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Data Collection Activity   

Data Services collects and maintains statistical data and produces statistical reports for the Legislature, the 

agency, the public, and the insurance industry.  Data is obtained through scheduled data calls, special data 

calls, statistical plans, or is downloaded from the NAIC database.  Data calls and resulting reports are 

posted on the TDI web site at http://www.tdi.texas.gov.  

Data collection activities include:  

 Commercial Liability Insurance Closed Claims 

1. Annual Aggregate Closed Claim Report (previously known as Annual (Summary) Closed Claim 
Report) 

2. Quarterly Closed Claim Report 
3. Closed Claim Reconciliation Form 

 Disallowed Expense Call 

 Call for Annual Experience (includes Workers’ Compensation Deductible Plans) 

 Texas Title Insurance Experience Report Submissions 

1. Title Insurance Agent Experience Report Submission 
2. Title Insurance Company Experience Report Submission  

 Workers’ Compensation Insurance Data Collection 

1. Detailed Claim Information (DCI) 
2. Texas Unit Statistical Plan Data (Unit Stat) 
3. Texas Workers’ Compensation Financial Call (TXWCFC) 

 

  

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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Commercial Liability Insurance Closed Claims [RETURN] 

Under TIC §§38.151-38.163 and 28 TAC §§5.9201, 5.9202, and 5.9204, property and casualty insurers, 
including county mutuals, Lloyds, reciprocals, domestic risk retention groups, and self-insured retentions, 
writing general liability, professional liability other than medical professional liability, product liability, 
liability portion of commercial multi-peril, commercial auto liability, or medical professional liability are 
required to file the following: 
 

1. Annual Aggregate Closed Claim Report for Texas bodily injury indemnity payments of $25,000 
or less.  

TDI will issue a Commissioner’s Bulletin which will detail reporting instructions, due dates, and 
other information needed to complete the report. 

2. Quarterly Closed Claim Report for Texas bodily injury indemnity payments of $25,000 or more.   

These reports are automatically due.  No Commissioner’s Bulletin is issued for the Quarterly 
Closed Claim Reports.  Insurers are not required to submit claims the insurer closed on or after 
January 1, 2016.  The due date for claims closed in the fourth quarter of 2015, was January 10, 
2016. 

3. Closed Claim Reconciliation Form to reconcile the Annual Aggregate Closed Claim Report and 
Quarterly Closed Claim Reports submitted throughout the calendar year with a company's direct 
losses on its annual statement.  

TDI will issue a Commissioner’s Bulletin which will detail reporting instructions, due dates, and 
other information needed to complete the report.  

Data Services developed the Closed Claim Reporting Guide to assist insurers in complying with the 
closed claim reporting requirements.  The reporting guide and forms can be found on the TDI website at   

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/webinfo/datacall.html#pc. 
 
For more information on the guide or for any questions on reporting closed claims, direct inquiries to:  
 
Vicky Knox  
Texas Department of Insurance  
Property and Casualty Actuarial Office – Data Services Team, MC 105-5D  
P.O. Box 149104  
Austin, TX  78714-9104  
Phone:  (512) 676-6686  
Fax:  (512) 490-1062  
Email address:  Vicky.Knox@tdi.texas.gov  

Frequently Asked Questions  

Can I get an extension on the 
deadline?  

Extensions may be granted on a case by case basis.  Requests must be in 
writing and include the NAIC company number, reason for the extension, 
contact person, fax number, and the anticipated date of filing the report.  

What happens if I don’t meet the 
deadline?  

You may be referred to TDI’s Enforcement Section for disciplinary action.  

Can I fax my information?  No, unless specifically requested to do so by TDI staff.  

Can I develop my own form?  Yes, but make sure it completely agrees with the form sent by TDI for that 

year.  

When is a claim considered 
“closed?”  

A claim file is closed when all the indemnity and all expenses have been paid.  

What types of coverage are to be 
included?  

Bodily injury coverage only.  

What closed claims should be 

included?  
Only claims settled under Texas law prior to calendar year 2016 are to be 

included.  If an injury occurred in another state, but the claim was settled under 

Texas law, the claim file should be included. (Refer to SB 784, 84th Regular 

Session.) 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/ccguide2015.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/ccguide2015.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/webinfo/datacall.html#pc
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/webinfo/datacall.html#pc
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Disallowed Expense Call [RETURN] 

The Disallowed Expense Call collects data on insurer expenses that, by statute, may not be considered in 

the determination of rates.  

Under Texas Insurance Code §2251.002, property and casualty insurers writing fire and allied lines, 

multiple peril crop, farm owners multiple peril, homeowners multiple peril, commercial multiple peril, inland 

marine, medical malpractice, other general liability, products liability, private passenger automobile, 

commercial automobile, fidelity, and surety in the state of Texas are required to submit countrywide direct 

written premium and insurance expense data.    

TDI will issue a Commissioner’s Bulletin usually in March that details reporting instructions, due dates, and 

other information needed to complete the report.   

Direct data call information and inquiries to: 

  

TDI Data Services 

Texas Department of Insurance  

Property and Casualty Actuarial Office – Data Services Team, MC 105-5D 

P.O. Box 149104  

Austin, TX  78714-9104  

Phone:  (512) 676-6690 

Fax:  (512) 490-1062  

Email address:  DataCall@tdi.texas.gov  

Frequently Asked Questions  
Are county mutuals and farm mutuals required to file this 

report?  
With the passage of SB 14, 78th Legislature, Regular 

Session, county mutuals are required to file.  Farm 

mutuals are not required to file.  

Can I get an extension on the deadline?  Extensions may be granted on a case by case basis.  

Requests must be in writing and include the NAIC 

company number, reason for the extension, contact 

person, fax number, and the anticipated date of filing 

the report.  

What happens if I don’t meet the deadline?  You may be referred to TDI’s Enforcement Section for 

disciplinary action.  

Can I fax my information?  You may fax the Affidavit only (not the report), but 

email is the preferred method for submission.  You 

are not required to mail the original Affidavit.  

If my company didn’t write any premium for the reporting 

year, do we still have to file?  
Yes, you will need to file a “None” submission with an 

Affidavit.  Instructions for filing a “None” submission 

will be included in the Commissioner’s Bulletin.  

If we did not write any premium for the reporting year, do 

we still have to file the Compensation of Benefits data form 

and Affiliate Transaction data form?  

No.  

Are any reports published as a result of this data call?  Yes. General Expense Information: 100% of Industry 

Median is published for use by all insurance 

companies writing any line of insurance subject to TIC 

§2251.002, which prohibits use in rate calculations of 

certain administrative expenses that exceed 110% of 

the industry median.  

Do we need to report countrywide premium or Texas 

premium only?  
Report countrywide premium.  

  

  

  

mailto:DataCall@tdi.texas.gov
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Call for Annual Experience and Call for Annual Experience - Workers’ 

Compensation Deductible Plans [RETURN] 

The Call for Annual Experience collects data from individual property/casualty insurance companies 

licensed to write business in Texas.  The Call for Annual Experience - Workers’ Compensation Deductible 

Plans collects data from individual insurance companies licensed to write workers’ compensation insurance 

in Texas.  Data from both calls are used for analysis of premium and loss trends and market conditions.  

 

Under TIC Chapter 2251, Property/Casualty insurers, including county mutuals, Lloyds, reciprocals, and 

domestic risk retention groups, are required to file the Call for Annual Experience data within approximately 

30 days from the end of the calendar year. 

 

TDI will issue a Commissioner's Bulletin towards the end of each calendar year which will detail reporting 

instructions, due dates, and any other information needed to complete the call.  

 

In accord with TIC §38.001, insurance companies licensed to write workers’ compensation are required to 

file the Call for Annual Experience - Workers’ Compensation Deductible Plan data within approximately 30 

days from the end of the calendar year.  

 

TDI will issue a Commissioner's Bulletin towards the end of each calendar year which will detail reporting 

instructions, due dates, and any other information needed to complete the call.  

 

Direct data call information and inquiries to: 

 

TDI Data Services 

Texas Department of Insurance  

Property and Casualty Actuarial Office – Data Services Team, MC 105-5D  

P.O. Box 149104  

Austin, TX  78714-9104  

Phone:  (512) 676-6690  

Fax:  (512) 490-1062  

Email address:  DataCall@tdi.texas.gov  

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions  

Can I get an extension on the deadline?  Extensions may be granted on a case by case basis.  

Requests must be in writing and include the NAIC 

company number, reason for the extension, contact 

person, fax number, and the anticipated date of filing 

the report.  

What happens if I don’t meet the deadline?  You may be referred to TDI’s Enforcement Section for 

disciplinary actions.  

Can I fax my information in?  Only the affidavit may be faxed in.  The data call must 

be submitted electronically using the interactive PDF 

form.  

Do I have to file?  If your company is licensed for any one line of business 

on the call, you must file.  This applies even if you have 

never written business.  Simply submit a “NONE” 

report.  

 

 

  

mailto:DataCall@tdi.texas.gov
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Texas Title Insurance Experience Report Submissions [RETURN] 

1. Texas Title Insurance Agent Experience Report Submission collects information on income 

and expenses in the title industry.  

 

Under TIC §2703.153, 28 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter C, §9.401, title agents (including 

independent, affiliated, and direct operation) are required to file.    

  

TDI will issue a Commissioner’s Bulletin detailing reporting instructions, due dates, and other 

information needed to complete the report.  

2. Texas Title Insurance Company Call for Experience collects information on income and 

expenses in the title industry.  

 

Under TIC §2703.153, 28 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter C, §9.401, Title underwriters are required 

to file.    

  

TDI will issue a Commissioner’s Bulletin detailing reporting instructions, due dates, and other 

information needed to complete the report.  

 

A copy of the Texas Title Insurance Statistical Plan can be found on the TDI website at 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/title/index.html.  

 

Please direct data call information and inquiries to: 

 

TDI Data Services 

Texas Department of Insurance 

Property and Casualty Actuarial Office – Data Services Team, MC 105-5D 

P.O. Box 149104 

Austin, TX  78714-9104 

Phone:  (512) 676-6690 

Fax:  (512) 490-1062 

Email address:  DataCall@tdi.texas.gov  

 

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions  

Can I get an extension on the deadline?  Extensions may be granted on a case by case basis.  

Requests must be in writing and include the NAIC 

company number, reason for the extension, contact 

person, fax number, and the anticipated date of filing 

the report.  

What happens if I don’t meet the deadline?  You may be referred to TDI’s Enforcement Section for 

disciplinary actions.  

Are any reports published as a result of this data call?  Yes. The Texas Title Insurance Agent Experience  
Report Compilation for Calendar Year ____ and the 

Texas Title Insurance Industry Experience Report 

Compilation for Calendar Years _____- ______.  

 

 

  

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/title/index.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/title/index.html
mailto:DataCall@tdi.texas.gov
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Workers’ Compensation Insurance Data Collection [RETURN] 

1. Call for Detailed Claim Information (DCI) collects data on workers' compensation claims.  The 

information is used for research and medical cost containment purposes by the Division of 

Workers’ Compensation and the Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group.  

Under TIC §2053.151, all insurers or other entities authorized to write workers’ compensation 

insurance in Texas are required to file.  The first report is due six to nine months after the injury is 

reported to insurer.  Subsequent reports are to be filed annually from the 6th month valuation 

date until the claim is closed, no longer has indemnity or medical losses to report, or reaches the 

12th reporting level, whichever comes first.  

DCI data must adhere to the reporting requirements found in the Texas Detailed Claim Information 

Statistical Plan.   

2. Unit Statistical Information (Unit Stat) is collected and maintained for every workers' 

compensation policy written in Texas.  The data is used in developing job classification 

relativities, expected loss rates, and ratios for use by the industry.    

 

Under TIC §2053.101, all insurers or other entities licensed to and currently writing workers’ 

compensation in Texas are required to file the first report 18 months after the effective date of the 

policy.  For policies with losses, subsequent reports must be filed up through the 5th reporting level 

or until all claims are closed, whichever comes first.  

Unit Statistical Data must adhere to the reporting requirements found in the Texas Workers’ 

Compensation Statistical Plan.  

3. Texas Workers’ Compensation Financial Call (TXWCFC) collects data from individual 

insurance companies licensed to write workers’ compensation.  The data is used for analyses of 

premium and loss trends and market conditions. 

In accord with TIC §§2053.101 and 5.96, all workers’ compensation insurers who have written 

workers’ compensation policies in one or more of the past 15 policy years are required to file.  

Reports are automatically due April 1 of each year.  Please contact TDI’s Designated Statistical 

Agent, listed below, for copies of reporting requirements.  

 

Financial call data must adhere to the reporting requirements provided in NCCI’s Financial Call 

Reporting Guidebook available on http://www.ncci.com/.  

 

For information related to statistical plans and reporting data, direct inquiries to the NCCI, TDI designated 

statistical agent, customer service at 800-NCCI-123.  

 

For information related to the reporting requirements, including exemptions and extensions, direct inquiries 

to: 

 

TDI Data Services 

Texas Department of Insurance 

Property and Casualty Actuarial Office – Data Services Team, MC 105-5D 

P.O. Box 149104  

Austin, TX  78714-9104  

Phone:  (512) 676-6690  

Fax:  (512) 490-1062  

Email address:  DataCall@tdi.texas.gov  

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/dci-2010.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/dci-2010.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/dci-2010.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/dci-2010.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/regulation/documents/unitstat.zip
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/regulation/documents/unitstat.zip
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/regulation/documents/unitstat.zip
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/regulation/documents/unitstat.zip
https://www.ncci.com/nccimain/pages/default.aspx
https://www.ncci.com/nccimain/pages/default.aspx
mailto:DataCall@tdi.texas.gov

