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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held 
on December 2, 2010.  The issues before the hearing officer were: 

 
1. Does the compensable injury of _____________, extend to the 

diagnosis of right shoulder impingement syndrome? 
 

2. Did the appellant (claimant) have disability from the compensable 
injury of _____________, from January 30, 2008, to the present? 
 

3. What is the average weekly wage (AWW)? 
 

The hearing officer determined that:  (1) the compensable injury of 
_____________, does not extend to right shoulder impingement syndrome; (2) the 
claimant sustained disability beginning January 30, 2008, and continuing through the 
date of the CCH (December 2, 2010); and (3) the AWW is “the minimum [AWW] 
applicable to the injury at the time it occurred.” 

 
The claimant appealed the hearing officer’s extent of injury and AWW 

determinations.  The respondent (carrier) responded, urging affirmance.  
 

The hearing officer’s disability determination has not been appealed and has 
become final pursuant to Section 410.169.  

 
DECISION 

 
 Affirmed in part and reversed and remanded in part.   
 
 The parties stipulated that the claimant suffered a compensable injury on 
_____________.  We note that a review of the record shows that the parties also 
stipulated that (Dr. K) was appointed by the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of 
Workers’ Compensation (Division) to determine the extent of the claimant’s 
compensable injury although the hearing officer failed to include the stipulation in his 
decision and order.  The claimant testified that he slipped and fell on a roof at work, 
injuring his left knee and right shoulder. 
 

EXTENT OF INJURY 
 

 The hearing officer’s determination that the compensable injury of 
_____________, does not extend to right shoulder impingement syndrome is supported 
by sufficient evidence and is affirmed. 
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AWW 
 

 Section 408.041(a) provides that a full-time employee’s AWW shall be 
determined by dividing the wages from the 13 weeks preceding the compensable injury 
by 13.  See also 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 128.3(d) (Rule 128.3(d)).  If a full-time 
employee did not work for the employer for the 13 weeks preceding the compensable 
injury, the AWW is calculated using “the usual wage that the employer pays a similar 
employee for similar services.”  Sections 408.041(b)(1) and 408.041(b)(2); Rule 
128.3(e).  If neither of the foregoing methods can “reasonably be applied,” because the 
employee has lost time from work during the 13-week period immediately preceding the 
injury because of illness, weather, or another cause beyond the control of the employee, 
the AWW is determined “by any method” that the Division considers “fair, just, and 
reasonable to all parties and consistent with the methods established under [the 1989 
Act].”  Section 408.041(c); Rule 128.3(g).  
  
 In the Background Information section of the decision and order, the hearing 
officer stated: 
 

The [c]laimant argues that he was told that the job he was placed on had 
the potential for continued roofing work, and AWW should not be based on 
his only 9 hours work at basically minimum wage.  He also testified that 
the work he was doing as a roofer would pay $9.50 or more per hour and, 
since he worked on the roof that day, his future expected earning[s] would 
be a $9.50 per hour or more.  There is no other evidence to support these 
contentions.  It amounts only to a supposition or potential, without any 
support in fact.  The job to which the [c]laimant was referred was a 
temporary position with only the day of work involved.  He had no 
permanent position and no evidence of a realistic potential for work 
beyond the day of injury.  A fair, just, and reasonable method of 
calculating the [c]laimant’s AWW is to take his one day of earnings as his 
only expected earnings. 

 
We agree that under the facts of this case, the calculation of AWW is not based on the 
claimant’s contentions that he could potentially earn $9.50 per hour or more.   
 

The claimant testified that he was hired as a laborer.  The client estimated that 
his wage was $5.65 per hour.  The claimant testified that he had not worked for the 
employer the preceding three months before the date of his work injury.  The claimant 
further testified that he was injured on his second day of work.  There is in evidence an 
Employer’s First Report of Injury or Illness (DWC-1) reflecting that the claimant was paid 
$48.83 for 9 hours of work.  Also in evidence is a Labor Ready Accident/Injury Report 
reflecting that the claimant was paid $5.85 per hour.  As previously mentioned, the 
claimant was injured at work on _____________.  In evidence is an Employer’s Wage 
Statement (DWC-3) providing that for the period of January 26 through February 1, 
2008 (week 1), the claimant worked 9 hours for a total of $52.65 gross wages earned.  
We agree with the hearing officer’s analysis that the claimant worked for the employer 
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less than the 13 consecutive weeks immediately preceding the injury.  There is no 
evidence of the usual and customary wage paid by the employer to a similar employee 
for similar services.  There is no evidence of the usual wage in the vicinity of the 
claimant’s employment for the same or similar services.   

 
We agree with the hearing officer’s analysis that the AWW is determined by any 

method that the Division considers fair, just, and reasonable to all parties and consistent 
with the methods established under Section 408.041(c) and Rule 128.3(g).  However, 
the hearing officer erred in failing to make findings of fact, conclusions of law, and a 
decision and order that explained how he calculated the claimant’s AWW by a method 
fair, just, and reasonable to the parties and that specified an amount for the AWW.  
Accordingly, we reverse the hearing officer’s determination that the AWW is the 
minimum AWW applicable to the injury at the time it occurred as an incomplete decision 
and remand the AWW issue to the hearing officer.  On remand, the hearing officer is to 
make findings of fact, conclusions of law, and a decision and order on the AWW issue in 
dispute consistent with the evidence and this decision.      
 

Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in this 
case.  However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a new decision 
and order by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from such new decision 
must file a request for review not later than 15 days after the date on which such new 
decision is received from the Division, pursuant to Section 410.202 which was amended 
June 17, 2001, to exclude Saturdays and Sundays and holidays listed in Section 
662.003 of the Texas Government Code in the computation of the 15-day appeal and 
response periods.  See Appeals Panel Decision 060721, decided June 12, 2006.   
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 The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is THE INSURANCE 
COMPANY OF THE STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA and the name and address of its 
registered agent for service of process is 
 

CORPORATION SERVICE COMPANY 
211 EAST 7TH STREET, SUITE 620 

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701-3232. 
 
 
 
        ____________________ 

Cynthia A. Brown  
 Appeals Judge  

 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Thomas A. Knapp 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Carisa Space-Beam 
Appeals Judge 


