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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing was held on June 
12, 2013, with the record closing on June 24, 2013, in [City], Texas, with [hearing 
officer] presiding as hearing officer.  The hearing officer resolved the disputed issues by 
deciding that:  (1) per the parties’ stipulation, the date of injury, if any, is [date of injury]; 
(2) the appellant (claimant) did not sustain a compensable injury on [date of injury], 
while in the course and scope of his employment with respondent (self-insured); (3) 
since the claimant did not sustain a compensable injury on [date of injury], he had no 
disability; (4) the self-insured did not waive its right to contest compensability of the 
claimed [date of injury], injury; and (5) the self-insured did not fail to dispute or initiate 
payment of benefits within 15 days of the date it received written notice of the injury 
claimed herein.    

The claimant appealed, disputing the hearing officer’s determinations that:  (1) 
the claimant did not sustain a compensable injury on [date of injury]; (2) the claimant did 
not have disability; (3) the self-insured did not waive its right to contest compensability 
of the claimed [date of injury], injury; and (4) the self-insured did not fail to dispute or 
initiate payment of benefits within 15 days of the date it received written notice of the 
injury claimed herein.  The claimant argues that the self-insured failed to comply with 
the requirements of 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 124.3 (Rule 124.3).  The self-insured 
responded, urging affirmance of the disputed determinations. 

The hearing officer’s determination that per the parties’ stipulation, the date of 
injury, if any, is [date of injury], was not appealed and has become final pursuant to 
Section 410.169. 

DECISION 

Affirmed in part and reversed and rendered in part. 

The parties stipulated in part that:  (1) the date of injury, if any, is [date of injury]; 
(2) the self-insured received its first written notice of the claimed injury on September 
27, 2011; (3) the self-insured filed its Notice of Denial of Compensability/Liability and 
Refusal to Pay Benefits (PLN-1) with the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of 
Workers’ Compensation (Division) on November 23, 2011; and (4) the self-insured’s 60-
day window to timely contest compensability in this claim expired on November 28, 
2011.  The claimant testified that he injured his low back when he lost his footing while 
going down some stairs while carrying a pump.   
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COMPENSABLE INJURY 

The hearing officer’s determination that the claimant did not sustain a 
compensable injury on [date of injury], while in the course and scope of his employment 
is supported by sufficient evidence and is affirmed. 

DISABILITY 

The hearing officer’s determination that since the claimant did not sustain a 
compensable injury on [date of injury], he had no disability is supported by sufficient 
evidence and is affirmed. 

WAIVER PURSUANT TO SECTION 409.021 

The hearing officer’s determination that the self-insured did not waive its right to 
contest compensability of the claimed [date of injury], injury is supported by sufficient 
evidence and is affirmed. 

RULE 124.3 

Rule 124.3(a)(2) provides that if the carrier files a notice of denial after the 15th 
day but on or before the 60th day after receipt of written notice of the injury, the 
insurance carrier is liable for and shall pay all income benefits that had accrued and 
were payable prior to the date the carrier filed the notice of denial and only then is it 
permitted to suspend payment of benefits and the insurance carrier is liable for and 
shall pay for all medical services, in accordance with the Act and rules, provided prior to 
the filing of the notice of denial.   

The self-insured contends in its response that “[a]s of the date the 15-day period 
expired in this case (October 12, 2011), [the] [c]laimant had not missed a single day of 
work due to his alleged injury [emphasis added] and had not sought medical 
treatment for his alleged injury.”   

In Appeals Panel Decision (APD) 002220-s, decided November 7, 2000, the 
Appeals Panel held that in accordance with Rule 124.3(a)(2), the carrier is liable for the 
benefits that accrued “without regard to the ultimate determination of the compensability 
of the injury.”1  In APD 021558, decided August 7, 2002, the Appeals Panel cited APD 
012101-s, decided, October 22, 2001, and stated that if a carrier’s notice of denial is 

1 We note that Rule 124.3(a)(1) and (2) were amended to change the time for carriers to contest compensability of a 
claim or begin benefit payments from a 7-day period to 15 days in accordance with revised Section 409.021.  See 29 
TexReg 2322.  Additionally, Rule 124.3(f) provides in part, the 15-day time frame applies to a claim for benefits based 
on a compensable injury occurring on or after September 1, 2003. 
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filed between 7 and 60 days after receipt of written notice of injury, the carrier “is liable 
for and shall pay all benefits that had accrued and were payable prior to the date the 
carrier filed the notice of denial.”  Further, in that case the Appeals Panel stated that the 
holding of APD 012101-s was that a carrier is liable for benefits under Rule 124.3(a) as 
of the date of injury. 

As previously noted, the parties stipulated that the self-insured received its first 
written notice of the claimed injury on September 27, 2011, and the self-insured filed its 
PLN-1 with the Division on November 23, 2011.  Therefore, it is undisputed that the self-
insured filed a notice of denial after the 15th day but before the 60th day after receipt of 
written notice of the injury.  Pursuant to Rule 124.3, the carrier is liable for the payment 
of accrued benefits.  Accordingly, we reverse the hearing officer’s determination that the 
self-insured did not fail to dispute or initiate payment of benefits within 15 days of the 
date it received written notice of the injury claimed herein and render a new 
determination that the self-insured is liable for the payment of accrued benefits pursuant 
to Rule 124.3.  We reverse the hearing officer’s order that the self-insured is not liable 
for compensation and render a new order that the self-insured is ordered to pay benefits 
in accordance with this decision, the 1989 Act, and the Commissioner’s Rules. 

SUMMARY 

We affirm the hearing officer’s determination that the claimant did not sustain a 
compensable injury on [date of injury], while in the course and scope of his employment. 

We affirm the hearing officer’s determination that since the claimant did not 
sustain a compensable injury on [date of injury], he had no disability. 

We affirm the hearing officer’s determination that the self-insured did not waive 
its right to contest compensability of the claimed [date of injury], injury. 

We reverse the hearing officer’s determination that the self-insured did not fail to 
dispute or initiate payment of benefits within 15 days of the date it received written 
notice of the injury claimed herein and render a new determination that the self-insured 
is liable for the payment of accrued benefits pursuant to Rule 124.3.  We reverse the 
hearing officer’s order that the self-insured is not liable for compensation and render a 
new order that the self-insured is ordered to pay benefits in accordance with this 
decision, the 1989 Act, and the Commissioner’s Rules. 
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The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is (a governmental entity self-
insured through T.A.S.B. Risk Management Fund) and the name and address of its 
registered agent for service of process is 

SUPERINTENDENT 
[ADDRESS] 

[CITY], TEXAS [ZIP CODE]. 

Margaret L. Turner 
Appeals Judge

CONCUR: 

Veronica L. Ruberto 
Appeals Judge 

Carisa Space-Beam 
Appeals Judge
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