Disaster Recovery Guide
The Texas State Disaster Coalition -- a disaster response group formed by the Texas Department of Insurance, the Texas Division of Emergency Management, and the Institute for Business & Home Safety -- provides this reference page for the insurance industry to learn about disaster recovery and emergency management in Texas. Get more detailed information about each topic from the links below.
- State and local governments involved in emergency management
- Texas Department of Insurance’s role | TDI's Catastrophe Plan
Overviews and Guidelines
- TDEM Executive Guide
- State of Texas Emergency Management Plan
- Texas Responder Reentry Overview
- TDEM Situation Reports and daily briefings
- How is a disaster declared?
- State statutes (Texas Government Code citations start on page 31)
- Government Code Section 418.016 (signage for insurance carriers)
- What does it mean? The governor’s disaster declarations authorizes state agencies to spend resources necessary to respond to the disaster, and suspends statutes that may interfere with the disaster response (see sample below).
- State disaster declarations are posted in the Governor's Newsroom
Disaster Claim-Deadline Extension
The commissioner of insurance can extend the claim-handling deadlines in Insurance Code Sections 542.055-542.057 for an additional 15 days in the event of a weather-related catastrophe or major natural disaster, under Texas Insurance Code Section 542.059. See Chapter 542 here.
Specific requirements are in 28 Texas Administrative Code Section 5.9303, here.
Petitions: Insurers may petition the commissioner to consider a weather-related event a catastrophe or major natural disaster, when:
- The area in which the losses occur are defined by reasonable boundaries.
- Estimated total dollar losses are $5 million or more in the aggregate for all insurers.
- The estimated total number of claims are 3,000 or more in the aggregate for all insurers.
The estimated dollar losses and number of claims may include all lines of insurance.
An insurer can send a petition to the Texas Department of Insurance by email to CommercialPC@tdi.texas.gov, or by mail to Property and Casualty Lines Office, Mail Code 104-PC, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box, 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104.
The petition must include:
- type of losses,
- specific lines of insurance affected,
- location of the loss, specific time period of the event,
- insurer's total estimated dollar losses for insured property by line of business,
- insurer's total estimated number of claims by line of insurance, and
- a statement of the reasons the insurer cannot process claims within the statutory time periods.
For more information, contact:
Last updated: 12/13/2016