
Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov   1/1 

SF245 | 0215 

 
 

 

 
ABBREVIATED GUIDE TO OBTAIN A “SPECIALIZED” LICENSE AND REGISTRATION TO INSTALL 

UNDERGROUND FIRE SPRINKLER MAINS 
 

GENERAL 
In order to install (not design) an underground main for a fire sprinkler system the firm (1) must obtain a 
“registration” (SCR) from the State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) and (2) must employ at least one full-time 
employee who holds an “RME-Underground License” (RME-U).  The RME is the person designated by the firm 
to be responsible to assure the underground main is planned by a sprinkler firm holding an SCR-General, or a 
Texas registered professional engineer and installed according to all adopted codes and standards.  Other 
employees of the firm holding an SCR are not required to hold individual licenses.    
 
TO OBTAIN A “CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION” (SCR) FOR FIRM  

1. submit SFMO application for firm’s registration;   
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF037sprcofrapp.pdf 

2. provide a “Certificate of Insurance” to SFMO; (signed by Texas agent) 
a. for general liability coverage including products and completed operations; 
b. $100,000 for bodily injury & property damage; 
c. $300,000 aggregate; and 
d. indicating coverage is for “installation of fire sprinkler systems underground fire mains” 

3. Franchise Tax Account Status must be ACTIVE with the TX Comptroller’s Office 
4. provide copy of “Corporate Charter” or “Certificate of Partnership” (firm’s legal documents) 
5. provide copy of Assumed Name Certificate (usually from Secretary of State) 
6. employ one full time employee who holds an “RME-UNDERGROUND” license; and 
7. submit a 1st year registration fee of $350 ($300 for registration + $50 for application) 

 
TO OBTAIN AN “RME UNDERGROUND LICENSE” FOR INDIVIDUAL 

1. submit application for RME License; (no other pre-requisites are required)  

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF036sprindapp.pdf 

2. pass SFMO sprinkler statute & rules test, “Texas Insurance Code, Chapter 6003, and the Fire Sprinkler 
Rules” (PSI test number TFM08); (70%) 

 sprinkler statute & rules can be downloaded at: 
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/documents/fmstatsprinkler.pdf 

 Administered by PSI  www.psiexams.com 

3. pass SFMO test on NFPA 24, “Installation of Private Fire Service Mains and Their Appurtenances” (PSI 
test number TFM10); (70%) 

 NFPA 24 can be purchased at: www.nfpa.org 
 administered by PSI  www.psiexams.com 

4. be employed by a firm holding an SCR; and 
5. submit a 1st year license fee of $150. ($200 for each two years thereafter) 
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