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 MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

VISTA MEDICAL CENTER HOSPITAL 

Respondent Name 

TRAVELERS INDEMNITY CO 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-04-6063 

MFDR Date Received 

FEBRUARY 5, 2004 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 05 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “TWCC Rule 134.401 requires payment of 75% of audited charges for billed 
charges that reach the stop-loss threshold of $40,000.00.” 

Amount in Dispute: $22,860.75 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary :  The respondent did not submit a response to this request for medical fee 
dispute resolution. 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 
 

Disputed Dates Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

May 20, 2003 
through 

May 26, 2003 

Inpatient Hospital Services  
Revenue Codes 270 and 272 

$22,860.75 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 
 
This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and all applicable, adopted rules of 
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 
Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.305 and §133.307, 27 Texas Register 12282, applicable to requests filed 
on or after January 1, 2003, sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.304(c), 17 Texas Register 1105, effective February 20, 1992, requires the 
explanation of benefits to include the correct payment exception codes required by the Commission's 
instructions, and provide sufficient explanation. 

3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401, 22 Texas Register  6246, effective August 1, 1997, sets out the fee 
guidelines for inpatient services rendered in an acute care hospital. 

4. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.1, 27 Texas Register 4047, effective May 16, 2002, sets out the guidelines  
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for a fair and reasonable amount of reimbursement in the absence of a contract or an applicable Division fee 
guideline. 

5. Texas Labor Code §413.011 sets forth provisions regarding reimbursement policies and guidelines. 

6. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

 NDOC, N-The documentation that was received does not provide enough detailed information to 
determine the appropriateness of the billed service/procedure. 

7. Dispute M4-04-6063 History  

 Dispute was originally decided on June 23, 2005. 

 The original dispute decision was appealed to District Court. 

 The 345th Judicial District remanded the dispute to the Division pursuant to an agreed order of remand 
dated July 10, 2015.   

 As a result of the remand order, the dispute was re-docketed at the Division’s medical fee dispute 
resolution section. 

     M4-04-6063-02 is hereby reviewed.   
 
Issues 

1. Did the audited charges exceed $40,000.00? 

2. Did the admission in dispute involve unusually extensive services? 

3. Did the admission in dispute involve unusually costly services? 

4. Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement? 
 

Findings 

This dispute relates to inpatient surgical services provided in a hospital setting with reimbursement subject to 
the provisions of Division rule at 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401, titled Acute Care Inpatient Hospital Fee 
Guideline, effective August 1, 1997, 22 Texas Register 6264.  The Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 
opinion in Texas Mutual Insurance Company v. Vista Community Medical Center, LLP, 275 South Western 
Reporter Third 538, 550 (Texas Appeals – Austin 2008, petition denied) addressed a challenge to the 
interpretation of 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401.  The Court concluded that “to be eligible for 
reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception, a hospital must demonstrate that the total audited charges 
exceed $40,000 and that an admission involved unusually costly and unusually extensive services.”  Both the 
requestor and respondent in this dispute supplemented the original MDR submissions. The division received 
supplemental positions as noted above. Positions were exchanged among the parties as appropriate. 
Documentation filed by the requestor and respondent to date is considered in determining whether the 
admission in dispute is eligible for reimbursement under the stop-loss method of payment. Consistent with the 
Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 opinion, the division will address whether the total audited charges 
in this case exceed $40,000; whether the admission and disputed services in this case are unusually extensive; 
and whether the admission and disputed services in this case are unusually costly.  28 Texas Administrative 
Code §134.401(c)(2)(C) states, in pertinent part, that “Independent reimbursement is allowed on a case-by-case 
basis if the particular case exceeds the stop-loss threshold…”  In that same opinion, the Third Court of Appeals 
states that the stop loss exception “…was meant to apply on a case-by-case basis in relatively few cases.” 28 
Texas Administrative Code §134.401(c)(6) puts forth the requirements to meet the three factors that will be 
discussed.  

 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401(c)(6)(A)(i) states “to be eligible for stop-loss payment the total 
audited charges for a hospital admission must exceed $40,000, the minimum stop-loss threshold.”  
Furthermore, 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) states that “Audited charges are those 
charges which remain after a bill review by the insurance carrier has been performed.”  Review of the 
explanation of benefits issued by the respondent finds that the carrier did not deduct any charges in 
accordance with §134.401(c)(6)(A)(v); therefore the audited charges equal $58,492.50. The Division 
concludes that the total audited charges exceed $40,000.00.  
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2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401(c)(2)(C) allows for payment under the stop-loss exception on a case-
by-case basis only if the particular case exceeds the stop-loss threshold as described in paragraph (6).  
Paragraph (6)(A)(ii) states that “This stop-loss threshold is established to ensure compensation for unusually 
extensive services required during an admission.”  The Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 opinion 
states that “to be eligible for reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception, a hospital must demonstrate 
that the total audited charges exceed $40,000 and that an admission involved…unusually extensive services” 
and further states that “independent reimbursement under the Stop-Loss Exception was meant to apply on a 
case-by-case basis in relatively few cases.”  Review of the available information and documentation finds that 
the requestor failed to articulate, discuss or demonstrate how the treatment rendered in this case may be 
considered unusually extensive when compared to similar services or admissions. For that reason, the 
Division finds that the requestor did not meet the requirements of 28 Texas Administrative Code § 
134.401(c)(6)(A)(ii). 

3. In regards to whether the services were unusually costly, the Third Court of Appeals’ November 13, 2008 
opinion concluded that in order to be eligible for reimbursement under the stop-loss exception, a hospital 
must demonstrate that an admission involved unusually costly services.  28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.401(c)(6) states that  “Stop-loss is an independent reimbursement methodology established to ensure 
fair and reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually costly services rendered during treatment to 
an injured worker.”  The requestor’s  position statement asserts that, “TWCC Rule 134.401 requires payment 
of 75% of audited charges for billed charges that reach the stop-loss threshold of $40,000.00.” 

The requestor asserts that because the billed charges exceed the stop-loss threshold, the admission in this 
case is unusually costly.  The Division notes that audited charges are addressed as a separate and distinct 
factor described in 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401(c)(6)(A)(i).  Billed charges for services do not 
represent the cost of providing those services, and no such relation has been established in the instant case.  
The requestor fails to demonstrate that the costs associated with the services in dispute are unusual when 
compared to similar spinal surgery services or admissions. For that reason, the Division rejects the 
requestor’s position that the admission is unusually costly based on the mere fact that the billed or audited 
charges exceed $40,000. Therefore, the requestor fails to demonstrate that the resources used in this 
particular admission are unusually costly when compared to similar services or admissions.  

4. For the reasons stated above, the services in dispute are not eligible for the stop-loss method of 
reimbursement.  Consequently, reimbursement shall be calculated pursuant to 28 Texas Administrative Code 
§134.401(c)(1) subtitled Standard Per Diem Amount and §134.401(c)(4) subtitled Additional Reimbursements. 
The Division notes that additional reimbursements under §134.401(c)(4) apply only to bills that do not reach 
the stop-loss threshold described in subsection (c)(6) of this section.  

 Per the Table of Disputed Services, the requestor is seeking dispute resolution for revenue codes 270 
and 272.  A review of §134.401(c)(4) finds that revenue codes 270 and 272 are not listed as a service 
that is eligible for additional reimbursement; therefore, reimbursement cannot be recommended. 

 

Conclusion 

The submitted documentation does not support the reimbursement amount sought by the requestor. The 
requestor in this case demonstrated that the audited charges exceed $40,000, but failed to demonstrate that 
the disputed inpatient hospital admission involved unusually extensive services, and failed to demonstrate that 
the services in dispute were unusually costly. Consequently, 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.401(c)(1) titled 
Standard Per Diem Amount, and §134.401(c)(4) titled Additional Reimbursements are applied and result in no 
additional reimbursement. 
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ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor 
Code §413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the 
disputed services. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 
   
Signature 

   
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 03/23/2016  
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute may appeal this decision by requesting a contested case hearing.  A 
completed Request for a Medical Contested Case Hearing (form DWC045A) must be received by the DWC Chief 
Clerk of Proceedings within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  A request for hearing should be sent to:  
Chief Clerk of Proceedings, Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation, P.O. Box 17787, 
Austin, Texas, 78744.  The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request for a 
hearing to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please 
include a copy of this Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision, together with any other required 
information specified in 28 Texas Administrative Code §148.3(c), including a certificate of service demonstrating 
that the request has been sent to the other party. 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 


