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TITLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPLICATION  

Instructions 

The department registers courses for continuing education (CE), so that title/escrow officers can comply with the CE 
requirement mandated by the Texas legislature.  Providers of CE courses that desire to participate in the Texas CE program 
must be willing to comply with the program rules, for title agent/escrow officer courses or 28 TAC § 9.1 Procedural Rule 
P-28 for title agent/escrow officer courses.   Prior to submitting a course for registration, the provider must evaluate the 
course content to determine if it meets the requirements for courses stated in the CE rules.  Adequate course documents 
and records must be maintained by the provider for four years and must be available to the department at any time for 
audit purposes. 
 

One (1) hour of ethics is required for any active license that has been held 10 months or more. Certificates that includes 
ethics must show general escrow hours and ethics hour separately. 
 

The following numbers correlate to the numbers on the Title Continuing Education Course Application. 
 

No. 1 Course titles must reflect the content of the course and can be no longer than 50 characters. For brevity, leave off 
words like "course" or "seminar" or the name of the provider. Use abbreviations only if they are common or self-
explanatory. 

No. 2    Indicate  New  Course  if  the  course  outline  has  never  been  registered for  your  organization.    Indicate 
“Correction”, if you previously submitted a form for the course outline and, after the course was registered, found 
you made an error in completing the first form.  A brief explanation should be attached.  Indicate Revision if the 
course outline is currently registered and you have changed 25% or more of the outline OR the changes affect the 
amount of registered credit OR you have changed the outline to provide a shorter or longer version of the 
currently registered course.  Indicate Re-registration if you have not made any changes to the course outline (other 
than to provide the most up to date information) and your  only  reason for submitting the form is because the 
course registration is due to expire within the next 90 days or you are registering a course which was previously 
registered and the registration has expired.   PLEASE NOTE: If a course registration expires prior to re-registration, 
course credit will not be allowed in the interim period before it is re-registered.  

No. 3 The department will register a course for one TDI provider only. If some other person or organization 
& 4 developed your course, or you are basing your course on another organization's classroom or self-study course, 

carefully read the instructions entitled "Procedure for Certifying Another Provider's Course".  If you are basing 
your course on a published text, be sure to indicate the name of the publisher. 

No. 5     Indicate the categories which apply to your course content.  The content may fall into more than one category If 
you cannot fit the course content into at least one category, review P-28.5. (f) -- your course probably cannot be 
registered! 

No. 6     Indicate the number of course credit hours spent on the subject of the class.  Please refer to the rules to help you 
determine the amount of credit you may certify.  Credit hours are not cumulative and should reflect accurately 
the course content hours spent on the subject. 

 

No. 7   Review the rules to determine if your course is a “classroom” or “self-study” course.   Indicate what kind of 
classroom or self-study course you are certifying. Indicate the number of hours and minutes of instruction 
contained in the course. (No break time can be included for title agent/escrow courses.)  Textbook self-study 
courses must list the number of words used to determine the number of credit hours.  Only those parts of the text 
that qualify for credit are included in the word count. Do not include headers, Table of Contents, glossaries, etc.   
All types of self-study courses must list an average time to complete the course. Note: “mixed mode courses” 
(courses that have both required classroom and self-study parts) are not permitted. 
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No. 8     Indicate the next scheduled presentation. (Remember that you must schedule enough time for the department 
to process your paperwork and mail you confirmation of registration. Retroactive credit will not be given.)  If the 
course is a one-time presentation only, or you know when the course will no longer be offered, you can enter the 
date of the final presentation and we will close the course effective the end of that day. 

No. 10   Attach all (3) of the required items.  A Statement of the Learning Objectives is the desired outcome for the learning 
process which includes the knowledge, skills, or abilities the licensee is expected to obtain.  A Sample Certificate 
of Completion is the certificate you plan to use for the course after it is registered for credit.   It must include all 
course and provider information except the course number and course effective date--these will be given to you 
once the course is approved. 

No. 11  Do not submit these documents at this time.  Maintain them in your files for a minimum of four years.  The Method 
of Evaluation is the means a provider uses to determine that the Learning Objectives have been met. The 
evaluation is a written questionnaire/critique which is given to each attendee and must allow for student input. 
The Instructor Qualifications should include a description of how the instructor is considered knowledgeable in 
the subject matter contained in the course. 

 

(Example) 
 

 An example of a Statement of Learning Objectives for a 
course on a specific type coverage is as follows: 
 
Upon completion of the course, the participant will: 
 
       1. be able to explain the XXXXX insurance policy’s   
major coverage's and exclusions 
       2.  be able to explain the general endorsements which 
can be added 
       3. have an increased knowledge of actual exposures 
covered by the policy 

An example of a portion of a Three Tiered Outline is as 
follows: 
 
I. Topic of major insurance theme 
    A. One of the main ideas in this theme 
         1. One element of this idea 
         2. Another element 
         3. Another element (if applicable) 
    B. Another idea in this theme 
    C. Maybe another idea in this theme 
II. Another topic of major insurance theme 
    A.  One of the main ideas in this theme  
    B. Another idea in this theme 
         1. One element of this idea 
         2. Another element 
III. Etc., if other topics-depends on length of course 
 
NOTE: Use the third level only as needed. 

No. 12 Verify the pre-printed provider information and indicate in (12) and (13) if the pre-printed information is OK or 
& 13  needs to be changed.   
No. 14 Indicate any necessary changes in (14) and (15).  Do not alter or revise any of the pre-printed information. 
& 15 (We will return as deficient any form which has the pre-printed information altered.) If you make changes, a new 

form will be printed and sent to the Authorized Provider Representative for future course submissions. 
No. 15 The Authorized Provider Representative may delegate course submission responsibilities to other people. 
No. 16   Complete this section only if the course is being certified by a person other than the Authorized Provider 

Representative. 
No. 17 Be sure to read & sign under the course certification. The signature must be the original signature of a person 

listed in 14 or 15. 
 

Providers must submit a complete course application & allow the department at least 20 days to process each course. Do 
not call the department for the status of your application unless it has been more than 2 weeks from the time you believe 
we received the course. Providers who ignore this request cause processing delays for everyone as we stop processing to 
handle your call. We strongly recommend providers not schedule course presentations until written confirmation of 
registration has been received.  
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TITLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPLICATION 
 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY       DO NOT FAX THIS FORM 
 
You must be familiar with the program rules to be able to correctly certify your course. If you have not already done so, 
review the Continuing Education Program Rules, 28 T AC 9.1 Procedural Rule P-28 for title/escrow officer courses. 

Please refer to the corresponding numbers in the Title Continuing Education Course Application - Instructions. 
 

1. Course Title: __________________________________________________________________ (Maximum 50 characters) 
 

2. Indicate your reason for submitting this course application. 
        New Course -- first time submission of this course & content by your organization 
        Correction to a currently registered course -- error on original registration (do not use to respond to deficiency                                            
letters) 
        Revision -- course currently registered for your organization. Outline changes affecting 25% or more of the outline           
content OR a shorter/longer version 
        Re-registration -- course is submitted only to maintain a course whose registration is about to expire 
 

For course revisions -- indicate the last date the old version will be used or N/A if both will be used: _________________ 

For corrections, indicate the last date the course was presented under the current registration and if certificates of 
completion were issued: _____________________________ Were certificates issued?     Yes      No 
 

Last date registered course was given: _____________________________ 

Providers may not have multiple courses with the same/similar course content registered under different course 
numbers. Similar courses must be linked through the course numbers. 

3. If the course, or a shorter/longer version of the course, is currently registered with TDI, list the 10 digit course 
number(s) & name of provider it is registered under: (example: 12345CC100) 
 

Number: __________________________________________ Name:   _____________________________________ 
 

4.  What organization developed this course? _____________________________________________________ 
 

5. Indicate the type(s) of course content you are certifying:  
    (All content must fall into one or more of the below categories.) 
 

   TITLE INSURANCE PRINCIPLES & COVERAGES                         TITLE INSURANCE LAW , RULES & REGULATIONS 
  

   RECENT & PROSPECTIVE CHANGES IN COVERAGES,                             DUTIES & RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE TITLE AGENT OR                         
         LAW , REGULATION, AND PRACTICE                                                                ESCROW OFFICER 
 

   MANAGEMENT OF LICENSEE’S TITLE INSURANCE BUSINESS       LAND TITLE SEARCH OR EXAMINATION 
 

   MORTGAGE LENDING; CLOSING TRANSACTIONS 

 

6. Indicate the number of course credit hours you are requesting for this class:   _____ Gen. Hrs. _____ Ethics Hrs. 
 

7. Indicate the type of classroom or self-study course. (Note: courses cannot be both classroom & self-study.) 
Classroom   lecture/seminar   audio   video   computer  teleconference Length of classroom course: ___ hrs 
 

Self-Study    textbook                audio   video   computer     Avg. time to complete self-study course: ___ hrs 
 

Number of words in self-study textbook: ___________________ (required for textbook self-study courses) 
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8.   Indicate the next presentation date: _____________  Indicate the final presentation date (if known): ____________  
  

9.     Please list this course in the Dept. course list. (List is available to the public) 
 

10. Attachments required with this form: 
       (1) STATEMENT OF LEARNING OBJECTIVES  
       (2) SAMPLE CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION THAT WILL BE USED 
       (3) THREE LEVEL OUTLINE OF APPROXIMATELY ONE PAGE PER HOUR OF INSTRUCTION FOR CLASSROOM COURSES 

11.  Documents you must maintain in your files. Upon our request, you must produce these documents within ten days. 
       (1)  DETAILED TABLE OF CONTENTS FOR CORRESPONDENCE COURSES 
       (2)  STATEMENT OF THE METHOD OF EVALU ATION OF HOW THE COURSE MEETS ITS LEARNING OBJECTIVES 
       (3)  QUALIFICATIONS OF THE COURSE INSTRUCTOR(S) IN THE SUBJECT TO BE TAUGHT 

Provider information.   Please indicate if the information is correct. 

 

12.   Provider Nam e & Permanent Mailing Address: 

Provider Name:____________________________________ 
 

Provider Number:__________________________________ 
 

Mailing Address:___________________________________ 
 

City/State/Zip:_____________________________________ 
 

Contact Phone #:___________________________________ 
 

Contact Email:_____________________________________ 

Do you give TDI affirmative consent to release the email address listed directly above 
with any other parties listed on this application?  Yes     No 

13.   OK   Change  (make changes here) 
 
 

Phone (         ) __________________________________                                               

Fax      (      ) _________________________________ 

                                      

 

   14.   OK   Change  (make changes here) 

 

          ___________________________________________ 

     Contact E-mail Address (Required)        
Do you give TDI affirmative consent to release the email address listed directly above 
with any other parties listed on this application?  Yes     No 

 

15.   Name of the Coordinator if different from the APR: __________________________________________________ 
     

        Contact Email Address (Required): __________________________________________________ 
                                                                                 Do you give TDI affirmative consent to release the email address listed directly 

                                                                                 above with any other parties listed on this application?  Yes     No                                                                                                            

          Phone Number:   (      )                                 _ 
 

16.   Yes   No       Have you been authorized by the APR to submit courses for this provider? 

 
I certify that this course meets all the requirements listed for the course criteria, course type, hours of credit, requirements 
for successful completion, and course registration as listed in 28 TAC 9.1 Procedural Rule P-28 for title agents/escrow 
officers as minimum standards for continuing education courses.   I further understand that courses listed with the Texas 
Department of Insurance are registered only for completion by title agents, and escrow officers licensed by the Texas 
Department of Insurance.  I have read and understand the rules and I hereby certify that the information I have provided 
on this form is true and accurate and consistent with the standards for courses.  I understand that false statements made 
to the Texas Department of Insurance may result in disciplinary action. 
 
17.   ___________________________________________________________  ___________________ 
  ORIGINAL SIGNATURE OF PERSON LISTED IN ITEM 14 OR 15    DATE 
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P-28.  REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR TITLE AGENTS AND 
ESCROW OFFICERS 

 

1. Purpose and Scope. The purpose of this rule is to set forth procedures and requirements for certification of 
continuing education courses for title insurance agents licensed under Chapter 2651 of the Insurance Code and/or 
escrow officers licensed under Chapter 2652 of the Insurance Code, as authorized under §2651.204 and §2652.058 
of the Insurance Code. This rule shall not apply to a corporate agent licensee. 

 

2. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this rule, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

 

 Continuing Education Coordinator - The person in the Department who is delegated authority to review 
continuing education courses and licensee compliance and who may be addressed as follows: Texas Department 
of Insurance, Continuing Education Coordinator, Title Program, 333 Guadalupe Street, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, 
Texas 78714-9104. 

 Department - The Texas Department of Insurance. 

 Licensee - Any individual person holding a license under the authority of Chapter 2651 and/or Chapter 2652 of 
the Insurance Code. 

 Provider - A statewide title insurance association, statewide title agents' association or professional association, 
or a local chapter of a statewide title insurance or title agents' association or professional association; an 
accredited college or university; a career school or college as defined by the Education Code §132.001; the State 
Bar of Texas; an educational publisher; a title insurance company authorized to do business in the State of 
Texas; a company owning one or more title insurance companies authorized to do business in the State of Texas; 
a Texas public school system; or an individual appointed as an instructor by an entity or association described in 
this paragraph. 

 Certified Transcript – A copy of the Provider’s records issued by the Provider and certified by the custodian of 
the Provider’s records to be a true and correct copy of the Provider’s records evidencing completion of 
continuing education course(s). 

 Control - Is the power to direct or cause the direction of the management and policies of a title agent, whether 
directly or indirectly. A person is considered to control a title agent structured as an entity, if the person, 
individually or acting with others, directly or indirectly: 
 

1. holds the power or right to vote, owns, or controls, or holds proxies representing, at least 10 percent of 
the voting stock or voting rights of the entity; or 
 

2. through any other right or power exercises rights in the management, direction, or conduct of the day to 
day operations of the title agent. 

 Entity - Shall mean an entity registered with the Office of the Texas Secretary of State in accordance with the 
Texas Business Organizations Code. The term shall include only those organizational types authorized to engage 
in the business of title insurance in the State of Texas. 

 

3. Applicability of Requirements. 
a. Title insurance agents licensed under Chapter 2651 of the Insurance Code and escrow officers licensed under 

Chapter 2652 of the Insurance Code shall complete the required number of hours of continuing education set 
forth in subparagraph (c) below for each reporting period, unless otherwise exempt. Of the Total Required 
Hours, the specified number must be for accredited Ethics courses. 
 

b. The reporting period is from the issue date or last renewal date of the license to the expiration date 
 

c. A Licensee subject to renewal shall complete continuing education on a prorated schedule for each reporting 
period. The number of required credit hours shall be based upon the reporting period from the issue date of the 
original license or the most recent renewal date: In accordance with the following schedule for all licenses 
renewing on or after September 31, 2013. 
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 LICENSE PERIOD Total Required HOURS Ethics 

Less than 4 months 0 0 

4 months up to and including 6 months 4 0 

7 months up to and including 9 months 5 0 

10 months up to and including 12 months 6 1 

13 months up to and including 15 months 7 1 

16 months up to and including 18 months 8 1 

19 months up to and including 21 months 9 1 

22 months or more 10 1 

(INCREMENTS ARE IN FULL MONTHS - DO NO COUNT PARTIAL MONTHS) 
 

4. Exemption from Continuing Education. 
The continuing education requirement shall not apply to title insurance agents and escrow officers who meet the 
criteria of illness, medical disability or circumstances beyond the control of the licensee. 
 

A licensee shall apply for an exemption from or an extension of time for meeting the continuing education 
requirements by completing an application form obtained from the Department and submitting all requested 
documents and information. The form must be received within the reporting period for which it applies and shall 
include at least the following: 

1. Statement of the exact nature of the illness, medical disability or other extenuating circumstances beyond 
the control of the licensee. 

2. Evidence in the form of medical reports from attending physician(s) and insurance claims regarding the 
illness or medical disability of the licensee, or evidence of insurance claims and/or other documentation as 
determined regarding circumstances beyond the control of the licensee. 

3. Assessment of the condition of the licensee whether it is temporary, permanent or unknown. 
4. Statement as to whether the licensee will or will not be able to perform activities including any acts of a title 

agent or escrow officer. 
5. Estimated date when the licensee will be able to perform any activities including any acts of a title agent or 

escrow officer in accordance with the medical reports or other documents pertaining to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee. 

6. Any other information that may be requested by the Department. 
 

5. Course Criteria. 
Course Criteria follows: 

1. The purpose of continuing education is to increase the licensee's professional competence with regard to 
title insurance coverage which can be used to assist customers in making informed decisions regarding their 
title insurance needs. 

2. The course shall have a stated purpose that reflects the goal(s) or the overall intent of the course. 
3. The course shall have specific written learning objectives which support the achievement of the purpose 

statement of the course. The learning objectives are the desired outcomes for the learning process and 
identify the knowledge, skills, or attitudes the licensee is expected to obtain. 

4. The course shall have a method of evaluation which measures how effectively the course meets its 
objectives. 

5. Persons conducting a course should be knowledgeable and well versed on the topic(s) and be able to 
conduct/instruct a class and provide appropriate feedback on questions. 

6. The course content must be designed to increase the licensee's knowledge and understanding of one or 
more of the following: title insurance principles and coverages; applicable laws, land title search or 
examination; mortgage lending; closing transactions; rules and regulations promulgated by the 
commissioner; recent and prospective changes in coverages, law, regulations, and practices; management of 
the licensee's insurance business; ethical conduct; or duties and responsibilities of the title insurance agent 
or escrow officer. 
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7. Persons conducting a course should be knowledgeable and well versed on the topic(s) and be able to 
conduct/instruct a class and provide appropriate feedback on questions. 

8. The course content must be designed to increase the licensee's knowledge and understanding of one or 
more of the following: title insurance principles and coverages; applicable laws, land title search or 
examination; mortgage lending; closing transactions; rules and regulations promulgated by the 
commissioner; recent and prospective changes in coverages, law, regulations, and practices; management of 
the licensee's insurance business; ethical conduct; or duties and responsibilities of the title insurance agent 
or escrow officer. 

9. A State Bar of Texas course is acceptable as an approved course as long as the course includes material 
pertaining to the business of title insurance, real property, surveys, mortgage lending, ethical conduct or 
transfer of land titles. 

10. Courses to meet the Ethics requirement must be accredited by either the State Bar of Texas or the 
Department for Ethics Credit. 

11. Each course must be reviewed every two years by the provider and updated to remain relevant to the 
professional development of a licensee. (h) Each course must be reviewed every two years by the provider 
and updated to remain relevant to the professional development of a licensee. 

6. Types of Courses. 
Continuing education courses shall consist of two types: 

1. Classroom Courses. This type of course includes any type of continuing educational activity that involves 
viewing or listening to live presentations or prerecorded media in which attendance may be in person, by 
electronic means or through such means as may be developed through advanced technology. This type of 
course must include a component that has a means to reasonably authenticate the student's identity and 
attendance. Classroom courses include any type of activity that is considered an 'Accredited CLE Activity' as 
that term is presently defined under the State Bar of Texas MCLE Regulations and Accreditation Standards. 

2. Self-study Courses. This type of course includes textbook, audio, video, computer based instruction, or any 
combination of these in an independent study setting with some measurement of completion of the 
objective of the course. 

7. Hours of Credit. 
Each provider must complete and submit a New Provider Application. The provider must complete and submit a 
Course Application for each course. Credit hours for continuing education courses are determined by the methods 
set forth in paragraphs 1 - 9 of this subsection. 

1. Credit for classroom courses is determined by the number of minutes of actual instruction time divided by 
60. Actual instruction time is considered the amount of time devoted to the actual instruction/reading of the 
topic, and does not include breaks, lunch or dinner, introductions of speakers, instructions, etc. No more 
than 10 hours of credit shall be recognized for any one course. 

2. Credit for independent self-study courses shall be calculated by using a total of 2600 words as equal to one 
credit hour. Total words of a text divided by 2600 words will equal the course credit hours. No more than 4 
hours of credit shall be recognized for any one course. 

3. Credit for applicable State Bar of Texas courses is determined by the number of credit hours approved by 
the State Bar of Texas, but only those hours which pertain to title insurance, real property, surveys, 
mortgage lending, ethical conduct or transfer of land titles. No more than 10 hours of credit shall be 
recognized for any one course. No self-study hours approved by the State Bar of Texas will be accepted. 

4. Credit for accredited college or university courses is determined by the number of semester hours approved 
for the course by the college or university, but only those hours which pertain to title insurance, real 
property, surveys, mortgage lending, ethical conduct or transfer of land titles. Each semester hour will be 
equal to 8 credit hours. Credit for title insurance agents or escrow officers who teach a qualified continuing 
education course or a portion of a course is determined by the number of hours of course instruction or by 
the number of hours assigned to the full course whichever is applicable plus the actual hours of preparation 
for teaching the course reported by the teacher to the provider. The provider of the course is responsible for 
issuing a letter of certification reflecting the number of credit hours of preparation and the number of credit 
hours that the individual taught. 
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5. Credit for any course may be issued for less than the number of hours the course was assigned (i) to an 
instructor teaching a portion of the course who does not attend the full course and (ii) to a licensee for 
attending only a portion of the course. Providers must certify the actual number of hours taught or attended 
on the certificates of completion or the certified transcripts it issues to teachers or licensees. 

6. 7 Credit for completing the same continuing education course more than once within the same reporting 
period shall not be granted for compliance with the continuing education requirement. Credit for teaching 
the same continuing education course more than once within a three-month period shall not be granted for 
compliance with the continuing education requirement. 

7. The licensee shall report to the Department on the license renewal form the course title or course number 
and the number of credit hours of certified continuing education courses claimed by the licensee for all 
license renewals. 

8. An approved provider may request that a certified course be assigned to another provider by completing 
and submitting a Course Assignment Agreement to the Department. 

 

8. Course Requirements for Successful Completion. 
1. Providers must use attendance rosters or an assessment measurement to certify completion of all or a 

portion of a classroom continuing education course. Attendance of at least 90% of the course is required to 
complete the entire course when using attendance rosters. Attendance of at least fifty-five (55) minutes of 
each hour claimed for a portion of a course is required for each hour of credit issued to a licensee attending 
only a portion of the course. A means to ensure that the licensee attended the full or at least 90% of the 
course or the requisite number of minutes for a portion of the course claimed for credit must be 
established. 

2. Providers must use a written examination to evaluate the licensee's competency and the effectiveness of 
the self-study courses. Written examinations shall meet the criteria set forth in paragraphs (1) - (7) of this 
subsection. 
1. Final examination questions shall not be the same or substantially the same questions the licensee 

previously encountered in the course materials or review exams. 
2. Security measures shall be in place to maintain the security and integrity of the examination and ensure 

that the enrolled licensee is the individual who took the examination. 
3. Answers to the examination shall not be given to the licensees at any time before, during or after the 

course. 
4. Examinations shall be graded by an authorized staff member. 
5. Licensees shall be allowed to retake an examination if a 70% passing score is not achieved. The retest 

shall consist of an alternate examination consisting of different questions from the original examination. 
6. Final examinations shall consist of three exams which are distributed alternatively to enrollees of the 

course, and are revised/updated every two years by the provider consistent with the course 
update/revision. 

7. The final examination shall be a comprehensive examination of the course and thoroughly test the 
licensee's knowledge of the content of the course. 

3. Providers must issue certificates of completion or a certified transcript to licensees who successfully 
complete all or a portion of a certified course. The certificate must be issued in a manner which will ensure 
that the person receiving the certificate is the licensee who took the course, be issued within a reasonable 
period of time, and be completed to reflect the date the licensee took the course/examination. Information 
on the certificate of completion can be duplicated from a form obtained from the Department. A certificate 
of completion or a certified transcript is valid to renew multiple licenses issued under Chapter 2651 or 
Chapter 2652 of the Insurance Code, if such completion occurred within the renewal period of each license. 

 

9. Course Certification. 
1. Providers of courses must certify each continuing education course with the Department prior to offering 

the course using a certification form obtained from the Department. All courses filed with the Department 
for certification shall be deemed approved unless the Continuing Education Coordinator notifies the 
provider of disapproval of certification within 30 days of the date on which the certification is filed. 
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2. Courses from the State Bar of Texas must be certified with the Department to recognize the number of 
credit hours approved for the course. 

3. Providers must certify within 150 days from the effective date of this rule on a form obtained from the 
Department that each course offered for continuing education credit meets these requirements. 

4. Providers must notify the Department when a course is discontinued or no longer active, and when there is 
a change in the provider's name, address or telephone number in order for the Department to maintain an 
up-to-date registry of courses and to prepare, if courses are to be available to the public, a list of such 
courses upon request. 

 

10. Obtain Forms. Application forms for exemption, provider and course certification forms, certificate of completion 
forms, and the list of courses can be obtained from the Texas Department of Insurance, Continuing Education 
Coordinator, Title Licensing Program, 333 Guadalupe, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104. 

 

11. Appeals.  A decision of the Continuing Education Coordinator to deny an application for an exemption from or 
extension of time for meeting continuing education requirements or a decision disapproving certification of a 
continuing education course may be appealed to the Manager of the Title Licensing Program, who shall decide the 
appeal within 30 days following the filing of the appeal. The Manager's decision may be appealed to the 
Commissioner. 

 

12. Licensee Compliance. 
 

1. Licensees may choose courses from any of the courses approved for their type of license which are certified 
with the Department to meet their continuing education compliance requirements. 

2. Title insurance agents and escrow officers shall attach copies of completion certificates as part of the 
license renewal or submit a certified transcript. Each licensee must maintain evidence of course completion 
for each course for the current and next preceding renewal period which generally consists of four years. 

3. Evidence of compliance is a certificate of completion or a certified transcript from a provider of the course 
which has been successfully completed. 

 

13. Audit of Continuing Education Records. 
 

1. All continuing education records and evidence of continuing education compliance of licensees must be 
maintained for a minimum period of four years and are subject to the review of the Department at any 
time. Accuracy of a licensee's records is subject to verification at any time. 

2. All continuing education records, course rosters, and all other course materials of providers must be 
maintained for at least four years and are subject to the review of the Department at any time. 

3. If continuing education records are audited or reviewed and the validity or completeness of same are 
questioned, the licensee or provider shall have 30 days to correct discrepancies or submit new 
documentation. 

 

14. Failure to Comply. 
1. Failure to comply with the continuing education requirements in the absence of a valid exemption, or 

falsification of records of compliance by the licensee is subject to disciplinary action after notice and 
hearing. Disciplinary action may include a fine, suspension, revocation or cancellation of license in 
accordance with the Insurance Code, Chapter 82 and any other applicable laws or statutes. 

2. Failure to comply with the rules or falsification of any records by the provider may subject the courses of 
the provider to be removed from the list of certified courses. 

3. Continuing education requirements must be completed by the licensee's renewal date. If continuing 
education requirements are not met by the renewal date, the license will not be renewed. The 90-day late 
renewal filing period cannot be used to complete continuing education requirements. 

 

 

Effective January 3, 2014 (Order 2806) 
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B. Provisions Pertaining to Professional Training Program for Title Agent Management Personnel 
 

1. Definition of Management Personnel – All personnel identified in an Application for Texas Title Insurance 
Agent’s License (Form  FINT143) as follows: 
1. Sole Proprietorship – Sole Proprietor and any individual(s) identified as designated manager(s) 
2. Partnership – Individual partners and any individual(s) identified as designated manager(s). If an entity 

is designated as a partner, then any as indicated in item (c) below. 
3. Entity – each officer, director, partner, manager, designated manager who will administer the entity’s 

day to day operations in this state; each shareholder who is in control of or has the right or ability to 
control the entity; if a shareholder is an entity, each individual who is in control of the parent entity 
and who will administer the day to day operations of the parent entity in this state. 

4. For the purposes of this subsection the term “control” and “entity” shall be defined in accordance 
with Procedural Rule P-28 A.2. 

2. Notification to Department of Management Personnel in an Application for Texas Title Agent’s License. 
A corporation or partnership shall file in the Application for Texas Title Insurance Agent’s License (Form  
FINT143) biographical information for: 
1. each executive officer, director, or partner who will administer the entity's day to day operations in 

this state; 
2. each shareholder who is in control of the corporation or partner who has the right or ability to control 

the partnership; and 
3. if the corporation or partnership is owned, in whole or in part, by another entity, each individual who 

is in control of the parent entity, and who will administer the day to day operations of the parent 
entity in this state. 

4. For the purposes of this subsection the term “control” shall be defined in accordance with Procedural 
Rule P-28 A.2. 

3. Applicability of Requirements. Except as provided in subsection B.3 of this procedural rule, an individual 
who is designated in an Application for Texas Title Insurance Agent’s License (Form FINT143) to hold a 
management position for the entity that is applying for the title agent license must complete a 
professional training course for title agent management personnel that meets the requirements of this 
procedural rule, within 12 months immediately preceding the date of filing of the license application. This 
subsection is applicable only to individuals designated in an application for a title agent license that is 
complete after September 31, 2013. 

4. Exemption from Professional Program. An individual is exempt from the professional training 
requirements of subsection B of this procedural rule if the individual has held in this state for at least five 
years a position as management personnel with a title insurance agent, or a comparable position. 

5. Standards for Professional Training Program for Title Agent Management Personnel. The course shall: 
1. be submitted to the Department for certification in compliance with subsection A.9 of this procedural 

rule (pertaining to Course Certification); 
2. be at least eight hours in length; and 
3. cover the subjects described in subsection B.8 of this procedural rule. 

6. Continuing Education Credit. Licensees may count a professional training course for title agent 
management personnel toward completion of the continuing education requirements prescribed in 
subsection A.3 of this procedural rule (pertaining to Applicably of Requirements). 

7. Proof of Course Completion. All individuals who are defined as management personnel in subsection B.1 
of this procedural rule and not exempt under the provisions of subsection B.3 of this procedural rule shall 
maintain proof of completion of a professional training course for title agent management personnel for a 
period of four years from the date of completion of the course. Upon request, the individual shall provide 
proof of completion of the professional training course for title agent management personnel to the 
Department.  

8. Completion Certificate. A provider issued completion certificate or a certified transcript for a professional 
training course for title agent management personnel must comply with the requirements of subsection 
A.8 of this procedural rule (pertaining to Course Requirements for Successful Completion). 
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9. Course Subjects. The subjects for a title agent management personnel professional training course outline 
must include topics that address: 
1. the basic principles and coverages related to title insurance; 
2. recent and prospective changes in those principles and coverages; 
3. applicable rules and laws; 
4. proper conduct, including ethical conduct, of the license holder's title insurance business; 
5. accounting principles and practices and financial responsibilities and practices relevant to title 

insurance; and 
6. the duties and responsibilities of a title insurance agent. 

10. Provider Requirements. Course providers must meet all of the requirements for providers set forth in 
Procedural Rule P-28 before offering a professional training course for title agent management personnel 
to licensees or management personnel. 

 
Effective January 3, 2014 (Order 2806) 
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INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 
 
PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY       DO NOT FAX THIS FORM 
 

The Texas  Department of  Insurance Continuing  Education Program rules require providers to certify that course 
instructors  will be experienced  and qualified in the subject  to be taught.     Further, providers and instructors must certify 
that they will comply with all provider and course requirements as outlined in the program rules. This certification must 
be maintained by providers for four years, and submitted to the Department of Insurance either with a course application 
or change in instructors. 

PROVIDER IDENTIFICATION 
 

_____________________________________________________________ _______________________________ 
Provider’s Name         Provider’s Course No. 

 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
City     State    Zip  Phone Number 

 
 

INSTRUCTORS IDENTIFICATION 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Instructor’s Full Name 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Residence Address 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
City     State    Zip  Phone Number 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Employers Name (If Different From Provider) 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
City     State    Zip  Phone Number 

 

QUALIFICATIONS 
 

This instructor is experienced and qualified in the subject(s) to be taught, based on the criteria listed below: (Instructor 
must meet at least one of the criteria.) 
 

 Instructor is and has been in the practice of teaching insurance courses for at least the last three years and has 
the knowledge and experience in the subject the instructor will teach. 

 Instructor is and has been properly licensed as a licensee subject to continuing education under this act for at least 
five years. 

 
 

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION - PAGE 1 OF 2 
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List the type of insurance licenses held: 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
License Type    License No.   Issue Date  In Which State 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
License Type    License No.   Issue Date  In Which State 

 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
License Type    License No.   Issue Date  In Which State 
 

 Instructor is the holder of a professional designation recognized by the department which relates directly to the 
subject the instructor will teach. 

 

 

Other types of licenses/certifications held: 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
License Type    License/Certification No.  Issue Date  In Which State 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
License Type    License/Certification No.  Issue Date  In Which State 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
License Type    License/Certification No.  Issue Date  In Which State 

 
 Instructor is or has been engaged in a recognized profession that is pertinent to the subject to be taught, including, 

but not limited to: licensed or certified medical professionals, Certified Public Accountants, and members of a 
state bar. 

 
This instructor will be teaching the following course for this provider organization: 
 

_______________________________________________________ __________________________________ 
Course Title        TDI Course No. 

 

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION - PAGE 2 OF 2 

CERTIFICATION 
 

I certify that the above information is true and correct and that I will conduct the course in compliance with applicable 
rules of the Department of Insurance.  I understand that failure to comply with the requirements specified in the continuing 
education program rules, or falsification of any records or participation in any activities which allow circumvention of the 
requirements of the applicable statues of the continuing education program rules may subject the courses of the provider 
to be immediately removed from the list of registered courses and cause possible suspension from participation in the 
continuing education program for up to one year. 
 
_______________________________________________________________ ___________________________ 

Original Signature of Instructor    Date 

 
Provider must sign the instructor certification form on behalf of the instructor. 
 
_______________________________________________________________ _________________________ 

           Original Signature of Provider or Official    Date 

 
_______________________________________________________________ _________________________ 

          Typed or Printed Name of Provider Official    Title/Position 
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Classroom Version 
 
  

TEXAS CONTINUING EDUCATION 
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION 

 

This Certificate of Completion is awarded to: ________________________________________ 
 
In recognition of successful completion of the following course on _________________. 

(Date) 
 

_____________________________________________ __________________ 
Course Title    Course Effective Date 
 

___________________ _________________  ______________ 
TDI Course Number  General Hours   Ethics Hours 

 
 
Course Site: _____________________________________________ 
   
  _____________________________________________ 
  
  _____________________________________________ 
 
I certify the above licensee completed the above course as required by the 
Texas Department of Insurance, on the date listed. 
 
 __________________________________________  _____________________ 
 Authorized Provider Signature    Date 
 
 __________________________________________  _____________________ 

Course Provider      Provider Number 
 

____________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address & Telephone Number of Provider 
 
I certify that I personally completed this course.  (Must be completed to be valid.) 
 
        _________________________ 

Licensee’s Signature 
 

______________________ 
Licensee’s Business Address 
 

____________________________ 
City State Zip Code 
 

____________________________ 
TDI Individual ID /License Number 
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COURSE ASSIGNMENT AGREEMENT 

 
MUST BE TYPE WRITTEN OR LEGIBLY PRINTED IN INK. 
 

In order for a provider to assign a course to another, that provider must have ownership rights to the course being 
assigned.  This assignment form must be completed jointly between the assignee and the assignor.  The ASSIGNOR shall 
submit the original and two copies to the Title Division of the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI).  Upon receipt of 
the properly completed assignment form, the TDI will return a copy to both the assignor and assignee.  The assignor 
shall deliver all information required for certification of a course as set forth in the course certification application form 
to the assignee.   The assignee shall maintain all information required under 28 TAC §9.1 Procedural Rule P-28 and shall 
submit to the TDI or its designee such information on request.  Assignees may not assign an assigned course. 
 

A.    General Information: 
(1) Assignee’s current provider registration number:  ___________________________________________________ 

 

Assignee’s registered name: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

(2) Indicate a yes or no response to the following questions by checking the applicable box:  (The assignee must indicate 
a yes or no response to each question by checking only one box per question.  If a “Yes” response has been checked, 
the course cannot be assigned.) 

 
Yes No 

 
(a)   Will assignee change more than 25% of the course content subjects?  
(b)   Will assignee change the number of certified course credit hours? 
(c)   Will assignee change the type of certified course credit hours? 
(d)   Will assignee write and use examinations different from those developed by assignor? 

 
(3) Assignor’s current provider registration number: ___________________________________________________ 
 

Assignor’s registered name: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

(4)   Date the assignment is proposed to be effective: ____________________________________                                                      
(MM / DD / YYYY) 

 

(5)  Date assignment terminates (may not exceed course expiration date): ______________________________                                            
(MM / DD / YYYY) 

 

**Note regarding termination** There must be a termination date stated.  Nothing on this form precludes the parties 
from submitting a new assignment before this one terminates or mutually agreeing in writing to an early termination. The 
department will not be a party to any disputes between the assignee and assignor. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

COURSE ASSIGNMENT AGREEMENT PAGE 1 OF 2 
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(6) The course being assigned has been certified by the department as: 
 

(a) Name of course as certified: _________________________________________________________________ 
 

(b) The current course certification number: _________________________________________________ 
     

(c) The current course expiration date: ______________________________________     
(MM / DD / YYYY) 

 
 

B. Certification: 
 

(1) We certify that we will conform to the provisions of 28 TAC §9.1 Procedural Rule P-28.  
 

_________________________________________________  _________________________________ 
Assignor Authorized Provider Representative Signature   Date Signed 
 

 
_________________________________________________  _________________________________ 

Assignee Authorized Provider Representative Signature   Date Signed 
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 CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE SELF CHECK LIST 
 

The following self-check is provided for your reference to insure that your courses are in compliance with minimum criteria 
for a continuing education course.  Please keep this for your records to use as a guideline for your course submissions. 
Only if the answers to all applicable question are Yes, should a New Provider application and Course Application form be 
submitted. 
  

General Information: 
 

 YES     NO Is the course content designed to enhance the knowledge and understanding of one or more of the 
following: insurance principles and coverage, applicable laws, rules and regulations, recent and 
prospective changes in coverage, law the duties and responsibilities of the licensee, consumer protection, 
and/or insurance ethics. 

 YES     NO  Are there specific written learning objectives which identify the knowledge, skills or attitudes the licensee 
is expected to obtain? 

 YES     NO  Is there an evaluation method to measure how effectively the course meets it objectives? 
 

 YES     NO  Will the Texas Department of Insurance be notified when the course is discontinued, no longer active or 
is changed? 

 YES     NO   Will the course be reviewed and resubmitted within 2 years to ensure the information is updated and 
remains relevant to the professional development of the licensee? 

 YES     NO  Will attendance rosters be maintained for four years from the date the course is completed by a licensee? 
 

 YES     NO  Will completion records, by both licensee name and course taken, be maintained for four years from the 
date the course is completed by a licensee? 

 YES     NO  Will each licensee who completes the course receive a certificate of completion prepared with all the 
information as required by the Department? 

 YES     NO  Is the course unique to your company and not based on a text or outline which has already been certified 
for credit? 

 

Self- Study Information (Skip if a classroom course): 
 

 YES     NO  Are credit hours calculated by using a total number of words of the text divided by 2600? 
Is there a written exam to use as a means to ensure that the licensee completed the self-study course? 

 YES     NO  Are the final exam questions substantially different from question in the course materials or review 
exams? 

 YES     NO  Are there security measures in place to maintain integrity of the exam and verify that the enrolled licensee 
took the exam? 

 YES     NO  Are the answers to the exams never given to a licensee at any time? 
 YES     NO  Are the exams graded b y a disinterested person authorized by the company? 
 YES     NO  Is a retest for licensees not passing with 70% provided using a different exam consisting of different 

questions from original exam? 
 YES     NO  Are there a minimum of three final exams which are used randomly among enrollees of the course which 

are revised/updated every two years? 
 YES     NO  Are the final examination questions a comprehensive examination of the entire course content? 
 YES     NO  Do the final examination questions thoroughly test the licensee’s knowledge of the content of the course? 
 YES     NO  Is the final exam monitored by a disinterested third party? 

 

Classroom Information (Skip if a self-study course): 
 

 YES     NO  Is credit based on allowance of not more than one 10 minute break for each two hours of lecture? 
  

 YES     NO  Is a method established to ensure that a licensee attends at least 90% of a course and that partial credit 
will not be given? 

 YES     NO  Are the instructors knowledgeable on the subjects and able to conduct/instruct a class and provide 
appropriate feedback on questions?  
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