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Placing Securities on Deposit

[bookmark: _Ref107825704]For a company to become licensed in Texas they must either place a deposit with the Texas Department of Insurance (department) or show proof of a deposit in another state, pursuant to the appropriate section or article of the Texas Insurance Code (TIC).  Although some companies are not required by statute to place a deposit or show proof of a deposit in another state, the department reserves the right to require a deposit pursuant to TIC §406.003.  An insurance company may also place a voluntary deposit, pursuant to TIC §481.003 to satisfy the requirements of another state. 

Acceptable Securities:
A company may submit securities of the kind described in TIC §424.058.  The security must be listed with the Securities Valuation Office (SVO) of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) with a rating of 1 or 2; or have a rating equivalent to the SVO rating of 1 or 2 by a statistical rating organization nationally recognized by the SVO (i.e. Moody’s, S&P, Fitch, and DBRS).  A Bloomberg screen-print will be accepted if the security is not listed on the SVO.  The security must be at market value.  Please refer to the Securities Valuation Office for more information.

For specific requirements, select the appropriate company type:

· Property and Casualty Companies
· Life, Health and Accident Companies
· Health Maintenance Organizations
· Lloyds Insurance Companies
· Worker’s Compensation Self-Insurance Groups

[bookmark: _Property_and_Casualty]Property and Casualty Company Statutory Deposit Requirements
Domestic P&C: The department reserves the right to require a company to place a deposit pursuant to TIC §406.003 or proof of deposit held in another state will be required.
Voluntary Deposits:  When placing a voluntary deposit, pursuant to TIC §481.003 or 861.252(b). 

Establishing Securities on Deposit:
· Initial Statutory Deposit Checklist, TDI Form FIN435
· Statutory Deposit Transaction Form, TDI Form FIN407
· Declaration of Trust, TDI Form FIN453
· Statutory Deposit Fee Transmittal Form, TDI Form FIN406




[bookmark: _Life,_Accident_and]Life, Accident and Health Companies Statutory Deposit Requirements
LA&H:  the department reserves the right to require a company to place a deposit pursuant to TIC §406.003.  
Voluntary Deposits:  A LA&H company may also place a voluntary deposit pursuant to TIC §481.003. When placing a voluntary deposit, pursuant to TIC §481.003. 

Establishing Securities on Deposit:
· Initial Statutory Deposit Checklist, TDI Form FIN435
· Statutory Deposit Transaction Form, TDI Form FIN407
· Declaration of Trust, TDI Form FIN453
· Statutory Deposit Fee Transmittal Form, TDI Form FIN406


[bookmark: _Lloyds_Insurance_Company]Lloyds Insurance Company Statutory Deposit Requirements
Pursuant to TIC § 941.205, a Lloyd’s company must hold their deposit under Joint Control of the Attorney-in-fact, Commissioner of Insurance and the Custodian Bank.  

Establishing Securities on Deposit:
· Initial Statutory Deposit Checklist, TDI Form FIN435
· Statutory Deposit Transaction Form, TDI Form FIN407
· Joint Control Agreement, TDI Form FIN450 ($50 filing fee)
· Statutory Deposit Fee Transmittal Form, TDI Form FIN406


[bookmark: _Health_Maintenance_Organizations]Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO) Statutory Deposit Requirements
Pursuant to TIC § 843.405, the amount of an HMO’s initial deposit must be:
· $100,000 for a basic health care services
· $75,000 for limited health care services
· $50,000 for a single health care service plan

Establishing Securities on Deposit:
· Instructions for HMO’s Placing Securities on Deposit, TDI Form FIN451
· Instructions for Completing Securities Deposited Form 120, TDI Form FIN440
· Securities Deposit Form 120, TDI Form FIN441
· Pledge Document, TDI Form FIN452
· Declaration of Trust, TDI Form FIN453
· Statutory Deposit Fee Transmittal Form, TDI Form FIN406









[bookmark: _Worker’s_Compensation_Self-Insuranc]Worker’s Compensation Self-Insurance Group (WCSIG) Statutory Deposit Requirements
Pursuant to Section 407A.053 of the Labor Code, a WCSIG must either place a security deposit or surety bond, equal to the greater of $300,000 or 25% of the group’s total incurred liabilities for workers’ compensation.  Pursuant to TIC § 407A.051, a $250,000 performance bond must also be placed for the Administrator.  

Establishing Securities on Deposit:
· Initial Statutory Deposit Checklist, TDI Form FIN435
· Statutory Deposit Transaction Form, TDI Form FIN407
· Declaration of Trust, TDI Form FIN453
· Statutory Deposit Fee Transmittal Form, TDI Form FIN406


Additional Resources
· Texas Administrative Code
· Texas Insurance Code
· Forms

Submit Forms To:

 SDFilings@tdi.texas.gov
OR
Statutory Deposit Team
Company Licensing and Registration Office (MC103-CL)
Texas Department of Insurance
PO Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104, or
333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701


If you have any questions, contact the Statutory Deposit Team at (512)676-6375 or SDFilings@tdi.texas.gov.
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