Medicare-Related Product Certification
If you are a consumer looking for an agent with the Medicare-Related Product Certification, please view the listing provided below of agents who have confirmed their certification status with the Texas Department of Insurance.
Listing of Agents who have confirmed their Medicare-Related Product Certification status: as of 02/01/2017.
Note: This list only contains agents who have completed the certification course and is updated quarterly. This list does not reflect whether or not they have completed the continuing education requirements to retain their certification. Therefore, verification of the agent’s current certification status should be done by the consumer, policyholder, agent or insurer.
If you are an agent looking to acquire a specialty certification for Medicare-Related Products, review these guidelines:
To be eligible to receive a specialty certification an individual must hold a general life, accident, and health license under Chapter 4054 of the Texas Insurance Code and complete training in the law, including Department rules applicable to medicare-related products offered under Texas Administrative Code §19.1024.
An individual whose life, accident, and health license is issued or renewed by the department on or after April 1, 2010, may not perform an action constituting the act of an agent under the Insurance Code §4001.51 with regard to a medicare-related product until they have completed the medicare-related products certification.
An individual must complete a course at least 8 hours in length applicable to medicare-related products under Chapter §19.1024 of the Texas Administrative Code as prescribed and approved by the Commissioner.
To find certified courses which meet the criteria listed above, please view the Course Inquiry on the Compliance Express link: http://www.sircon.com.
Licensees that may qualify for the exemptions provided under §19.1004(b) or (c) (relating to Licensee Exemption from and Extension of Time for Continuing Education) are not exempt from taking the eight hour medicare-related certification course.
Continuing Education Requirements - 4 Hours:
To retain the specialty certification for medicare-related products, an individual must complete in each reporting period following the reporting period in which the licensee completed the certification course, at least 4 hours of department certified medicare-related products continuing education. To find courses which qualify, please view the Course Inquiry on the Compliance Express link: http://www.sircon.com.
For more information, contact:
Last updated: 02/01/2017