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INSTRUCTIONS FOR ALL TITLE LICENSE RENEWALS

RENEWAL FEE -- $35.00 EACH RENEWAL

Dear Title Agent:

Please see the following instructions when renewing a Title Agency, Direct Operation and/or an Escrow officer license.

The renewals should be completed and returned to this Department with the $35.00 renewal fee (for each license
renewal) no later than the first day of the month that they expire.

*E**IMPORTANT — CERTIFICATES OF CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR ALL ESCROW OFFICERS
& INDIVIDUALS REQUIRING CONTINUING EDUCATION****

Continuing education requirements must be completed by the renewal date. If continuing education requirements
are not met by the renewal date, the license cannot be renewed. The 90-day late renewal filing period cannot be
used to complete continuing education requirements.

You are required to attach copies of individual continuing education completion certificates, as a part of the renewal
application form for each Escrow Officer or individual that is designated for CE Audit, on renewal notification or in
the email. Individual continuing education certificates must be retained in the escrow officers’ files for a period of
four (4) years. Questions regarding continuing education course approval should be directed to Sherry Richburg or
Kyle Howard.

It is necessary to submit the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts showing the account status of the title agency/
direct operation.

Any escrow officer license not being renewed has the following requirement: The original escrow license must be
returned with the renewal package and the original updated bond rider removing them from the Escrow Schedule
Bond must be included and a letter of notification to cancel.

We ask that you take this time to review your Texas Title Insurance Agent’s Bond and Texas Escrow Officers Schedule
Bond. The bond penalty of your Texas Title Insurance Agent’s Bond should be in an amount in the sum of the greater
of ten thousand dollars ($10,000); or an amount equal to ten percent (10%) of the gross premium written by the agent
in accordance with the latest statistical report to the Department, but not to exceed one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000).

IMPORTANT NOTE regarding Certificates of Completion: Certificate must be signed by the escrow officer, must
include the escrow officer’s business address and must include the escrow officer’s PERSON ID number (as shown
above the escrow officer’s name on the renewal form).

Sherry Richburg Kyle Howard

Team Lead, Title Office Insurance Specialist, Title Office

Financial Regulation Division/Mail Code 107-TL Financial Regulation Division/Mail Code 107-TL
Sherry.Richburg@tdi.texas.gov Kyle.Howard@tdi.texas.gov

Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov 1/1





