
MEDICAL CONTESTED CASE HEARING NO. 11085 
M4-10-1236-01 

 
DECISION AND ORDER 

 
This case is decided pursuant to Chapter 410 of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act and 
Rules of the Division of Workers’ Compensation adopted thereunder.  
 

ISSUES 
 
A contested case hearing was held on October 4, 2010, to decide the following disputed issue: 
 

1. Is the preponderance of the evidence contrary to the decision of 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision that (Sub-
claimant), Petitioner, is not entitled to reimbursement in the 
amount of $440.73 for the compensable injury of ___________? 
 

Upon a finding of good cause by the Hearing Officer the following issue was added:  
 
 2. Does (Sub-claimant), Petitioner, have standing to assert 

subclaimant status?   
 

PARTIES PRESENT 
 

Claimant did not appear.  Petitioner appeared and was represented by CF, attorney.  
Respondent/Carrier appeared and was represented by SB, attorney. 
 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
 

Claimant sustained a compensable injury on ___________.  Claimant was provided medical 
treatment through physicians with (Healthcare Provider) for his compensable injury.  (Healthcare 
Provider) (HCP) was billed $518.50 for medical services rendered to Claimant, and HCP paid 
$440.73 of the $518.50 billed.  Petitioner sought to recover the amount of $440.73 paid by HCP, 
and asserted that the medical treatment was medically necessary to treat Claimant’s compensable 
injury.  Carrier contended that Petitioner is not entitled to reimbursement in the amount of 
$440.73 for the compensable injury, and that Petitioner did not have standing to assert 
subclaimant status.  
 
Petitioner contended that the medical treatment received by Claimant was paid for by HCP, a 
health care insurer.  Petitioner further contended that HCP was a subclaimant that retained 
Petitioner, and that Petitioner was an authorized representative to represent HCP before the 
Division.  Mr. CF is an attorney, and is the authorized representative of Petitioner.  HCP is not a 
party in this case.  Petitioner asserts that in its capacity as an authorized representative of HCP, it 
is a subclaimant in this case under §409.009 and/or §409.0091 of the Texas Labor Code, and that 
pursuant to both or either one of these provisions, it is entitled to seek and obtain reimbursement 
from Carrier for the amount paid by HCP for the medical services rendered to Claimant.  
 
Petitioner sought medical fee dispute resolution (MFDR) before the Division.  On April 6, 2010, 
a MFDR Auditor rendered a Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 
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(MFDRFD), and determined that the Petitioner was not entitled to reimbursement under Texas 
Labor §409.009 because it failed to meet all of the requirements of Division Rule 140.6, which 
implements the provisions of Texas Labor Code §409.009.  Specifically, the MFDR Auditor 
found that Petitioner did not timely submit its request for dispute resolution, nor did its request 
set forth the required information in the manner and form required by the Division.  The MFDR 
Auditor also determined that Petitioner is not eligible to file for reimbursement under Texas 
Labor Code §409.0091 since it did not provide proof of a data match within the meaning of 
§402.084(c-3) as required by subsection (s), nor did it comply with subsection (f) in providing all 
of the required information in the required format.  For the reasons that follow, it is determined 
that the preponderance of the evidence is not contrary to the findings of MFDRFD. 
 
The disputed issue in this medical fee dispute must be analyzed in accordance with several 
provisions under the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act (Act) and the rules of the Division that 
implement the Act.  As a beginning point, Texas Labor Code §408.027(d) provides as follows: 
 

“(d) If an insurance carrier contests the compensability of an injury and the 
injury is determined not to be compensable, the carrier may recover the 
amounts paid for health care services from the employee's accident or health 
benefit plan, or any other person who may be obligated for the cost of the 
health care services.  If an accident or health insurance carrier or other person 
obligated for the cost of health care services has paid for health care services 
for an employee for an injury for which a workers' compensation insurance 
carrier denies compensability, and the injury is later determined to be 
compensable, the accident or health insurance carrier or other person may 
recover the amounts paid for such services from the workers' compensation 
insurance carrier.  If an accident or health insurance carrier or other person 
obligated for the cost of health care services has paid for health care services 
for an employee for an injury for which the workers' compensation insurance 
carrier or the employer has not disputed compensability, the accident or health 
insurance carrier or other person may recover reimbursement from the 
insurance carrier in the manner described by Section 409.009 or 409.0091, as 
applicable.” 

 
Under Texas Labor Code §408.027(d), a health care insurer may proceed as a subclaimant under  
§409.009 or §409.0091 of the Act to seek reimbursement of the cost of the health care services 
for which it paid from a workers’ compensation insurance carrier if the services provided are for 
a compensable injury. 
 
Texas Labor Code §409.009 provides as follows:  
 

“SUBCLAIMS.  A person may file a written claim with the division as a       
subclaimant if the person has: 
(1)  provided compensation, including health care provided by a health care                           
insurer, directly or indirectly, to or for an employee or legal beneficiary;                
and 
(2) sought and been refused reimbursement from the insurance carrier.” 

 
The evidence shows that Petitioner is not a health care insurer, and the evidence does not 
establish that Petitioner provided any compensation to Claimant, either directly or indirectly.  
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The evidence also fails to establish that the Petitioner sought and was refused reimbursement 
from Carrier.  Carrier contended that Petitioner did not have standing to seek reimbursement 
under Texas Labor Code §409.009 because it does not meet the requirements of subsections (1) 
or (2), nor does its status as an authorized representative of HCP confer upon Petitioner any 
eligibility to assert subclaimant status under Texas Labor §409.009.  Because Petitioner failed to 
meet the definition of a subclaimant under §409.009, Petitioner is not eligible to seek 
reimbursement from Carrier under this provision of the statute.  
 
In addition, Petitioner was not entitled to reimbursement under §409.009 because it failed to 
meet all of the requirements of Division Rule 140.6, which implements the provisions of Texas 
Labor Code §409.009.  Under Division Rule 140.6(d), a subclaimant as defined in Texas Labor 
Code §409.009 
 

 “…must pursue a claim for reimbursement of medical benefits and participate in 
medical dispute resolution in the same manner as an injured employee or in the 
same manner as a health care provider, as appropriate, under Chapters 133 and 
134 of [Title 28 of the Texas Administrative Code].”   
 

The Division Rule 133.307(c)(1)(A), which applies to injured employees and health care 
providers, requires that a request for MFDR be filed not later than one year after the dates of 
service in dispute, and subsection (c)(2) of the Rule, which applies to health care providers, 
requires that a reimbursement request (DWC Form-060) provide specific documentation in a 
required format.  Petitioner was required as a subclaimant to submit a reimbursement request in 
the form, format, and manner prescribed by the Division, and the reimbursement must contain all 
the elements listed on the form.  The DWC Form-060 has a table that requires information, 
including dates of service, CPT Code(s), amount billed, medical fee guideline (maximum 
allowable reimbursement), total amount paid, amount in dispute, country where services were 
rendered, requestor’s rationale for increased reimbursement or refund, and respondent’s rationale 
for maintaining the reduction or denial.  According to the documentation submitted by Petitioner, 
the DWC Form-060 did not have the required information that Petitioner was to provide and list 
on the table.  In addition, Petitioner failed to attach and make part of the DWC Form-060 its 
position summary, explanation of benefits provided, medical bills, and medical documentation.  
According to the documentation submitted by Petitioner, the sole date of service provided to 
Claimant was on ___________, and there was no evidence, including a date stamp, as to when 
the DWC Form-060 was submitted and filed by Petitioner with the Division.  Thus, Petitioner 
failed to prove that it is entitled to reimbursement under Texas Labor Code §409.009 because it 
failed to meet all of the requirements of Division Rule 140.6, which implements the provisions 
of §409.009.   
 
The pertinent part of Texas Labor Code §409.0091 is as follows:  
 

“REIMBURSEMENT PROCEDURES FOR CERTAIN ENTITIES.  (a) In this 
section, "health care insurer" means an insurance carrier and an authorized 
representative of an insurance carrier, as described by Section 402.084(c-1). 
(b) This section applies only to a request for reimbursement by a health care 
insurer. 
(c) Health care paid by a health care insurer may be reimbursable as a medical 
benefit.” 
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Unlike §409.009 of the Act, Texas Labor Code §409.0091 expressly includes the authorized 
representative of a health care insurer, like Petitioner, as an entity that can attain subclaimant 
status under its provisions.  Under Texas Labor Code §409.0091 effective September 1, 2007, 
subsection (s) provides as follows:  
 

“(s)  On or after September 1, 2007, from information provided to a health care 
insurer before January 1, 2007, under Section 402.084(c-3), the health care 
insurer may file not later than March 1, 2008: 

(1)  a subclaim with the division under Subsection (l) if a 
request for reimbursement has been presented and denied by a workers' 
compensation insurance carrier; or 

(2) a request for reimbursement under Subsection (f) if a request 
for reimbursement has not previously been presented and denied by the workers' 
compensation insurance carrier.” 

 
Under Texas Labor Code §402.084(c-3) referred to in §409.0091(s) of the Act, the information 
that is sought is called data matching and is provided by the Division.  Under Texas Labor Code 
§402.084(c-3), certain entities, including health care insurers who may be obligated for the cost 
of health care services for an injured employee, may request the Division to determine whether a 
workers’ compensation claim exists so that the requestor of the information can determine if it is 
entitled to reimbursement from a workers’ compensation insurance carrier for its payment of 
health care services that were necessitated as the result of a compensable injury.  In this case, 
Claimant’s injury occurred on ___________. Since Claimant’s injury occurred prior to 
September 1, 2007, Petitioner has to follow the requirements of subsection (s) to obtain 
reimbursement under Texas Labor §409.0091.   
 
At the hearing, Petitioner provided a document entitled “Affidavit of CF” dated October 20, 
2009, which indicated that a data match occurred on July 9, 2007, and submitted an attached e-
mail from a person named BL who is associated with Petitioner.  According to the evidence, the 
MFDR section of the Division had requested Petitioner to furnish the original data that had been 
sent by the Division with the data match to support that a data match had occurred on July 9, 
2007, as stated in the affidavit.  According to the MFDRFD, Petitioner failed to provide the 
information, and Petitioner did not offer the original data information at the hearing.  The 
evidence did not establish the existence of a data match in this case within the meaning of Texas 
Labor Code §402.084(c-3).  
 
According to the evidence, Petitioner had not previously submitted a request for reimbursement 
to Carrier that was denied under Texas Labor Code §409.0091(s)(1) and (s)(2).  Petitioner did 
submit a request on behalf of HCP, and was required to comply with Texas Labor Code 
§409.0091(f) in submitting a reimbursement request, which must contain various data elements. 
Texas Labor Code §409.0091(f) as follows: 
 

“(f)  Subject to the time limits under Subsection (n), the health care insurer shall 
provide, with any reimbursement request, the tax identification number of the 
health care insurer and the following to the workers' compensation insurance 
carrier, in a form prescribed by the division: 
(1)  information identifying the workers' compensation case, including: 

(A)  the division claim number; 
(B)  the name of the patient or claimant; 
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(C)  the social security number of the patient or claimant; and 
(D)  the date of the injury; and 

(2)  information describing the health care paid by the health care insurer, 
including: 

(A)  the name of the health care provider; 
(B)  the tax identification number of the health care provider; 
(C)  the date of service; 
(D)  the place of service; 
(E)  the ICD-9 code; 
(F)  the CPT, HCPCS, NDC, or revenue code; 
(G)  the amount charged by the health care provider; and 
(H)  the amount paid by the health care insurer.” 

  
Division Rules 140.7 and 140.8 implement Texas Labor Code §409.0091, and Division Rule 
140.8 requires that Petitioner’s request for reimbursement be submitted in the manner and form 
set forth in the rule.  In particular, Texas Labor Code §409.0091(f) relates to the form and 
manner in which the health care insurer shall file for reimbursement from the workers’ 
compensation insurance carrier.  The Division prescribed a form entitled Reimbursement 
Request for Payment Made by Health Care Insurer (DWC Form-026) to meet the requirements 
under Texas Labor Code §409.0091(f).  The DWC Form-026 form requires pertinent information 
to be provided when requesting reimbursement, including dates of service and a description of 
services.  The evidence shows that Petitioner did not provide documentation to support that it 
provided a DWC Form-026 form in its request for reimbursement containing the required 
information with its request for reimbursement.  Petitioner is not eligible for reimbursement 
because the request was not filed in the form and manner as required under Texas Labor Code 
§409.0091(f).  
 
With regard to the issue of standing, “standing” is defined as “a party’s right to make a legal 
claim or seek judicial enforcement of a duty or right.” (Black’s Law Dictionary, 7th edition). The 
general test for standing in Texas requires that there “(a) shall be a real controversy between the 
parties, which (b) will be actually determined by the judicial declaration sought.” See Tex. Ass’n 
of Bus. v. Tex. Air Control Bd., 852 S.W.2d 440, 446 (Tex. 1993), citing Board of Water 
Engineers v. City of San Antonio, 283 S.W.2d 722, 724 (Tex. 1955).  A health care insurer may 
proceed as a subclaimant under §409.009 or §409.0091 of the Texas Labor Code to seek 
reimbursement of the cost of health care for which it paid from a workers’ compensation 
insurance carrier if the services provided are for a compensable injury.  Petitioner does not have 
standing as a subclaimant under the Act and Rules because it is not a health care insurer nor was 
a request for reimbursement of the payment by HCP shown to have been presented to and denied 
by Carrier.   
 
Based on the evidence presented, including a careful review and fair reading of the 
documentation, the preponderance of the evidence is not contrary to the decision of MFDRFD 
that Petitioner is not entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $440.73 for the compensable 
injury of ___________;  and Petitioner does not have standing as a subclaimant under the Act 
and Rules because it is not a health care insurer nor was a request for reimbursement of the 
payment by HCP shown to have been presented to and denied by Carrier.   
 
Even though all the evidence presented was not discussed, it was considered. The Findings of 
Fact and Conclusions of Law are based on all of the evidence presented. 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The parties stipulated to the following facts: 
 

 A. Claimant resided within 75 miles of the (City) Field Office of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation, on the date of his 
compensable injury on ___________.  

  
 B.  On ___________, Claimant was the employee of (Self-Insured). 
 
 C. Claimant sustained a compensable injury on ___________.    
 
2. Carrier delivered to Petitioner a single document stating the true corporate name of the 

Carrier, and the name and street address of the Carrier's registered agent, which was 
admitted into evidence as Hearing Officer’s Exhibit Number 2.  

 
3. On April 6, 2010, the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision determined 

that (Sub-claimant), Petitioner, is not entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $440.73 
for the compensable injury of ___________.   

 
4. Petitioner has not provided documentation showing a data match with Carrier in this case 

obtained from the Division pursuant to Texas Labor Code §402.084(c-3).  
 
5. Petitioner has not provided to Carrier or filed with the Division, a completed DWC Form-

026 regarding medical services in dispute in this case.  
 
6. Petitioner is an authorized representative of (Healthcare Provider), which is a health care 

insurer that paid for treatment that Claimant received from ___________ on the disputed 
date of service in this case. 

 
7. Petitioner is not a health care insurer, and it has not provided compensation or health care 

either directly or indirectly to Claimant.   
 
8. Petitioner had not sought and been refused reimbursement from Carrier before filing its 

underlying request for Medical Fee Dispute Resolution in this case. 
 
9. Petitioner did not timely file a completed DWC Form-060 with the Division regarding 

the medical fee dispute.   
 
10. Petitioner did not meet the definition of a subclaimant under the provisions of Texas 

Labor Code §409.009. 
 
11. Petitioner did not attain subclaimant status under the provisions of Texas Labor Code 

§409.0091.  
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation has jurisdiction 

to hear this case. 
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2. Venue is proper in the (City) Field Office of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division 
of Workers’ Compensation.  

 
3. The preponderance of the evidence is not contrary to the decision of Medical Fee Dispute 

Resolution Findings and Decision that (Sub-claimant), Petitioner, is not entitled to 
reimbursement in the amount of $440.73 for the compensable injury of ___________.  

 
4. (Sub-claimant), Petitioner, does not have standing to assert subclaimant status.   
 

DECISION 
 

(Sub-claimant), Petitioner, is not entitled to reimbursement in the amount of $440.73 for the 
compensable injury of ___________.  (Sub-claimant), Petitioner, does not have standing to 
assert subclaimant status.   

 
ORDER 

 
Carrier is not liable for the reimbursement at issue in this hearing.  Claimant remains entitled to 
medical benefits for the compensable injury of ___________, in accordance with the Texas 
Labor Code Ann. §408.021.   
 
The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is (SELF-INSURED), and the name and 
address of its registered agent for service of process is: 
 

MAYOR 
(STREET ADDRESS) 

(CITY), TEXAS (ZIP CODE) 
 
Signed this 3rd day of January, 2011.    
 
 
 
Wes Peyton 
Hearing Officer 

 


