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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing was held on
June 12, 2003. The hearing officer determined that: (1) the appellant (claimant)
sustained a compensable injury on ; and (2) the claimant had disability
from November 16, 2002, through March 3, 2003. The claimant appeals the disability
determination on sufficiency of the evidence grounds, asserting that disability began on
June 24, 2002. The respondent (carrier) filed a brief, stating as its position that the
claimant did not sustain a compensable injury and did not have disability. The carrier’s
brief was not timely filed as an appeal and, therefore, will not be considered as such. In
the absence of a timely appeal of the hearing officer's injury determination, such
determination has become final. Section 410.169.

DECISION
Reversed and remanded.

The claimant attached additional evidence to her appeal which would purportedly
show that she had disability beginning June 24, 2002. Documents submitted for the first
time on appeal are generally not considered unless they constitute newly discovered
evidence. See generally Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No.
93111, decided March 29, 1993; Black v. Wills, 758 S.W.2d 809 (Tex. App.-Dallas
1988, no writ). Upon our review, the evidence does not meet the requirements for
newly discovered evidence because it was not shown that the documents could not
have been obtained prior to the hearing below. Accordingly, such documents will not be
considered for the first time on appeal.

The claimant sustained a compensable injury, which included her low back, on
. The claimant testified that she began losing time from work on June
24, 2002, due to her compensable low back injury. She testified that she missed
approximately three to four weeks in June and July 2002. She returned to limited hours,
approximately 4 to 6 hours per day, in July and August 2002. The claimant testified that
she worked intermittently, approximately 30 to 40 hours per week, from August to
November 15, 2002. The claimant attempted to return to full-time work in September
2002. She testified that she could do her job but had difficulty sitting all day due to her
injury. She testified that her doctor limited her to work "as tolerated." On November 15,
2002, the claimant’s position was eliminated and she was laid off. The claimant testified
that she has not returned to work since that time. She testified that her treating doctor
took her off work on January 29, 2003, and again on March 3, 2003. The medical
records show that the claimant was taken off-work on March 3, 2003, for an indefinite
period. The claimant testified that she was released to return to work sometime in
March 2003, and has been looking for work since that time. During the period that the
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claimant continued working for her employer, from June 24, 2003, through November
15, 2003, the claimant earned less than her preinjury wage due to reduced hours.

The hearing officer erred in determining that the claimant did not have disability
prior to November 16, 2002. Disability means the inability to obtain and retain
employment at wages equivalent to the preinjury wage because of a compensable
injury. Section 401.011(16). We have said that a light-duty or conditional work release
is evidence that disability continues. Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission
Appeal No. 91045, decided November 21, 1991. The hearing officer's determination
that the claimant had disability beginning November 16, 2002, clearly implies that she
believed that the claimant was restricted from full-time work at that time. In the absence
of evidence that the claimant’'s work restrictions began on November 16, 2002, we
conclude that the hearing officer's determination is so against the great weight and
preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain v.
Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176 (Tex. 1986). Accordingly, we reverse the hearing officer’s
disability determination, with regard to the date disability began, and remand for further
consideration of the evidence previously admitted.

Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in this
case. However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a new decision
and order by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from such new decision
must file a request for review not later than 15 days after the date on which such new
decision is received from the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission's Division of
Hearings, pursuant to Section 410.202 which was amended June 17, 2001, to exclude
Saturdays and Sundays and holidays listed in Section 662.003 of the Texas
Government Code in the computation of the 15-day appeal and response periods. See
Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 92642, decided January 20,
1993.
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The true corporate name of the insurance carrier is TEXAS MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY and the name and address of its registered agent for service
of process is

MR. RUSSELL R. OLIVER, PRESIDENT
221 WEST 6TH STREET
AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701.

Edward Vilano
Appeals Judge

CONCUR:

Judy L. S. Barnes
Appeals Judge

Robert W. Potts
Appeals Judge
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