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Texas Department Of Insurance  
Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Records Processing 
7551 Metro Center Dr.  Ste.100 • MS-93 
Austin, TX 78744-1609 
(800) 252-7031  (512) 804-4378 fax     www.tdi.texas.gov 

 
DWC Claim#         
 
Carrier Claim#         

Send the completed original form to the insurance carrier.  
Send a copy to TDI-DWC field office handling the claim. 

EMPLOYEE'S ELECTION FOR COMMUTED (LUMP SUM) IMPAIRMENT INCOME BENEFITS (DWC Form-051) 

1.  Employee's Name  
      

2. Telephone Number  
                         

3.  Social Security Number 
(last 4 digits) xxx-xx      

4.  Date of Injury (mm/dd/yyyy) 
      

5.  Mailing Address (Street or P. O. Box, City, State, Zip Code) 
      

 6.  Employer's Business Name 
      

7.  Insurance Carrier's Name 
      

Notice to Employee:  Section 408.128 of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act allows you to elect to receive your impairment income benefits in a lump 
sum if you have returned to work for at least three months, earning at least 80% of your average weekly wage. 

The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (TDI-DWC) field office handling your claim will assist you with information to 
complete this form, if needed.  If the insurance carrier denies your request, you may request TDI-DWC to set a benefit review conference by calling 800-
252-7031.  

WARNING:  Supplemental Income Benefits may be available to you at the end of the impairment period if you have an impairment rating of 
15% or more, are earning less than 80% of your average weekly wage as a direct result of your impairment, and if you in good faith have tried 
to obtain employment in line with your ability to work.  IF YOU RECEIVE A LUMP SUM PAYMENT OF YOUR IMPAIRMENT INCOME BENEFITS, 
YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO RECEIVE SUPPLEMENTAL INCOME BENEFITS OR ANY ADDITIONAL INCOME BENEFITS FOR THE INJURY.  
Medical benefits related to this injury will not be affected if you receive a lump sum.  

[Section 408.128, Commutation of Impairment Income Benefits, Section 408.041- 408.0446, Average Weekly Wage, Section 408.142, Supplemental Income Benefits, Texas 
Workers' Compensation Act; Rule 147.10] 

8. Maximum Medical Improvement Date as Determined by a Doctor  (mm/dd/yyyy)                          

9. Impairment Rating             %         Rating Doctor's Name                                                                           

    Did you or insurance carrier dispute the rating?   Yes    No       

    Weekly Impairment Income Benefit Amount $                     

10. Date Returned to Work (mm/dd/yyyy)                          

    Present Rate of Pay  $                                 Hourly       Weekly       Monthly       Other     

    Have you returned to work for at least 3 months?      Yes           No   

11. I have read and understood this form, or it has been explained to me. 

      Employee's Signature ___________________________________    Date (mm/dd/yyyy)                            

TO BE COMPLETED ONLY BY THE INSURANCE CARRIER 
12. Date Received From Employee (mm/dd/yyyy) 
      

DENIED - DOES NOT MEET REQUIREMENTS SET BY LAW 
 Employee not earning at least 80% of preinjury  average weekly wage 
 Employee not employed for at least 3 months  
 Impairment rating being disputed  ACCEPTED, PAYMENT ENCLOSED        

Lump Sum Amount Paid $                                    Date Paid (mm/dd/yyyy)                                    

For Period From  (mm/dd/yyyy)                                      To  (mm/dd/yyyy)                                   

Carrier Representative's Printed Name  __________________________________________                                                                                                                                                                                                
 
Signature  _______________________________________________________              Date _____________________ 

 
 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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Employee's Election for Commuted (Lump Sum)  
Impairment Income Benefits (DWC FORM-051) 

 
 
Who may use this form to elect lump sum impairment income benefits (IIBs)? 
An injured employee may elect to receive the remainder of impairment income benefits to which the 
employee is entitled in a lump sum if the employee has returned to work for at least three months earning 
at least 80% of the employee's average weekly wage.   
 
How to Apply 
The employee may apply to receive a lump sum (commute) by filing an Employee's Election for Commuted 
(Lump Sum) Impairment Income Benefits (DWC FORM-051) with the workers' compensation insurance 
carrier.  The employee must also send a copy of the completed form to the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (TDI-DWC).  The form may be obtained by contacting your 
local field office at 800-252-7031 or downloading it from the website at 
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20employee.html. 
 
Notice of Approval or Denial From Carrier 
The insurance carrier must send a notice of approval or denial to both TDI-DWC and the injured employee 
no later than 14 days after receipt of the request.  A notice of approval must include payment of the 
impairment income benefits in a lump sum.  A notice of denial must include the insurance carrier's 
reason(s) for denial. 
 
If the injured employee does not receive notice of approval or denial timely from the insurance carrier, the 
injured employee may contact the local TDI-DWC field office.  If the insurance carrier denies the request, 
the injured employee may request TDI-DWC to set a benefit review conference to resolve the issue. 
 
Eligibility for Further Income Benefits if Approved 
If the injured employee receives a lump sum payment of impairment income benefits, the employee will not 
be eligible to receive supplemental income benefits or any other income benefits for the injury.  Medical 
benefits related to this injury will not be affected by receiving the lump sum IIBs. 
 
Applicable Statutes 
Texas Workers' Compensation Act:  http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/act/index.html 
Section 408.128, Commutation of Impairment Income Benefits 
Section 408.041-408.0446, Average Weekly Wage 
Section 408.142, Supplemental Income Benefits 
 
Questions? 
If you have questions about this form, contact staff at your local TDI-DWC Field Office at 800-252-7031. 
 

NOTE:  With few exceptions, you are entitled on request to be informed about the information that TDI-DWC collects about you.  
Under §§552.021 and 552.023 of the Government Code, you are entitled to receive and review the information.  Under §559.004 
of the Government Code you are entitled to have TDI-DWC correct information about you that is incorrect.  For more 
information, call the local TDI-DWC field office at 800-252-7031. 
 
 
 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20employee.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/act/index.html
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