TexasSure - Financial Responsibility Verification Program Home
The State of Texas implemented a program that allows law enforcement officers and designated state users to immediately verify whether a vehicle is insured. The days of fraudulent or false proof of automobile insurance cards and dropping insurance coverage after receiving a valid insurance card are numbered.
Texas law states that a person may not operate a motor vehicle in this state unless financial responsibility is established for that vehicle. Most people do this by buying automobile liability insurance. The law currently requires minimum liability coverage of $30,000 per injured person, $60,000 for everyone injured in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage (30/60/25).
TexasSure, Texas' financial responsibility verification program, is a joint project mandated by the 79th Texas Legislature and developed by the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV), and the Texas Department of Information Resources (DIR). The goal: to reduce the number of uninsured motorists in Texas. An estimated 20% of all Texas vehicles are uninsured at any given time. Now, law enforcement officers and other state users have real-time immediate access to insurance information on a given vehicle at their fingertips.
If you have established financial responsibility through an automobile insurance policy, your insurance company will report that information to the state. No action is required on your part unless you are contacted. However, you may wish to verify that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) physically showing on your vehicle is the same as that shown on both your insurance policy and vehicle title and registration. Contact your insurance company if you notice any discrepancies.
Get Insured, Texas!
For more information contact:
Last updated: 05/20/2013