courts’ conclusions. 
Position statements received were exchanged among the parties as appropriate. Documentation 
filed by the requestor and respondent to date is considered in determining whether the admission 
in dispute is eligible for reimbursement under the stop-loss method of payment. Consistent with 
the Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 opinion, which the SOAH decision and order 454-
12-1961.M4 issued June 24, 2019, and the Third Court of Appeals December 28, 2022 opinion 
concurred, the DWC will address whether the total audited charges in this case exceed $40,000; 
whether the admission and disputed services in this case are unusually costly; and whether the 
admission and disputed services in this case are unusually extensive. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(2)(C) 
states, in pertinent part, that “Independent reimbursement is allowed on a case-by-case basis if the 
particular case exceeds the stop-loss threshold…”  The opinion of the Third Court of Appeals states 
that the stop loss exception “…was meant to apply on a case-by-case basis in relatively few cases.” 
28 TAC §134.401(c)(6) puts forth the requirements to meet the three factors that will be discussed. 

1. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6)(A)(i) states, “to be eligible for stop-loss payment the total audited 
charges for a hospital admission must exceed $40,000, the minimum stop-loss threshold.”  
Furthermore, 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) states that “Audited charges are those charges which 
remain after a bill review by the insurance carrier has been performed.” Review of the 
explanation of benefits issued by the respondent finds that the carrier did not deduct any 
charges in accordance with §134.401(c)(6)(A)(v); therefore, the audited charges equal 
$42,285.25. The DWC concludes that the total audited charges exceed $40,000.00. 

2. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6) states that “Stop-loss is an independent reimbursement methodology 
established to ensure fair and reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually costly 
services rendered during treatment to an injured worker.” The three opinions noted above 
concluded that in order to be eligible for reimbursement under the stop-loss exception, a 
hospital must demonstrate that an admission involved unusually costly services.   

The requestor’s position statement does not address how this inpatient admission was 
unusually costly. The requestor does not provide a reasonable comparison between the cost 
associated with this admission when compared to similar spinal surgery services or admissions, 
thereby failing to demonstrate that the admission in dispute was unusually costly. The DWC 
concludes that the requestor failed to meet the requirements of 28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.401(c)(6). 

3. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(2)(C) allows for payment under the stop-loss exception on a case-by-case 
basis only if the particular case exceeds the stop-loss threshold as described in paragraph (6).  
28 TAC §134.401(c)(6)(A)(ii) states that “this stop-loss threshold is established to ensure 
compensation for unusually extensive services required during an admission.” 

The Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 opinion states that “to be eligible for 
reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception, a hospital must demonstrate that the total 
audited charges exceed $40,000 and that an admission involved … unusually extensive 
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services.” It further states that “independent reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception 
was meant to apply on a case-by-case basis in relatively few cases.” As noted above, the 2019 
SOAH opinion and the 2022 Third Court of Appeals opinion concurred with these findings.   

The requestor’s position statement does not address how this inpatient admission was 
unusually extensive. The requestor does not provide a reasonable explanation why this 
admission was more extensive when compared to similar spinal surgery services or admissions, 
thereby failing to demonstrate that the admission in dispute was unusually extensive. The DWC 
concludes that the requestor failed to meet the requirements of 28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.401(c)(6)(A)(ii). 

4. For the reasons stated above, the services in dispute are not eligible for the stop-loss method 
of reimbursement. Consequently, reimbursement shall be calculated pursuant to 28 TAC 
§134.401(c)(1) subtitled Standard Per Diem Amount and §134.401(c)(4) subtitled Additional 
Reimbursements. The DWC notes that additional reimbursements under §134.401(c)(4) apply 
only to bills that do not reach the stop-loss threshold described in subsection (c)(6) of this 
section. 

28 TAC §134.401(c)(3)(ii) states, in pertinent part, that “The applicable Workers' Compensation 
Standard Per Diem Amount (SPDA) is multiplied by the length of stay (LOS) for admission …” 
Review of the submitted documentation finds that the length of stay for this admission was 
three surgical days; therefore, the standard per diem amounts of $1,118.00 multiplied by the 
three days result in a total allowable amount of $3,354.00. 

Billed services include revenue code 391 for $299.00. Per 134.401(c)(4)(B)(iv), revenue codes 
380-399 shall be reimbursed at a fair and reasonable rate. 28 TAC §134.1(c) states, in relevant 
part, “Reimbursement for services not identified in an established fee guideline shall be 
reimbursed at fair and reasonable rates as described in the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, 
§413.011.” The requestor submitted no evidence to support a fair and reasonable rate for these 
charges. Therefore, no reimbursement is recommended. 

The DWC finds that the total allowable for this admission is $3,354.00. According to the 
submitted documentation, the respondent issued payment in the amount of $3,354.00. The 
DWC finds that additional reimbursement cannot be recommended. 

5. Per the foregoing analysis, the respondent insurance carrier has issued payment that exceeds 
the total allowable for this admission. In its supplemental response to this medical fee dispute, 
the insurance carrier does not advance a claim for refund, rather it simply states its position 
that submission of a refund claim and the DWC’s adjudication of such a claim would be 
premature and that it “reserves the right” to advance such a claim. The respondent requests 
that the DWC “not claim subject matter jurisdiction” and, relatedly, “clarify (its position) related 
to refunds." 

The DWC’s medical fee dispute resolution process involves a case-by-case determination of 
fee disputes presented. This process neither allows for nor requires consideration of, or 
response to, any parties’ request that the DWC generally state its position as to a potential 
claim, however related to a pending dispute, that may or may not be asserted in the future.  
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Conclusion 

The submitted documentation does not support the reimbursement amount sought by the 
requestor. The requestor in this case demonstrated that the audited charges exceed $40,000, but 
failed to demonstrate that the disputed inpatient hospital admission involved unusually extensive 
services, and failed to demonstrate that the services in dispute were unusually costly. 
Consequently, 28 TAC §134.401(c)(1) titled Standard Per Diem Amount, and §134.401(c)(4) titled 
Additional Reimbursements are applied and result in no additional reimbursement.  

Order 
 
Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions 
of Texas Labor Code §413.031, the DWC has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 
additional reimbursement for the services in dispute. 

Authorized Signature 
 
 

   
Signature

 
 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 
October 27, 2023 
Date 

 
Your Right to Appeal 

 
Either party to this medical fee dispute may appeal this decision by requesting a contested case 
hearing.  A completed Request for a Medical Contested Case Hearing (form DWC045A) must be 
received by the DWC Chief Clerk of Proceedings within twenty days of your receipt of this 
decision.  A request for hearing should be sent to:  Chief Clerk of Proceedings, Texas Department 
of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation, P.O. Box 17787, Austin, Texas, 78744.  The party 
seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request for a hearing to all other 
parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the division.  Please 
include a copy of this Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision, together with any 
other required information specified in 28 Texas Administrative Code §148.3(c), including a 
certificate of service demonstrating that the request has been sent to the other party. 
 
Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 
512-804-4812. 
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