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TeExAs DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Financial Regulation Division - Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office (107-1A)
333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701 * PO Box 12069 , Austin, Texas 78711-2069
(512) 676-6500 | F: (512) 490-1052 | (866) 554-4926 | TDI.texas.gov | @TexasTDI

APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL AGENT LICENSE

Applicant General Information Guide begins on Page 13.

This application form is to be used by individuals not required to pass a qualifying examination through Pearson VUE and
for all provisional permits. It must be typed or printed in ink. Those applicants required to take a qualifying examination
must contact Pearson VUE at 888-754-7667 or at www.pearsonvue.com/tx/insurance for application information and
examination reservations.

All applications are subject to further review. Any affirmative response to a screening question may extend processing
times. Failure to disclose criminal history information may result in denial of license.

Part I-To be completed by all individual applicants
Applicants must choose only one license type. Those who wish to apply for more than one license type must submit a
separate application and fee for each type. Adjusters should read PART Il of this application before continuing.

The license types with a “p” symbol below can be applied for as a provisional permit [Texas Insurance Code (TIC), Subchapter H,
§4001.351]

License Types - NOTE (ONLY check only ONE BOX per application submission):

General Lines—Life, Accident & Health p Limited Lines Adjuster—All Lines
General Lines—Property & Casualty p
Life

Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000 p

County Mutual p Adjuster— Property & Casualty

Insurance Service Representative Adjuster - Workers’ Compensation

Managing General Agent Adjuster—Trainee (no fee)

Funeral Prearrangement Life p Surplus Lines Adjuster— Emergency ($20 fee)

Adjuster—All Lines Designated Home
State Texas

Adjuster P&C (DHS) Texas
Adjuster—Workers’ Compensation
Designated Home State Texas
License Fees: Unless otherwise indicated, fees are $50.00 per license type, $100 for a provisional permit, or
$150 for a temporary license. A $75 fee is required for a license that has been expired for more than 90 days but
less than one year (TIC §4003.007). Make check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. All license
fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable. (TIC §4001.006)

Life & Health Insurance Counselor Risk Manager

O0O0OOooOoon

Full-Time Home Office Salaried Employee Public Insurance Adjuster

O0O0Oo0oOooono
O0OO0O0OoOoOo0Oo0

Personal Lines Property and Casualty

Applicant Information - Please read carefully and provide all requested information.
1 Areyou requesting a provisional permit (p) for the license type selected above?

El No ':l Yes

2 Applicant’s Full Legal Name—nicknames and abbreviations are not acceptable.

LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME SUFFIX

3 Applicant’s Social Security Number, Date of Birth, and Daytime Phone Number—The application cannot be processed
without this information. Disclosure of Social Security Number is required by Texas Family Code §231.302.

SOCIALSECURITY NUMBER DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YY) DAY TIME PHONE NUMBER EXT
4 Mailing Address (required)-This is the address of record with TDI.

STREET, PHYSICAL LOCATION, ROUTE OR P O BOX APT, STE, ETC.

CITY STATE ZIP CODE
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5 Legal Resident Address (required)—This address is where you live.

STREET, PHYSICAL LOCATION, ROUTE OR P.O. BOX APT, STE, ETC.

cITy STATE ZIP CODE

6 Official Business Address (required)-This must be your primary office address where you will maintain business
records of Texas insurance transactions.

STREET (P.O. BOX NOT ACCEPTED) APT, STE, ETC.

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

7 Applicant’s E-mail Address (required)—E-mail will be used only as option when corresponding with TDI.

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Applications will not be processed until proper documentation or details are received and a review is completed.

All applications are subject to further review. Any affirmative response to a screening question may extend processing times. Failure
to disclose criminal history information may result in denial of license.

8 Excluding traffic violations and first offense DWI:

a. Do you currently have any pending misdemeanor or felony charges (by indictment, information, or any
other instrument) filed against you in Texas, in any other state or by the federal government?
O nNo [ Yes

b. Have you ever been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other state or by the federal
government?
] No ] Yes

c. Have you ever had adjudication deferred on any misdemeanor or felony charge or offense in Texas, in any
other state or by the federal government?
] No ] Yes

d. Have you ever served any period of probation for any misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other state or
by the federal government?
l:l No EI Yes
If you answer “Yes” to any of questions 8 a—d, you must submit original certified copies of the charging document, indictment,
information, or any other charging document, judgment of conviction, and/or deferred adjudication order, probation order,
order terminating probation, community supervision and/or parole certificate for each and every crime or offense. If the court
states they no longer have the records, please have the court provide us with a letter on their letterhead stating that fact. If you
were arrested only and not prosecuted, please provide a records search from the appropriate jurisdiction indicating a final
disposition. You must submit a statement describing the circumstances leading to the offenses. You must include your age at the
times of the offenses. You may provide letters of recommendations from any persons in contact with you that are aware of your
criminal past.

9 Have you ever applied for a letter of consent, as required under section 18 U.S.C. 1033(e), from any insurance
regulatory official from Texas or any other state?

El No D Yes

If you answer “Yes”, the application will not be processed until you provide full details of the outcome of that proceeding and all
supporting documents to the department.

If you answer “No”, and you have been convicted of any criminal felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust, or an offense
under section 18 U.S.C. 1033, the application will not be processed until you submit a signed and notarized request for written
consent with all supporting documentation to the department.

10 Have you or has any corporation, partnership, association or firm in which you were a director, officer, shareholder,
manager, member or partner, ever been the subject of an administrative or legal action filed by Texas or any other
insurance department, or financial regulatory agency, or of an action filed on behalf of Texas or any other state or by
the federal government based on alleged violations of state or federal insurance, securities or financial regulatory laws
that you have not previously reported to the Texas Department of Insurance?

D No El Yes

If you answer “Yes”, a license will not be issued until full details of the administrative or legal action are provided.
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Are you indebted to any policyholder, insurance or reinsurance company, insurance agency, general agent, managing
general agency, premium finance company or court appointed liquidator for premiums collected or commissions
retained, or have any claims or judgments been filed against you for retaining premiums or commissions?

] No [ Yes

If you answer “Yes”, a license will not be issued until full details of the indebtedness are provided.
Have you ever had an agency contract or company appointment cancelled for cause (e.g., misrepresentation,
misappropriation, etc.)?

D No EI Yes

If you answer “Yes”, a license will not be issued until full details are provided. Cancellation for cause does not include

cancellations due to license expiration (nonrenewal).

During the last 6 months, have you applied for or received a temporary license of the type for which you are now
applying?

EI No EI Yes
If you answer “Yes”, a temporary license will not be issued. A temporary license may not be renewed or issued more than once
in a consecutive six-month period to the same applicant.

Do you currently hold any insurance agent license, adjuster or public insurance adjuster license in any state other than
Texas or have you held any insurance agent license, adjuster or public insurance adjuster license in any state other
than Texas within the last five years?
;I No E Yes
If you answer “Yes”, you must provide the following:
Applicants who have held a resident license in another state within the previous five years from the date of this
application must attach a Clearance Letter from the Insurance Commission in the states in which the applicant was
previously licensed. A NIPR Producer Database printout showing the termination of the license in the applicant’s
previous resident states can take the place of a Clearance Letter.
Applicants holding a current resident license in another state must attach an original Certificate of Good Standing
from the Insurance Commission in the applicant’s state of residence. The Certificate of Good Standing must be dated
within 90 days of receipt of the completed application. A NIPR Producer Database print out showing that a current
license is held in the applicant’s resident state with the same license type that you are applying for can take the
place of a Letter of Certification.

This application is for a license | previously held that is expired for more than 90 days but less than one year. | will
attach the required $75 license fee. (TIC §4003.007)
[ No ] Yes Previous License Number

Do you qualify as any of the following?

a. “Military service member” — means a person who is currently serving in the armed forces of the United States, or in
a reserve component of the armed forces including the National Guard, or in a state military service of any state.

EI No D Yes

b. “Military spouse” —means a person who is married to a military service member who is currently on active duty.

D No D Yes

c. “Military veteran” — means a person who has served in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard of
the United States, or in an auxiliary service of one of those branches of the armed forces.

El No D Yes

NOTE: If you answer “Yes” to a, b, or ciin question 16, please mark the top of Page 1 of this application with a highlighted “M”.
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Part lI-Adjusters, Adjuster Trainees and Emergency Adjusters (Public Insurance Adjusters use Part Ili)

(All Lines Adjusters, Property & Casualty Adjusters, and Workers’ Compensation Adjusters Only)

Adjusters may add additional qualifications without completing a new application by submitting to TDI a copy of the existing
adjuster license along with a copy of the approved course certificate, or by passing the Texas examination provided by
Pearson VUE. The Certificate of Completion must show that within the past 12 months the adjuster has completed a
certified adjuster pre-licensing education program and passed an examination.

1. Adjuster Applicants — Must be completed with the name of the firm or insurer with whom they will be employed or;
if self-employed, with the applicant’s name.

NAME OF FIRM OR INSURER (OR APPLICANT NAME, IF SELF-EMPLOYED)

2. | have qualified for the adjuster license selected on Page 1 and have:
(Applies to Texas resident/nonresident reciprocal adjuster applicants only. Adjuster Designated Home State applicants skip to #3.)
D attached a course Certificate of Completion certifying that within the past 12 months | completed a Texas
adjuster pre-licensing education program and passed its examination, or

|:| a current similar resident adjuster license or qualified with a current similar license as designated home state
in good standing in the state of as reflected in the National Association of
Insurance Commissioner’s Producer Database or by the attached Letter of Certification from the licensing state, or
D attached my CPCU designation or Associate in Claims (AIC) certification.

3. Nonresident Adjuster Designated Home State Texas Applicants Only — | am a resident of another state that does not
license adjusters for the line of authority sought. | reside in a state that permits residents of Texas to act as an adjuster
in that state, and | request that Texas be the designated home state of the adjuster license for which | am applying (TIC
§4101). | have qualified for the Texas adjuster designated home state Texas license selected on Page 1 and have:

|:| attached a course Certificate of Completion certifying that within the past 12 months, | have completed
a Texas certified adjuster pre-licensing education program and passed an examination, or

D attached my CPCU designation or Associate in Claims (AIC) certification.

| understand that by designating Texas as the home state, | am subject to a Texas license qualifying examination
and compliance with Texas’ adjuster continuing education and fingerprinting requirements (TIC §4101.054,
§4101.059, §4001.103 and 28 TAC §§19.1001-19.1020). |:| No D Yes

4. Adjuster Trainee Registration: An Adjuster Trainee is required to undergo education and training as an adjuster under
the direction and supervision of a licensed sponsoring adjuster. Authorization to act as an Adjuster Trainee may not
exceed 12 months. The Adjuster Trainee registration may not be renewed. An Adjuster Trainee must be sponsored by a
licensed adjuster.

The sponsoring licensed adjuster must complete the following certification:

This is to certify that the applicant will undergo education and training as an adjuster under my direction and
supervision as required in TIC §4101.003.

SIGNATURE OF SPONSORING LICENSED ADJUSTER DATE SIGNED (MM /DD/YY)

PRINT LEGAL NAME OF SPONSORING LICENSED ADJUSTER TDI LICENSE NUMBER OF SPONSORING ADJUSTER

5. Emergency Adjuster: An Emergency Adjuster License may be issued to an individual to adjust losses as a result of a
catastrophe or emergency. The sponsoring licensed adjuster or insurance company must provide specific details of the
catastrophe requiring the issuance of an Emergency Adjuster License. The details must include the date, location, type
of catastrophe, and a copy of official notice or other similar third party notices of the catastrophe or emergency. An
Emergency Adjuster must be sponsored by either a licensed adjuster or a licensed and approved insurance company.
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The mailing address of the Emergency Adjuster sponsor must be provided. Emergency Adjuster licenses are issued
for 90 days. Emergency Adjuster applicants are not required to provide fingerprints.

Provide locations and details of the catastrophe that the applicant named on Page 1 intends to work.

6. Certification for Emergency Adjuster: This is to certify that the applicant named on Page 1 will be working
catastrophe claims at the above locations resulting from the catastrophe named in the attached official notice. |
will be responsible for the loss or claims practices of the Emergency Adjuster license holder as required in TIC
§4101.101.

SIGNATURE OF SPONSORING LICENSED ADJUSTER OR SPONSORING COMPANY OFFICIAL DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YY)
Print legal name of sponsoring licensed adjuster or company official and sponsoring company:

NAME TDI LICENSE # OF SPONSORING ADJUSTER ~ SPONSORING COMPANY NAIC #

MAILING ADDRESS OF SPONSORING ADJUSTER OR SPONSORING INSURANCE COMPANY BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER (10 DIGIT)

Ty STATE ZIP CODE

Part llI-Public Insurance Adjusters (Public Insurance Adjusters Only)
Public Insurance Adjuster (PIA) license applicants must complete this part of this application.

1 Licensed Sponsor or Applicant - Provide the name of the currently licensed firm or person for whom you will be
employed as a PIA, or if self-employed, enter your name.

NAME OF EMPLOYER (OR APPLICANT NAME, IF SELF-EMPLOYED) EMPLOYER’S TEXAS PIA LICENSE NUMBER

2 Financial Responsibility — Each PIA license applicant must demonstrate proof of financial responsibility with a
surety bond executed with the applicant as sole principal in the amount of not less than $10,000 payable to the Texas
Department of Insurance on a bond form available at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11. See TIC §4102.105 and 28
TAC §819.705-19.707. The original bond must be attached to this application.

| have attached my original PIA Bond. E No Q Yes

3 Fingerprints — All resident and nonresident PIA insurance adjuster license applicants must file with this application an
IdentoGO by MorphoTrust USA fingerprint receipt. If fingerprints were previously submitted to TDI for
another application and the applicant continues to hold an active license, then a fingerprint receipt is not required. For
complete information regarding fingerprinting, see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions.

Fingerprint receipt fromldentoGO by MorphoTrust USA is attached (see Fingerprint Requirements and
Instructions for complete fingerprinting instructions), or

D | hold active TDI license number , and previously submitted fingerprints to TDI.
Fingerprints provided for this application will be used to check criminal history records of the Texas
Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation in accordance with applicable statutes.

Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov 50f 15


http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/licensing/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/licensing/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/licensing/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf

FIN506 | 1215

4 Criminal History Record — Each nonresident P 1 A license applicant must file with this application an original criminal
history record of the applicant obtained from the state law enforcement agency of the applicant’s state of residence.
| have attached my original criminal history records.

No, | am a resident of Texas. D Yes, the record is attached.

5 PIA Contract Requirements — Effective January 1, 2014, contract requirements under amended TAC §19.701, §19.708
and §19.713 apply to all applicants for a PIA license. The contract you propose to use must be submitted with the original
PIA license application. Please review your contract to ensure compliance with all contract requirements as outlined
in the TAC. TDI has developed the Public Insurance Adjuster Contract (TDI Form FIN535) that contains the required
standard contract language. This form may be viewed at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11.html.
The failure by a PIA to use a properly authorized and approved contract may result in suspension, nonrenewal,
revocation of the PIA’s license, or other administrative penalty (TAC §19.708(f)).

a. | have reviewed the Public Insurance Adjuster Contract (TDI Form FIN535), and | will be using that contract
form with my clients once licensed.
D No If no, answer 5b below D Yes
b. I have developed my own contract form that meets all requirements as outlined in TAC §19.701 and
§19.708. | have attached a copy of my proposed contract form for TDI’s review and approval.
D No D Yes
Note: Your application for a PIA license cannot be approved until you have registered an approved contract with
TDI.

6 Agent for Service of Process — All nonresident applicants for a PIA license must provide the name and address of their
agent for service of process in the state of Texas as required in TIC §4102.107.

NAME OF TEXAS AGENT FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS

TEXAS ADDRESS OF AGENT FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS

Ity STATE ZIP CODE
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Part IV=Surplus Lines Agents (Surplus Lines Agents Only)
To qualify for a Texas Surplus Lines License, you must hold a current Texas General Lines-Property and Casualty License
or a current Texas Managing General Agent License (TIC §981.203).
Provide your underlying license type and current Texas license number:

UNDERLYING LICENSE TYPE TDI LICENSE NUMBER

Part V-Insurance Service Representatives (insurance Service Representatives Only)

Certificate for Insurance Service Representatives — Must be completed by the appointing licensed General Lines—Property
and Casualty Agent, or Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent, or an officer or partner of a licensed General Lines—
Property and Casualty Agency or Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agency.

CERTIFICATE FOR INSURANCE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVES
This is to certify that the above-mentioned applicant is appointed to act as an Insurance Service Representative (ISR) for
this General Lines—Property and Casualty Agent/Agency or Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent/Agency in the
state of Texas, subject to the applicant’s qualifying for a license. If and when this appointment is terminated or canceled,
the TDI must be notified immediately of such termination. Notification should be made using the_lnsurance
Representative (ISR) Transfer/Cancel Employment (TDI Form FIN529), which can be accessed from our Information
Update forms web page at http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form1lupdate.html.

Appointing General Lines—Property and Casualty or Personal Lines Property and Casualty AGENT:

SIGNATURE OF SPONSORING AGENT  PRINT OR TYPE SPONSORING AGENT’S LEGAL NAME AGENT’S TDI LICENSE NUMBER
(AS APPEARS ON THE CURRENT LICENSE)

DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YY)
Appointing General Lines—Property and Casualty or Personal Lines Property and Casualty AGENCY:

SIGNATURE OF AGENCY OFFICER OR PARTNER SIGNING OFFICER’S OR PARTNER’S NAME

SPONSORING AGENCY’S LEGAL NAME AGENCY’S TDI LICENSE NUMBER
(ASIT APPEARS ON THE CURRENT LICENSE)

DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YY)

Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov 7 of 15


http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/finagentlicense/fin529.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/finagentlicense/fin529.pdf

FIN506 | 1215

Part VI-Notice of Appointment (appointments for provisional permits, see Part Vil)

To be completed by a sponsor on behalf of those applying for a General Lines Agent’s [GL], Life Agent’s [LAGT], Limited
Lines Agent’s [LL], Funeral Pre-arrangement Life Agent’s [PN], Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000 Agent’s [LI], County
Mutual Agent’s [CM], Managing General Agent’s [MGA], Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent’s [PLPC] licenses
or a Full-Time Home Office Salaried Employee’s [HOSE] registration only.

Notice of Appointment. To make a company or subagent appointment with the license application, the Notice of
Appointment form on Page 9 must be signed in ink by an authorized appointing official of the appointing
INSURANCE COMPANY, AN EXECUTIVE OFFICER OR PARTNER OF THE SPONSORING AGENCY, OR THE SPONSORING
INDIVIDUAL AGENT. The form will be rejected if it does not contain the title and original signature of the signing
representative. The applicant’s signature will not be accepted. The Notice of Appointment must include the date
the form is signed. A Notice of Appointment does not apply to Insurance Adjuster, Public Insurance Adjuster, Risk
Manager, Surplus Lines, Insurance Service Representative, or Life and Health Insurance Counselor Licenses.

Temporary License. Only applicants for a Funeral Prearrangement Life Agent, Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000
Agent, or County Mutual Agent license may apply for a temporary license with this application. If a temporary license is
requested by the appointing company and if the company and applicant are eligible, TDI will issue such a license for a
period of 90 days, without examination. A temporary license may not be renewed or issued more than once in a
consecutive six-month period to the same applicant. A temporary license application must include a completed Notice
of Appointment. The temporary licensee must provide to TDI a certification by the appointing insurance company that
the temporary agent has completed the required course of study and passed the written examination with a
copy of the temporary license within one year of the temporary license’s issue date in order to obtain the permanent
license without a new application.

An application to register a Full-Time Home Office Salaried Employee must include a completed Notice of
Appointment.

Insurance Company Appointments. If a completed Notice of Appointment is not received with a General Lines Agent,
Life Agent, Limited Lines Agent, Funeral Prearrangement Life Agent, Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000 Agent,
County Mutual Agent, Managing General Agent or Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent license application, the
license may be issued. However, not later than the 30th day after the effective date of the agent’s appointment by the
insurance company, a TDI Notice of Appointment with the $10.00 fee must be submitted to TDI.

Subagent Appointments. ONLY GENERAL LINES AGENTS, PERSONAL LINES PROPERTY AND CASUALTY AGENTS AND LIFE
AGENTS MAY APPOINT SUBAGENTS OR BE APPOINTED AS SUBAGENTS.

e A General Lines — Life, Accident and Health Agent may appoint a General Lines — Life Accident and Health Agent or
a Life Agent.

e A Life Agent may appoint a General Lines — Life Accident and Health Agent or a Life Agent.

e A General Lines — Property and Casualty Agent may appoint a General Lines — Property and Casualty Agent or a
Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent.

e A Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent may appoint a General Lines — Property and Casualty Agent or a
Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent.

Applicants for a Limited Lines, Funeral Prearrangement Life, Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000, County Mutual,
Managing General Agent License, or a Full-Time Home Office Salaried Employee Registration cannot be appointed by
an agency or agent.

NOTICE OF APPOINTMENT FORM FOLLOWS ON THE NEXT PAGE

Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov 8 of 15


http://www.tdi.texas.gov/

FIN506 | 1215

Part VI-Notice of Appointment — Continued
PLEASE FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS ON PREVIOUS PAGE
NOTICE OF APPOINTMENT FOR GL, LAGT, LL, PN, LI, CM, MGA, PLPC AND HOSE APPLICANTS

FULL LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT (PRINT OR TYPE) LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME  SUFFIX

Only ONE sponsor per application. Enter company, agency or agent information.
Name of Insurance Company appointing a GL, LAGT, LL, PN, LI, CM, MGA, PLPC or HOSE applicant:

APPOINTING COMPANY NAME (GROUP NAMES NOT ACCEPTABLE) NAIC NUMBER OF APPOINTING COMPANY

OR—Name of Agency sponsoring a GL as a Subagent:

SPONSORING AGENCY NAME AGENCY TAX ID NUMBER
(ASIT APPEARS ON THE CURRENT AGENCY LICENSE)

OR—Name of Individual Agent sponsoring a GL as a Subagent:

SPONSORING AGENT NAME SSN OF SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL
(ASIT APPEARS ON THE CURRENT AGENT LICENSE)

Temporary License: (for PN, LI, or CM license types only):
Does this company want the above named applicant to receive a temporary license to act as a full-time agent
in accordance with the provisions of TIC §4001, subchapter D? D No D Yes

If “Yes”, please provide the telephone number of the office where the agent will be assigned: ( ) -

Managing General Agent: This section must be completed by an officer of the appointing company or carrier
having personal knowledge that the applicant has had experience or instruction that would qualify the applicant as a
managing general agent.
e Will the above managing general agent applicant have claim settlement authority for the
company or carrier? No D Yes
e Does the claim settlement authority exceed $25,000 on any one claim? D No D Yes
e Does the claim settlement authority include third-party liability other than property damage? D No D Yes
e Are funds exceeding $100,000 customarily held by the managing general agent for the
purpose of paying losses and loss adjustment expenses for the company or carrier? g No Q Yes

The Appointing Official must read and sign the following statements:

This is to certify that the applicant named on Page 1 and above is appointed to act as an agent for this company,
OR a subagent for my agency, OR a subagent for me in the state of Texas subject to the applicant qualifying for a
license. If and when this appointment is terminated or canceled, the TDI will be notified immediately of such
termination.

This applicant meets the requirements as set out in the TIC and the rules and regulations promulgated by
the TDI for the type of license applied for herein.
| acknowledge my responsibility for ensuring that the applicant receives training, as required by the TIC.

(SIGNATURE REQUIRED) (PRINT OR TYPE)
SIGNATURE OF APPOINTING OFFICIAL FOR APPOINTING COMPANY, OR APPOINTING OFFICIAL’S FULL LEGAL NAME AND TITLE, OR
SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL FOR SPONSORING AGENCY, OR OFFICER’S OR PARTNER’S FULL LEGAL NAME AND TITLE, OR
SIGNATURE OF SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT’S FULL LEGAL NAME
DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YY)
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Part VII-Provisional Permit Appointment (Appointments for provisional permits only)
Pursuant to TIC 4001, Subchapter H, this part must be completed by all provisional permit applicants and authorized by an
appointing official of the sponsoring company or by a sponsoring agent (TIC §4001.354). Addresses provided in Part VII of the
application, will only be used for the purpose of communication regarding this application for provisional authority.

FULL LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT (PRINT OR TYPE) LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME  SUFFIX

Enter sponsoring company, sponsoring agency or sponsoring agent information.
Name of sponsoring insurance company appointing a GL, LI, CM, PN applicant:

APPOINTING COMPANY NAME (GROUP NAMES NOT ACCEPTABLE) NAIC NUMBER OF APPOINTING COMPANY

APPOINTING COMPANY MAILING ADDRESS APPOINTING COMPANY EMAIL ADDRESS

OR—Name of sponsoring agency sponsoring a GL, as a subagent:

SPONSORING AGENCY NAME AGENCY TAXID NUMBER
(ASIT APPEARS ON THE CURRENT AGENCY LICENSE)

SPONSORING AGENCY MAILING ADDRESS SPONSORING AGENCY EMAIL ADDRESS

OR—Name of sponsoring individual agent sponsoring a GL, as a subagent:

SPONSORING INDIVIDUALAGENT’S NAME SSN OF SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT
(ASIT APPEARS ON THE CURRENT AGENT LICENSE)

SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT’S MAILING ADDRESS SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT’S EMAIL ADDRESS

The Appointing Official must read and sign the following statements:

This is to certify that the applicant named on Page 1 and above is appointed to act as an agent for this company,
OR a subagent for my agency, OR a subagent for me in the state of Texas subject to the applicant qualifying for a
license. Ifand when this appointment is terminated or canceled, the department will be notified immediately of such
termination.

This applicant meets the requirements as set out in the TIC and the rules and regulations promulgated by
the TDI for the type of permit applied for herein.

| acknowledge my responsibility for ensuring that the applicant has completed training, and passed the
examination as required by the TIC.

| acknowledge my responsibility for ensuring that a background check on the applicant has been
completed that shows that the applicant has not been convicted of:
(i) a felony; or
(ii) an act that requires the applicant to receive written consent under 18 U.S.C. Section 1033 to engage
in the business of insurance.

(SIGNATURE REQUIRED) (PRINT OR TYPE)
SIGNATURE OF APPOINTING OFFICIAL FOR APPOINTING COMPANY, OR APPOINTING OFFICIAL’S FULL LEGAL NAME AND TITLE, OR
SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL FOR SPONSORING AGENCY, OR OFFICER’S OR PARTNER’S FULL LEGAL NAME AND TITLE, OR
SIGNATURE OF SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT SPONSORING INDIVIDUAL AGENT’S FULL LEGAL NAME
DATE SIGNED (MM/DD/YY)
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Part VllI-Background Information and Fingerprints
This part must be completed by all applicants except Emergency Adjuster, Full-Time Home Office Salaried Employee, and PIA.
PIA license applicants must complete Part lll and skip this part.

1 |am aresident of Texas and:

a. D | have attached a copy of my fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that my fingerprints
have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions for
complete fingerprinting instructions) or,

b. D | have an active TDI agent/adjuster license and | have already submitted fingerprints to TDI or,

c. |:| | have an active TDI license or registration, other than an agent/adjuster license, and | have already submitted my
fingerprints to TDI with a:

,o0n
TYPE OF APPLICATION OR FILING DATE FINGERPRINTS SUBMITTED TO TDI
(MM/DD/YY)

Resident applicants must include a copy of their fingerprint receipt unless the applicant (1) has an active TDI license or
registration and (2) submitted fingerprints to TDI with another license application or TDI filing. Fingerprints will be used to
check criminal history records of the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation in
accordance with applicable statutes.

2 |am a nonresident of Texas, and | meet the background information requirement as follows:

(Adjuster Designated Home State applicants skip to #3.)

a. D | hold an active license in good standing in my resident state as reflected on the National Association of Insurance
Commissioner’s Producer Database or,

b. Q | am not a PIA applicant and have attached my criminal history records that | have acquired from my resident state’s
law enforcement agency or,

c. D | have attached a current Certificate of Good Standing from my resident state or,

d. D | have attached a copy of my fingerprint receipt from ldentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that my fingerprints
have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

e. D | hold a designated home state license in good standing in the following state:

All nonresident license applicants, except PIAs, who do not hold a current insurance license in good standing in the
applicant’s state of residence shall, through the law enforcement agency of the state of residence, submit a copy of
the applicant’s criminal history records. If the resident state will not provide a criminal history record for licensing
purposes, the applicant must provide a fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that
fingerprints have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (see Fingerprint Requirements and
Instructions for complete fingerprinting instructions).

3 Iam a nonresident of Texas applying for a Designated Home State Adjuster License, and | am a resident of another state
that does not license adjusters for the line of authority sought on Page 1. | meet the Texas fingerprint requirement by either

a, or b, orc, as | have indicated below.

a. D | have attached a copy of my fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that my fingerprints
have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions for
complete fingerprinting instructions) or,

b. D | have an active TDI agent/adjuster license and | have already submitted fingerprints to TDI or,

c. D | have an active TDI license or registration, other than an agent/adjuster license, and | have already submitted my
fingerprints to TDI with a:

,on .
TYPE OF APPLICATION OR FILING DATE FINGERPRINTS SUBMITTED TO TDI
(MM/DD/YY)
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Part IX-Individual Applicant Signature Page (to be completed by all applicants)
All Applicants must read, sign, and have this section notarized before submitting the license application.

| hereby certify that | have personally answered each of the questions herein and that the answers are true and correct to
the best of my knowledge and belief. | further certify that | am aware of the provisions of the Texas Insurance Code and
the rules and regulations promulgated by the Texas Department of Insurance which relate to the issuance of the license
for which | am applying and the grounds under which such license may be denied, suspended, revoked or non-renewed,
and that | meet the requirements for the license type applied for herein. | further acknowledge that | am subject to both
disciplinary action and criminal prosecution if my application contains a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry
with regard to any material fact.

| understand that fingerprints provided with this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the Texas
Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation in accordance with applicable statutes.

| acknowledge and understand that | have the duty to inform the commissioner of insurance of any disciplinary action
taken against me in any other state in which | may be licensed within thirty (30) days of the happening of such disciplinary
action.

| further acknowledge that | have the duty to update the information contained on this application, including a change of
my address, and that failure to do so may constitute grounds for revocation or suspension of my insurance licenses.

| understand all applications are subject to further review. Any affirmative response to a screening question may extend
processing times. Failure to disclose criminal history information may result in denial of license.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT
(PRINT OR TYPE BELOW)

FULL LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME SUFFIX
The State of, County of ,
Before me, , on this day personally appeared

(PRINTED NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC)
, known to me (or proved to me

(PRINTED FULL LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT)

on the oath of or through
(PRINTED NAME OF WITNESS KNOWN TO NOTARY PUBLIC) (DESCRIPTION OF IDENTITY CARD OR OTHER DOCUMENT)

to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument, and acknowledged to me that he or she
executed the same for the purposes and consideration therein expressed.

Given under my hand and seal of office this day of ,A.D. 20 .

(NOTARY SEAL)

(NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE)

Notary Public, State of

Send completed application, any other required documents, and a check or money order made payable to the
Texas Department of Insurance, to:

Texas Department of Insurance

Agent and Adjuster Licensing, MC 107-1A

P.0. BOX 12069

Austin, TX 78711--2069
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General Information Guide

LICENSE TYPE PART PART | PART | PART | PART | PART | PART | PART | PART
| ] ] v Vv Vi Vi Vil IX
General Lines-LAH (§§ 4054.051) P . ¢ P . .
General Lines-P&C (§§ 4051.051) P . ¢ P . .
Life Agent (Chapter 4054) . ¢ . .
Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000 (§§ 4054.201), P . * P . .
Funeral Prearrangement Life (§§ 4054.151) » P . * P . .
Life & Health Insurance Counselor (Chapter 4052) . . .
Full-Time Home Offlce Salarled Employee (§§ 4051.301) . . .
Personal Lines Property and Casualty (Chapter 4051) . ¢ . .
Limlited Lines (§§ 4054.101 and §§ 4051.101) . ¢ . .
County Mutual (§§ 4051.201) = P . * P . .
Insurance Service Representative (§§ 4051.151) o . . .
|Managlng General Agent (Chapter 4053) . N . .
|Surplus Lines Agent (Chapter 981) . . . .
|Rlsk Manager (Chapter 4153) . . .
Public Insurance Adjuster (Chapter 4102) . . .
AdJuster-All Lines (Chapter 4101) . . . .
AdJuster-P&C (Chapter 4101) . . . .
IAdJuster-Workers’ Comp (Chapter 4101) . . . .
IAdJuster-Tralnee (§§ 4101.003) . . . .
[Adjuster—-Emergency (§§ 4101.101) . . .
IAdjuster-All Lines Designated Home State Texas (Chapter 4101) . . . .
IAdjuster-P&C Designated Home State Texas (Chapter 4101) . . . .
AdJuster-Workers’ Comp Deslgnated Home State (Chapter 4101) . . . .
. Required parts
* A temporary license is available for this license type. Part VI, Notice of Appointment is required for a temporary license,

otherwise the Noticeof Appointment is optional on this original application.
P A provisional permit is available for this license type. Part VlI, is required for a provisional permit.

¢ Notice of Appointmentis optional for these types on an original application. However, not later than the 30th day after the
effective date of the agent’s appointment by an insurance company, or subagent’s appointment by a General Lines
agent/agency, a Notice of Appointment with the $10 fee must besubmitted to TDI, ifthe Notice of Appointmentis not made
on this application.

* If Notice of Appointment is not submitted, then company certification must be provided certifying the applicant has (1)
completed a course of study and instructions and (2) passed without aid a written examination administered by the insurer
asrequiredintheTIC.

License type information and descriptions, including examination requirements and exemptions, may be found at
www.tdi.texas.gov/licensing/agent/aglity.
This application with fee and required attachments must be mailed to:

Texas Department of Insurance, MC 107-1A

Agent and Adjuster Licensing

P O Box 12069

Austin, TX 78711-2069

Obtaining a Printed License: A printed Texas Department of Insurance license may be obtained for free, within 30 days
from when an application is approved and a license issued, if you applied through Compliance Express or if you have
obtained a no cost ProducerEDGE account at: www.sircon.com/Texas. After 30 days, a $5.00 fee will be required, unless
you maintain a no cost ProducerEDGE account. You will need your license number to access a printable license; your
license number may be obtained via a search at: https://txapps.texas.gov/NASApp/tdi/TdiARManager.
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NOTICE ABOUT CERTAIN INFORMATION LAWS AND PRACTICES
With few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information that the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) collects about you. Under
sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Texas Government Code, you have a right to review or receive copies of information about yourself, including
private information. However, TDI may withhold information for reasons other than to protect your right to privacy. Under section 559.004 of the Texas
Government Code, you are entitled to request that TDI correct information that TDI has about you that is incorrect. For more information about the
procedure and costs for obtaining information from TDI or about the procedure for correcting information kept by TDI, please contact the Agency
Counsel Section of TDI’s General Counsel Division at (512) 676-6551 or visit the Corrections Procedure section of TDI’s website at www.tdi.texas.gov.

Fees: 28 TAC §§ 19.801-19.802: All $50 application, $150 temporary license application, or $100 provisional permit fees

are nonrefundable and nontransferable as authorized by the Texas Insurance Code. Make check or money order payable to

the Texas Department of Insurance.
Applicants with Expired Licenses: If a person’s license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the

person may not renew the license, but is entitled to a new license without taking the applicable examination if the person
submits to TDI a new application, the license fee, and an additional fee equal to one-half of the license fee. If a person’s
license has been expired for one year or more, the person may obtain a new license by submitting to reexamination, if
examination is required for original issuance of the license, and by complying with the requirements and procedures
for obtaining an original license.

Temporary License Applicants: Only applicants applying for a Funeral Prearrangement Life License, Life Insurance Not
Exceeding $25,000 License, or County Mutual License may apply for a temporary license with this application. All other
temporary license applicants must submit a Pearson VUE application form to DataStream Technologies, 18568 Forty Six
Pkwy, Suite 2001, Spring Branch, TX 78070. The temporary license application must include a completed Notice of
Appointment, Part VI, signed by the appointing company. The temporary license is valid for 90 days after the date of
issuance.

A temporary license holder must submit to TDI a certification by the appointing insurance company that the temporary
agent has completed the course of study and examination as required by the Texas Insurance Code (TIC) with a copy of the
temporary license to obtain a permanent Funeral Prearrangement Life License, Life Insurance Not Exceeding $25,000 License,
or the County Mutual License.

A temporary license may not be renewed or issued more than once in a consecutive six-month period to the same applicant.

Nonresident Adjuster Designating Texas as Resident State: Some states do not license adjusters. A resident of one of
those states may obtain a Texas adjuster license by meeting all Texas resident license requirements and then designating
Texas as the home state for the adjuster license only. Nonresident Adjuster Designating Texas as Resident State must
comply with the continuing education requirements as outlined in TIC §4101 and 28 TAC §§19.1001- 19.1020.

Names: Applicants must provide their full legal name, and not a nickname. For instance, a “Christopher” may not apply
as” Chris”.

Addresses: The mailing address provided in Part |, number 4 must be your permanent mailing address and is the address

of record to which licenses, official correspondence, forms, notices and other information will be sent. The
applicant/agent's current mailing address is presumed to be the address on the most recent license renewal or license
application form, whichever is latest. This address will be considered the applicant/agent's last known address for the
purposes of notice to the applicant/agent by TDI. The legal resident address is the address where you currently live. The
resident address is used to determine the state of residence for licensing purposes.

Address Changes:

Address changes must be reported to TDI as required in the TIC §4001.252 and §4003.009. If the mailing, legal
resident, or official business address changes, the applicant/agent is responsible for notifying TDI within 30 days
either by fax to 512-490-1029, or in writing by mail to:

Texas Department of Insurance, Mail Code 107-1A
Agent and Adjuster Licensing

P O Box 149104

Austin TX, 78714-9104

You may obtain the Licensee Name/Address Change Request (TDI Form FIN533), at

www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11.html.
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Nonresident Individuals Changing Residency to Texas:
Processing a change from a nonresident licensee status to a resident licensee status requires a completed
Application for Residency Change to Texas (TDI Form FIN594).
You may obtain the Application for Residency Change to Texas (TDI Form FIN594), at

www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11.html.

All address change request forms MUST be dated and signed by the license holder; and MUST include any of the required
items listed in the appropriate form.

Public Insurance Adjuster Contracts: Effective January 1, 2014, contract requirements under amended TAC §19.701,
819.708 and §19.713 apply to licensure of PIAs. PIA contracts must be submitted to TDI's Agent and Adjuster Licensing
office for approval with an original application for license or application for renewal of PIA license. Also, contracts with any
modifications or amendment of terms or conditions must be submitted to TDI between license renewals. A PIA license may
not be issued or renewed until the applicant confirms that either a form FIN535, Public Insurance Adjuster Contract, or
another approved contract form will be used once licensed. The contract you propose to use, once licensed, must be

submitted with the original PIA license application.
The failure by a Public Insurance Adjuster to use a properly authorized and approved contract may result in suspension, nonrenewal, revocation of the
Public Insurance Adjuster’s license, or other administrative penalty (ref. TAC§19.708(f)).

Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions:
Fingerprinting: The fingerprint requirement is authorized in TIC §801.056, §4001.103, and by 28 TAC §1.501 and §§1.503 -
1.509.

Applicants claiming exemption from the fingerprint requirement based on 28 TAC §1.504(b) must provide information on
the type of license application or TDI filing with which the fingerprints were submitted and the date the fingerprints were
submitted to TDI.

The department strongly encourages applicants to utilize electronic fingerprinting through approved vendors, as
authorized under the rule. Electronic fingerprinting is fast and accurate, and in most cases will avoid potential delays in the
processing of your submission.

Fingerprint cards are no longer accepted by TDI.

For detailed information about fee requirements and about Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions, please click on the
link here or visit: http://www.tdi.texas.gov/licensing/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf

TDI cannot complete processing an application until it receives a criminal history report from the DPS and the FBI for
applicants required to provide a fingerprint receipt.

References: You may view the Texas Insurance Code at http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/ and the Texas
Administrative Code at http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtacSext.viewtac.
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