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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 
Vista Medical Center Hospital 

Respondent Name 
Travelers Indemnity Co. of Connecticut  

MFDR Tracking Number 
M4-04-6102-02 

DWC Date Received 
February 6, 2004 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 
Box Number 05 
 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of 
Service 

Disputed 
Services 

Amount in 
Dispute 

Amount 
Due 

April 23, 2003 –  
May 1, 2003 Inpatient Hospital Services $153,456.13 $0.00 

 
Requestor's Position  

Requestor’s Position Summary Dated July 21, 2003: “We Have Received NO Payment For The 
Above-Referenced Claim … This payment is not in accordance with TWCC Rule 134.401. 
Specifically, TWCC Rule 134.401 requires payment of 75 % of audited charges for billed charges 
that reach the stop-loss threshold of $ 40,000.00. The TWCC Rule 134.401 (c)(6) defines ‘audited 
charges’ as Total Charges – Deducted Charges. TWCC Rule 134.401 (c)(6) also states that the only 
charges for which a Carrier is allowed to deduct are: (1) personal items, (2) services which are not 
documented as rendered during the admission (if an on-site audit is conducted) and (3) items 
and services which are not related to the compensable injury … 

“Therefore, our facility requests immediate and proper reimbursement of 75 % of audited charges 
pursuant to Texas Administrative Code Section 134.401 (c)(6).” 

Requestor’s Supplemental Position Summary Dated March 4, 2004: “The Carrier is allowed to 
deduct any personal items and may only deduct non-documented services and items and 
services, which are not related to the compensable injury. At that time, if the total audited charges 
for the entire admission are below $40,000, the Carrier may reimburse at a ‘per diem’ rate for the 
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hospital services. However, if the total audited charges for the entire admission are at or above 
$40,000, the Carrier shall reimburse using the ‘Stop-Loss Reimbursement Factor’ (SLRF). The SLRF 
of 75% is applied to the ‘entire admission.’ 

“In this instance, the audited charges that remained after the last bill review by the insurance 
carrier were $204,608.17. The prior amounts paid by the carrier were $0. Therefore, the Carrier is 
required to reimburse the remainder of the Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Amount of 
$153,456.13, plus interest.” 

Amount in Dispute: $153,456.13 

Respondent's Position  

Respondent’s Position Summary Dated March 20, 2016: “… please accept the attached 
documentation from the Carrier.” 

Response Submitted by: Travelers 

Findings and Decision 
 

Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code (TLC) §413.031 and applicable 
rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.305, 27 Texas Register 12282, applicable to 
requests filed on or after January 1, 2003, sets out the procedures for resolving medical 
disputes. 

2. 28 TAC §133.304, 17 Texas Register 1105, effective February 20, 1992, sets out the provisions 
for insurance carriers to dispute and audit medical bills. 

3. 28 TAC §133.307, 27 Texas Register 12282, applicable to requests filed on or after January 1, 
2003, sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

4. 28 TAC §134.401, 22 Texas Register 6246, effective August 1, 1997, sets out the fee guidelines 
for inpatient services rendered in an acute care hospital. 

Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim 
adjustment codes: 

• V – Unnecessary treatment (with peer review) 
• No peer review 
• DUPL D – These services have already been considered for reimbursement. 
• DUPP D - These services have already been reconsidered for reimbursement. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.413.htm#413.031
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=3&p_dir=&p_rloc=98851&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=98851&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=305&dt=01/02/2003
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=2&p_dir=&p_rloc=76118&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=76118&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=304&dt=09/22/2002&z_chk=&z_contains=
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=3&p_dir=&p_rloc=98852&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=98852&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=307&dt=01/02/2003
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=2&p_dir=&p_rloc=16018&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=16018&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=401&dt=09/20/2002&z_chk=&z_contains=
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Dispute History 

• This dispute was originally decided on August 9, 2005. 
• The original dispute decision was appealed to District Court. 
• The 345th Judicial District remanded the dispute to the division pursuant to an agreed 

order of remand D-1-GN-08-002129 dated July 10, 2015. 
• As a result of the remand order, the dispute was re-docketed at the DWC’s medical fee 

dispute resolution section. 
• M4-04-6102-02 is hereby reviewed. 

Issues 

1. Did the audited charges exceed $40,000.00? 

2. Did the admission in dispute involve unusually costly services? 

3. Did the admission in dispute involve unusually extensive services? 

4. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement? 

Findings 

This dispute relates to inpatient surgical services provided in a hospital setting with reimbursement 
subject to the provisions of Division rule at 28 TAC §134.401, titled Acute Care Inpatient Hospital 
Fee Guideline, effective August 1, 1997, 22 Texas Register 6264. The Third Court of Appeals’ 
November 13, 2008 opinion in Texas Mutual Insurance Company v. Vista Community Medical 
Center, LLP, 275 South Western Reporter Third 538, (Texas Appeals – Austin 2008, petition denied) 
addressed a challenge to the interpretation of 28 TAC §134.401. The Court concluded that “to be 
eligible for reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception, a hospital must demonstrate that the 
total audited charges exceed $40,000 and that an admission involved unusually costly and 
unusually extensive services.” Subsequent decisions concerning this issue include the State Office 
of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) decision under docket 454-12-1961.M4 Vista Medical Center 
Hospital, v. Carriers issued June 24, 2019, and the Third Court of Appeals December 28, 2022 
opinion in Vista Community Medical Center, LLP, v. Carriers. These decisions concurred with the 
Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 opinion on eligibility for reimbursement under the 
Stop-Loss Exception which required that total audited charges exceed $40,000 and that an 
admission involve unusually costly and unusually extensive services. 

The DWC will review to determine whether the admission in dispute is eligible for reimbursement 
under the stop-loss method of payment. Consistent with the Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 
2008 opinion, which the SOAH decision and order 454-12-1961.M4 issued June 24, 2019, and the 
Third Court of Appeals December 28, 2022 opinion concurred, the DWC will address whether the 
total audited charges in this case exceed $40,000; whether the admission and disputed services in 
this case are unusually costly; and whether the admission and disputed services in this case are 
unusually extensive. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(2)(C) states, in pertinent part, that “Independent 
reimbursement is allowed on a case-by-case basis if the particular case exceeds the stop-loss 
threshold…”  The opinion of the Third Court of Appeals states that the stop loss exception “…was 
meant to apply on a case-by-case basis in relatively few cases.” 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6) puts forth the 
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requirements to meet the three factors that will be discussed. 

1. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6)(A)(i) states, “to be eligible for stop-loss payment the total audited 
charges for a hospital admission must exceed $40,000, the minimum stop-loss threshold.”  
Furthermore, 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) states that “Audited charges are those charges which 
remain after a bill review by the insurance carrier has been performed.” Review of the 
explanation of benefits issued by the respondent finds that the carrier did not deduct any 
charges in accordance with §134.401(c)(6)(A)(v); therefore, the audited charges equal 
$204,608.17. The DWC concludes that the total audited charges exceed $40,000.00. 

2. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6) states that “Stop-loss is an independent reimbursement methodology 
established to ensure fair and reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually costly 
services rendered during treatment to an injured worker.” The three opinions noted above 
concluded that in order to be eligible for reimbursement under the stop-loss exception, a 
hospital must demonstrate that an admission involved unusually costly services.   

The requestor’s position statement does not address how this inpatient admission was 
unusually costly. The requestor does not provide the DWC with a reasonable comparison 
between the cost associated with this admission and similar spinal surgery services or 
admissions, thereby failing to demonstrate to the DWC that the admission in dispute was 
unusually costly. The DWC concludes that the requestor failed to support that it met the 
requirements of 28 TAC §134.401(c)(6). 

3. 28 TAC §134.401(c)(2)(C) allows for payment under the stop-loss exception on a case-by-case 
basis only if the particular case exceeds the stop-loss threshold as described in paragraph (6).  
Paragraph (6)(A)(ii) states that “this stop-loss threshold is established to ensure compensation 
for unusually extensive services required during an admission.” 

The requestor’s position statement does not address how this inpatient admission was 
unusually extensive. The requestor does not provide the DWC with a reasonable comparison 
between the services associated with this admission and similar spinal surgery services or 
admissions, thereby failing to demonstrate to the DWC that the admission in dispute was 
unusually extensive. The DWC concludes that the requestor failed to meet the requirements of 
28 TAC §134.401(c)(2)(C). 

4. For the reasons stated above, the services in dispute are not eligible for the stop-loss method 
of reimbursement. Consequently, reimbursement shall be calculated pursuant to 28 TAC 
§134.401(c)(1) subtitled Standard Per Diem Amount and §134.401(c)(4) subtitled Additional 
Reimbursements. The DWC notes that additional reimbursements under §134.401(c)(4) apply 
only to bills that do not reach the stop-loss threshold described in subsection (c)(6) of this 
section. 

28 TAC §134.401(c)(3)(ii) states, in pertinent part, that “The applicable Workers' Compensation 
Standard Per Diem Amount (SPDA) is multiplied by the length of stay (LOS) for admission …” 
Review of the submitted documentation finds that the length of stay for this admission was 
eight surgical days; therefore, the standard per diem amounts of $1,118.00 multiplied by the 
eight days result in a total allowable amount of $8,944.00. 
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28 TAC §134.401(c)(4)(A), states, “When medically necessary the following services indicated by 
revenue codes shall be reimbursed at cost to the hospital plus 10%: (i) Implantables (revenue 
codes 275, 276, and 278), and (ii) Orthotics and prosthetics (revenue code 274).” Review of the 
submitted medical bill indicates that the requestor billed revenue code 278 for implants at 
$118,199.00. The DWC finds the total allowable for the implants billed under revenue code 278 
is: 

 

28 TAC §134.401(c)(4)(C) states “Pharmaceuticals administered during the admission and 
greater than $250 charged per dose shall be reimbursed at cost to the hospital plus 10%.  
Dose is the amount of a drug or other substance to be administered at one time.” A review of 
the submitted documentation finds that the requestor included charges of $289.00 for one 
dose of Dilaudid PCA 100 ml. No documentation was found to support the cost of this drug to 
the hospital. Therefore, no reimbursement is recommended. 

The DWC finds that the total allowable for this admission is $41,234.50. According to the 
submitted documentation, the respondent issued payment in the amount of $150,681.86. The 
DWC finds that additional reimbursement cannot be recommended. 

Conclusion 

The submitted documentation does not support the reimbursement amount sought by the 
requestor. The requestor in this case demonstrated that the audited charges exceed $40,000, but 
failed to demonstrate that the disputed inpatient hospital admission involved unusually extensive 
services, and failed to demonstrate that the services in dispute were unusually costly. 
Consequently, 28 TAC §134.401(c)(1) titled Standard Per Diem Amount, and §134.401(c)(4) titled 
Additional Reimbursements are applied and result in no additional payment.   

Order 
 
Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions 
of Texas Labor Code §413.031, the DWC has determined that the requestor is entitled to 

Description Units Cost per Unit Total Cost Cost + 10%
Spinal Fusion Stimulator 1 $4,465.00 $4,465.00 $4,911.50
Osteofill 10 cc (Bonep 5 $1,150.00 $5,750.00 $6,325.00
Nut locking 7 $125.00 $875.00 $962.50
Cancellous chips 15 cc 12 $247.50 $2,970.00 $3,267.00
Implant assembly 1 $245.00 $245.00 $269.50
Trans con nut 6 $65.00 $390.00 $429.00
Trans con insert 6 $95.00 $570.00 $627.00
Transverse connector 1 $185.00 $185.00 $203.50
Poly screw 7 $875.00 $6,125.00 $6,737.50
Bak Interbody 13 m 2 $3,175.00 $6,350.00 $6,985.00
TC,fixed 2 $310.00 $620.00 $682.00
Silhouette Rod 2 $290.00 $580.00 $638.00
Rod Template 2 $115.00 $230.00 $253.00
Total $32,290.50
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additional reimbursement for the services in dispute. It is ordered that Travelers Indemnity Co of 
Connecticut must remit to Vista Medical Center Hospital $41,234.50 plus applicable accrued 
interest within 30 days of receiving this order in accordance with 28 TAC §134.130. 

Authorized Signature 
 

   
Signature

 
 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 
November 10, 2023 
Date 

 
Your Right to Appeal 

 
Either party to this medical fee dispute may appeal this decision by requesting a contested case 
hearing.  A completed Request for a Medical Contested Case Hearing (form DWC045A) must be 
received by the DWC Chief Clerk of Proceedings within twenty days of your receipt of this 
decision.  A request for hearing should be sent to:  Chief Clerk of Proceedings, Texas Department 
of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation, P.O. Box 17787, Austin, Texas, 78744.  The party 
seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request for a hearing to all other 
parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the division.  Please 
include a copy of this Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision, together with any 
other required information specified in 28 Texas Administrative Code §148.3(c), including a 
certificate of service demonstrating that the request has been sent to the other party. 
 
Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 
512-804-4812. 
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