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Instructions for Filing CPA Audited Financial Report and  
Related Filings for the Year 2016  

 

Article 401 of the Texas Insurance Code (TIC) requires an annual audit by an independent certified public accountant 
of the financial condition of each insurer licensed to do business in the State of Texas.  If you qualify for exemption to 
file a CPA Report, please file the Affidavit for Exemption form. 
 

Companies are required to file according to the due dates specified. 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE:  12/31 

1. Pursuant to TIC § 401.014: Register with the Commissioner the name and address of the accountant retained to 

prepare the audited financial report.  (Texas Domestics file hard copy with TDI using the Intent form.  Foreign 

insurers should file hard copy with state of domicile, if required to do so.) 

2. Registration of Accountant TIC § 401.014.  File a letter signed by the accountant indicating awareness of the 

requirements of TIC § 401.014 and the rules and regulations of the insurance department of the insurer’s state of 

domicile that relate to accounting and financial matters, and affirming that an Opinion will be expressed on the 

financial statements in terms of their conformity to the Statutory Accounting Practices permitted by that 

department.  (Texas Domestics file hard copy with TDI using the Intent form.  Foreign insurers should file hard 

copy with state of domicile, if required to do so.) 

3. Pursuant to TIC § 401.016:  Submit a letter to the Commissioner requesting approval to file a Combined or 

Consolidated Audited Financial Report.  (File hard copy with TDI if any insurer in the group is a Texas company.  

Foreign insurers should file hard copy with state of domicile, if required to do so.) 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE:  06/01 or 06/30 

1. Pursuant to TIC § 401.009:  Audited Financial Report.  (Texas domestics file hard copy with TDI and electronically 

with NAIC.  Foreign insurers file hard copy with state of domicile and electronically with the NAIC).  Under TIC § 

401.006, generally companies are exempt from filing CPA audited financial reports if they write both less than $1 

million in direct Texas premiums and less than $1 million in nationwide assumed reinsurance premiums.  The 

Texas Only rule (TAC 7.88 (d)(1)) for a 6/30 filing date applies only if a Texas insurer and all of its affiliated 

insurers (if any) do business only in Texas. 

NOTE:  If a Texas company does business only in Texas, but its affiliates sell insurance outside of Texas, then the 

6/01 date applies (TAC 7.88 (d)(2)).  

  

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/forms/finanalysis/fin246cpaexeaff.pdf
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.014
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/forms/finanalysis/fin244cpaintent.pdf
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.014
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.014
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/forms/finanalysis/fin244cpaintent.pdf
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.016
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.009
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.006
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.006
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=1&ch=7&rl=88
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=1&ch=7&rl=88
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CPA Instructions (Continued) 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE:  06/01 or 06/30 

1. Pursuant to TIC § 401.006:  File the Affidavit for Exemption form if filing for an exemption.  (Texas domestics and 
foreign insurers file hard copy with TDI). 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE:  08/01 or 08/31 

1. Pursuant to TIC § 401.019:  File report of Significant Deficiencies in Internal Control (also known as the internal 

control letter) with a written description of remedial actions taken or proposed to correct significant deficiencies.  

(File the hard copy report of Significant Deficiencies pursuant to AICPA standards and guidelines.  Required of Texas 

domestics and foreign insurers). 

NOTE:  In accordance with Article 401, Audited Financial Reports must be submitted only on the basis of Statutory 
Accounting Principles.  In addition, 28 TAC § 7.85 applies to all audited financial reports with audit dates of December 
31, 1995 or later, except such reports filed pursuant to TIC § 401.007. 
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.006
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/forms/finanalysis/fin246cpaexeaff.pdf
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.019
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=1&ch=7&rl=85
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.401.htm#401.007

