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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing was held on 
October 14, 2004.  The hearing officer resolved the disputed issues by deciding that the 
respondent (claimant) reached maximum medical improvement on April 28, 2004, and 
that the claimant’s impairment rating is eight percent.  The appellant (self-insured) 
appealed, arguing that the hearing officer’s decision should be reversed because the 
great weight of the medical evidence does not exceed the weight afforded to the 
designated doctor’s report.  The appeal file does not contain a response from the 
claimant. 
 

DECISION 
 
 A timely appeal not having been filed, the decision and order of the hearing 
officer have become final pursuant to Section 410.169. 
 
 In its appeal, the self-insured does not acknowledge the date the decision and 
order was received but rather states “it is presumed that the Order was received on 
October 25, 2004, and therefore, this appeal is due Monday, November 15, 2004, which 
is 15 days after October 25, 2004, without regard to weekends and holidays.”  Section 
410.202 and Tex. W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 143.3(e) (Rule 143.3(e)), 
require that an appeal, to be timely, must be filed or mailed not later than the 15th day 
after the date of receipt of the hearing officer’s decision and received by the Texas 
Workers’ Compensation Commission (Commission) not later than the 20th day after the 
date of receipt of the hearing officer’s decision.  Section 410.202 was amended June 
17, 2001, to exclude Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays listed in Section 662.003 of the 
Texas Government Code in the computation of the 15-day appeal and response 
periods.   
 
 In Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission v. Harris, 132 S.W.3d 139, (Tex. 
App.-Houston [14th Dist.] 2004, no pet.), the 14th Court of Appeals held that the self-
insured’s appeal was timely under the provisions of Rule 102.5(d).  In Harris County, 
supra, the self-insured disputed that the Decision reflected it was received by the (City) 
representative, despite its signed acknowledgment, because the notice did not bear the 
Commission’s date stamp showing the date it was placed in the box of the (County 1) 
designated (City) representative.  Rule 156.1(a) provides that each insurance carrier 
shall designate a person in (City), (County 2), Texas as its representative to the 
Commission, to act as agent for receiving notice from the Commission.  Commission 
Advisory 93-11, signed November 4, 1993, provides in part that all documents and 
notices that are required to be provided by the Commission to carriers will be placed in 
the carrier’s (City) representative box in the central office and that notice to the carrier 
for all purposes will be established by this notification.  While the court in the Harris 
County case discussed the provisions of Rule 156.1, it does not appear that they were 
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made aware of Advisory 93-11 or of the Commission’s procedure to require signed 
receipt of the Decision and Order by the carrier’s (City) representative.  See Texas 
Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 041253-s, decided July 21, 2004.  
 
 In the instant case, records of the Commission show that the decision was 
signed for by the self-insured’s (City) representative on October 20, 2004.  Therefore, 
the self-insured received the hearing officer’s decision on October 20, 2004, when its 
(City) representative signed for it.  Using the self-insured’s receipt date of October 20, 
2004, the self-insured’s request for review should have been mailed or filed no later 
than November 10, 2004.   
 
 The instant case is further distinguishable from the timeliness issue decided by 
the 14th Court of Appeals in Harris County, supra.  The Commission records reflect that 
the case was distributed to the parties on October 20, 2004, and the cover sheet bears 
a Commission stamp clearly identifying the date the decision was placed in the self-
insured’s (City) representative box on October 20, 2004.  Rule 143.3(d)(2) provides that 
the Commission shall deem that the parties received the hearing officer’s decision the 
first working day after the date the written communication was placed in a carrier’s (City) 
representative box located at the Commission’s main office in (City) unless the great 
weight of evidence indicates otherwise.  Using the self-insured’s receipt date of October 
21, 2004, the next business day after it was placed in its (City) representative’s box, the 
self-insured’s request for review must have been mailed or filed no later than November 
12, 2004. 
 
 The self-insured’s appeal was received by the Commission’s Chief Clerk of 
Proceedings on November 18, 2004, by mail.  Both the cover letter and the envelope in 
which it was mailed reflect that it was not sent until November 15, 2004.  Using either 
calculation method discussed above, the self-insured’s request for review is late not 
having been mailed or filed by the 15th day after the date of receipt excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays listed in Section 662.003 of the Texas Government 
Code. 
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The appeal being untimely, the jurisdiction of the Appeals Panel was not properly 
invoked, and the decision and order of the hearing officer have become final under 
Section 410.169. 

 
 The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is (a self-insured 
governmental entity) and the name and address of its registered agent for service of 
process is 
 

CITY SECRETARY 
(ADDRESS) 

(CITY), TEXAS (ZIP CODE). 
 
 
 
        ____________________ 
        Margaret L. Turner 

Appeals Judge 
 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Thomas A. Knapp 
Appeals Judge 
 
CONCURRING OPINION: 
 
 Based on a deemed receipt date of October 21, 2004, which was the first 
working day after the hearing officer’s decision was placed in the self-insured’s (City) 
representative’s box, the appeal had to be mailed by November 12, 2004, but was not 
mailed until November 15, 2004.  Accordingly, the self-insured’s appeal was not timely 
filed with the Commission.  See Section 410.202(a) and Rules 102.5(d), Rule 
143.3(d)(2), and Rule 143.3(e). 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Robert W. Potts 
Appeals Judge 
 


