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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held 
on January 4, 2005 (hearing officer 1) presiding as hearing officer.  The hearing officer 
resolved the disputed issue by deciding that because the compensable injury of 
______________, aggravated the preexisting degenerative disc disease of the lumbar 
spine, the compensable injury of ______________, extends to and includes 
degenerative disc disease of the lumbar spine and that respondent 2 (self-insured) did 
not waive the right to contest that the compensable injury includes degenerative disc 
disease of the lumbar spine by not timely contesting the extent of injury in accordance 
with Section 409.021.  On January 19, 2005, a second hearing officer, (hearing officer 
2), signed a Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Order for Attorney’s Fees on 
January 19, 2005, approving 2.75 of the 6.75 hours requested for attorney’s fees and 
approving the 2.00 hours requested for legal assistant’s time.  The appellant (attorney) 
appeals and requests that she be awarded an additional $600.00 for the 4 excluded 
hours in attorney fees.  The appeal file does not contain a response from either 
respondent 1 (claimant) or the self-insured. 
 

DECISION 
 
 Reversed and rendered. 
 
 We review attorney’s fees cases under an abuse-of-discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.  
The attorney requested a total of 6.75 hours, 1.75 of which was approved for travel 
time.  Under the heading “Formal Resolution:  Benefit Review Conference” (although it 
is clear from the dates requested the request for time was for “Formal Resolution:  
[CCH]”), 4.0 of the 5.0 hours requested were for preparation and the remaining 1.0 hour 
for attendance at the hearing.  The Attorney Fee Processing System (AFPS) printout 
reflects that the hearing officer granted 1.0 hour, but denied the remaining 4.0 hours for 
the following reason “ExGuideline/Unreasonabl.”  The AFPS does not reflect any further 
explanation by the hearing officer for the denial.  Tex. W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 152.4(c) (Rule 152.4(c)) provides that for participation at the hearing, the 
actual time in the hearing plus 4.0 hours are allowed.  The hearing officer, therefore, 
abused his discretion in excluding the 4.0 requested hours on the basis that they 
exceeded the guidelines as they are, in fact, allowed by the guidelines. 
 
 Hearing officer 2’s order on Attorney’s Fees is reversed and a new decision is 
rendered approving the 4.00 hours excluded for a total of approved hours of 6.75 for 
attorney’s time and 2.00 for legal assistant’s time, a total of $1,112.50. 
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 The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is (a self-insured 
governmental entity) and the name and address of its registered agent for service of 
process is 
 

(NAME) 
(ADDRESS) 

(CITY), TEXAS (ZIP CODE). 
 
 
 
        ____________________ 
        Margaret L. Turner 

Appeals Judge 
 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Robert W. Potts 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Veronica L. Ruberto 
Appeals Judge 


