Continuing Education Courtesy Notices
The Texas Department of Insurance Agent and Adjuster Licensing Division is enhancing efforts to ensure that licensed persons are able to meet their required continuing education (CE) obligations under Texas Insurance Code Chapter 4004. Postcard notifications will be mailed out to license holders prior their renewal deadline to remind each agent that they may have additional CE hours to complete. Notices will be mailed out to the licensee’s last known mailing address.
If they have not done so, License holders should verify that all Texas CE credit is current and has been posted to their Sircon CE transcript. Their transcript may be viewed at www.Sircon.com/Texas by clicking on “Look up Education courses/Credits” in the left-hand column and then clicking on “Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry”.
Licensees who have completed certified CE courses that are not posted to their CE transcript are encouraged to contact their CE course provider and request that the CE credit be posted. After 30 days, if the credit is not posted please e-mail a copy of the certificate of completion with a brief explanation to CE@tdi.texas.gov or fax to 512-490-1054.
If additional qualifying CE credit has been earned (for example, by passing a National Designation exam) the individual should review TDI form LHL615. This form is found on the Department web site and provides instructions on how to request this type of credit to be posted to the licensees’ CE transcript. Be sure to include the required documentation with the request form. For further clarification of the types of courses that can be claimed for qualifying credit, refer to the Continuing Education Information for Agent/All Adjuster page on the Departments web site.
Licensees who have been continuously licensed by the Texas Department of Insurance (Department) for at least 20 years and have not applied for a permanent exemption from CE can do so by completing the form, LHL216 found on the Departments web site, or by going to www.Sircon.com/Texas and clicking on Request CE Exemption. A request for a duplicate exemption letter can be done by sending an e-mail to CE@tdi.texas.gov with “Duplicate Exemption Letter” in the subject line.
Any license holder who has changed their status from a non-resident to a Texas resident licensee within the past two years may be required to complete a reduced number of hours for that licensing period. If a person’s CE transcript does not reflect a correct amount of hours under “Required Hours” for that licensing period, the licensee should send an e-mail to CE@tdi.texas.gov with the words “Pro-rated CE” in the subject line in order to make a correction.
If a licensee surrenders their license or does not renew it, that licensee cannot perform the acts of a licensed insurance agent. As part of the cancelation and non- renewal process all related appointments will be cancelled and any insurers notified. The cancelation or failure to renew does not remove the CE violation and the record will remain associated with in the individual’s record for a period of five years.
Please note that pursuant to 28 Texas Administrative Code §19.1016 the automatic fine for failure to obtain the required number of CE hours is $50.00 per credit hour not completed.
Please direct any questions regarding this notice to the Texas Department of Insurance Continuing Education section via e-mail at CE@tdi.texas.gov or by phone at 512-322-3503
For more information contact:
Last updated: 05/06/2013