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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held 
on November 25, 2003.  The hearing officer resolved the disputed issue by deciding 
that death benefits are payable to the appellant (claimant) for 364 weeks as an eligible 
dependent stepchild of the decedent.  The claimant appeals, contending that the 
hearing officer erred in limiting the duration of his death benefits to 364 weeks under 
Section 408.183(e) rather than awarding the duration periods specified in Sections 
408.183(c) and (d).  The respondent (carrier) asserts that the hearing officer’s decision 
is correct and requests affirmance. 
 

DECISION 
 
 Affirmed. 
 
 In Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 981280, decided July 
29, 1998, the Appeals Panel reversed and remanded a prior CCH decision that 
determined that the claimant’s mother and the claimant are the proper legal 
beneficiaries of the decedent.  The CCH decision on remand, which was issued on 
September 4, 1998, determined that the claimant’s mother and the claimant are the 
proper legal beneficiaries of the decedent because, at the time of the decedent’s death, 
the claimant’s mother was the decedent’s common-law wife and the claimant was a 
dependent of the decedent.  The CCH decision on remand was not appealed to the 
Appeals Panel. 
 
 The disputed issue before the hearing officer in the present case was for what 
duration should benefits be payable to the claimant as an eligible dependent stepchild 
of the decedent?  The parties stipulated that the decedent died on ______________, as 
a result of a compensable injury; that at the time of the decedent’s death, the decedent 
was married, through a common-law marriage, to the claimant’s mother; that the 
claimant is the son of the claimant’s mother from a prior marriage; that the claimant was 
born on (date of birth); that the claimant was not adopted by the decedent; and that the 
claimant was the decedent’s dependent at the time of the decedent’s death.  It is 
undisputed that at the time of the decedent’s death, the claimant was the dependent 
stepson of the decedent.  It is also undisputed that the claimant does not have a mental 
or physical disability. 
 
 Section 401.011(7) defines “child” as “a son or daughter.  The term includes an 
adopted child or a stepchild who is a dependent of the employee.” 
 
 Section 408.182 is entitled “Distribution of Death Benefits,” and subsection (f) 
provides as follows: 
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 (f) In this section: 
 

 (1) “Eligible child” means a child of a deceased employee if the child is: 
 

(A)  a minor; 
 

(B)  enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited educational 
institution and is less than 25 years of age; or 

 
(C)  a dependent of the deceased employee at the time of the 

employee’s death. 
 

Section 408.183 is entitled “Duration of Death Benefits,” and subsections (c), (d), 
and (e) provide as follows: 
 

(c) A child who is eligible for death benefits because the child is a minor 
on the date of the employee’s death is entitled to receive benefits until 
the child attains the age of 18. 

 
(d) A child eligible for death benefits under Subsection (c) who at age 18 is 

enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited educational institution or 
a child who is eligible for death benefits because on the date of the 
employee’s death the child is enrolled as a full-time student in an 
accredited educational institution is entitled to receive or to continue to 
receive, as appropriate, benefits until the earliest of: 

 
(1) the date the child ceases, for a second consecutive semester, to be 

enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited educational 
institution; 

 
(2) the date the child attains the age of 25; or 

 
(3) the date the child dies. 

 
(e) A child who is eligible for death benefits because the child is a 

dependent of the deceased employee on the date of the employee’s 
death is entitled to receive benefits until the earlier of: 

 
(1) the date the child dies; or 

 
(2) if the child is dependent: 

 
(A) because the child is an individual with a physical or mental 

disability, the date the child no longer has the disability; or 
 



 

 
 
033232-sr.doc 

3 

(B) because of a reason other than a physical or mental disability, 
the date of the expiration of 364 weeks of death benefit 
payments. 

 
Tex. W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 132.4 (Rule 132.4), effective 

January 1, 1991, is entitled “Eligibility of a Child to Receive Death Benefits,” and 
subsection (d) provides as follows: 
 

(d) A person claiming benefits as the dependent stepchild of the deceased 
employee shall prove that the employee was married to a parent of the 
claimant, and must also establish dependent status as set out in § 
132.2 of this title (relating to Determination of Facts of Dependent 
Status). 

 
 Rule 132.8, effective January 1, 1991, is entitled “Duration of Death Benefits for 
an Eligible Child.”  The preamble to Rule 132.8 at 15 Tex. Reg. 7023 (1990) states: 
 

New § 132.8 explains how long a child who receives death benefits will be 
paid, based upon the child’s reason for being eligible for benefits. 

 
 Rule 132.8(a) pertains to a child who is eligible to receive death benefits because 
the child is a minor on the date of the employee’s death.  Rule 132.8(b) pertains to a 
child who is eligible to receive death benefits as a full-time student at an accredited 
educational institution on the date of the employee’s death or on the child’s 18th 
birthday.  Rule 132.8(d) pertains to a child who is eligible to receive death benefits 
because the child had a mental or physical handicap and was dependent on the 
employee because of the handicap on the date of the employee’s death.  Rule 132.8(f) 
provides as follows: 
 

(f) A child, who is otherwise eligible to receive benefits because the child 
was dependent on the employee on the date of the employee’s death, 
is entitled to receive benefits until the earlier of: 

 
(1) the date on which the child dies; or 

 
(2) the expiration of 364 weeks of death benefit payments. 

 
In Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 941246, decided 

November 2, 1994, the Appeals Panel affirmed a hearing officer’s decision that a 
deceased employee’s stepchildren were not the decedent’s legal beneficiaries under 
the 1989 Act because the stepchildren had failed to prove their dependency status, 
which was “the threshold requirement for establishing entitlement to death benefits.”  In 
Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 002112, decided October 19, 
2000, the Appeals Panel stated “a nonbiological or non-adoptive child of an injured 
worker may only recover benefits if that person is a dependent stepchild of the 
deceased.” 



 

 
 
033232-sr.doc 

4 

In the instant case, the hearing officer stated in the Discussion section of his 
decision that: 
 

Under the Act, § 401.011(7), “child” includes a stepchild who is a 
dependent of the employee.  Under the stipulated facts, [claimant] is such 
a stepchild.  An eligible child, pursuant to Act § 408.182(f), can fit into one 
of three categories:  a minor, an under-25 student, or a dependent at the 
time of death.  The next section, § 408.183, determines the duration of 
death benefits.  Such duration depends on the category of the child---
minor, student or dependent. 
 
In this case, [claimant] was a stepchild of the deceased, and he was a 
minor, but he did not get his eligibility for benefits from his minority, but 
rather from his status as a dependent.  As a dependent, his eligibility for 
death benefits extended, pursuant to § 408.183(e)(2)(B), until the date of 
expiration of 364 weeks of death benefit payments. 

 
 The claimant asserts that because Section 401.011(7) includes in the definition 
of “child” a stepchild who is dependent on the employee, he, as a dependent stepchild, 
is a “child” for all purposes of the 1989 Act and, therefore, is an eligible child under 
Section 408.182(f) as both a minor and a dependent and his death benefits should have 
been awarded until his 18th birthday or as long as he is a full-time student and has not 
turned 25 pursuant to Sections 408.183(c) and (d).  We disagree with the claimant’s 
contention because his eligibility for death benefits is not because he was a minor on 
the date of the decedent’s death, which he was; rather his eligibility for death benefits is 
because he was a dependent of the decedent on the date the decedent died.  We do 
not read Section 401.011(7), which defines “child,” as abrogating the specific provision 
contained in Section 408.183(e), which pertains to “a child who is eligible for death 
benefits because the child is a dependent of the deceased employee on the date of the 
employee’s death….”  As previously noted, the preamble to Rule 132.8 (relating to the 
Duration of Death Benefits for an Eligible Child), states that Rule 132.8 explains how 
long a child who receives death benefits will be paid, based upon the child’s reason for 
being eligible.  Since the reason the claimant was eligible for death benefits was 
because he was a dependent stepchild of the decedent on the date of the decedent’s 
death, Section 408.183(e) and Rule 132.8(f) apply and, therefore, we perceive no error 
in the hearing officer’s decision that death benefits are payable to the claimant for 364 
weeks as an eligible dependent stepchild of the deceased. 
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The hearing officer’s decision and order are affirmed. 
 

The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is TEXAS PROPERTY & 
CASUALTY INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION for Reliance National 
Indemnity Company, an impaired carrier and the name and address of its registered 
agent for service of process is 
 

MARVIN KELLY, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 
9120 BURNET ROAD 

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78758. 
 
 
 
        ____________________ 
        Robert W. Potts 

Appeals Judge 
 
CONCUR: 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Gary L. Kilgore 
Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
____________________ 
Margaret L. Turner 
Appeals Judge 


