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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing was held on June
27, 2001.  The issue at the hearing was whether the respondent’s (claimant) compensable
injury of __________, extended to and included her lumbar spine and L4-5 herniated
nucleus pulposus (HNP).  The hearing officer determined that the compensable injury
extended to the lumbar spine and L4-5 HNP.  The respondent (carrier) had filed an appeal
in that case, asserting that the evidence was insufficient to support the hearing officer’s
determination.  The Appeals Panel affirmed, finding that the evidence sufficiently
supported the hearing officer’s determination.  Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission
Appeal No. 011711, decided September 4, 2001.  

On September 5, 2001, the hearing officer issued a [Texas Workers’ Compensation]
Commission Order for Attorney’s Fees (Order 1), covering services by the attorney for
carrier from June 1, 2001, through June 27, 2001, approving 8.65 hours of the 28.30 hours
requested for a total of $729.50 of the $2,045.63 requested.  The hours requested included
paralegal support.  The hearing officer did not approve the expenses requested in the
amount of $54.63.  The appellant (attorney) appeals, contending that the fees requested
were reasonably necessary.

On September 24, 2001, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for
Attorney’s Fees (Order 2) covering services from July 10, 2001, through July 31, 2001,
approving 1.2 hours of the 3.5 hours requested for a total of $105.50 of the $422.94
requested.  The hours requested included paralegal support.  The hearing officer did not
approve the $74.44 of expenses requested.  Attorney appeals, contending that the fees
and expenses requested were reasonable and necessary.

Attorney asks that the Appeals Panel approve all of the denied fees.  The appeal
file contains no response from claimant or carrier.

DECISION

We affirm in part and reverse and render in part.

Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 152.3(a) (Rule 152.3(a)) provides
that to claim a fee, an attorney representing any party shall submit written evidence of the
attorney's time and expenses on an Application for Attorney's Fees (TWCC-152).  Section
408.222 provides that in determining whether a defense counsel's fee is reasonable, the
Commission shall consider issues analogous to those listed under Section 408.221(d),
which pertains to a claimant's counsel.  In considering whether a defense counsel's fee is
reasonable and necessary, the Commission shall consider the attorney's fee guidelines set
out in Rule 152.4. 
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The standard for reviewing a hearing officer's determination of attorney's fees is an
abuse of discretion standard.  See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No.
92481, decided October 21, 1992 (Unpublished); Texas Workers' Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 92375, decided September 14, 1992.  To obtain reversal based
on an abuse of discretion standard, some showing must be made that the determination
is arbitrary or without any basis in the record, that is, that the hearing officer acted without
reference to any guiding rules and principles.  Texas Workers' Compensation Commission
Appeal No. 951762, decided December 7, 1995.

In his appeal, Attorney recites the services performed and requests that the award
of attorney’s fees be increased by an additional $1,316.13 for Order 1 and an additional
$317.44 for Order 2.  

Four expense items in Order 1 totaling $54.63 for cost of records and two expense
items in Order 2 totaling $74.44 for cost of records were disapproved for the reason
“Service Provided Unclear.”  Rule 152.5(a) provides that the TWCC-152 must include an
itemized list of expenses incurred, clearly identifying the nature of the expense.  Attorney
did not include such an itemized list.  While Rule 152.5(b)(3) allows the cost of records
necessary to prepare or present a claim or defense, Rule 152.5(c)(2) provides that the
Commission shall not allow, as attorney expenses, overhead costs of operating a law
office, including copies, fax,  telecopier, postage, and shipping.  The justification text
provided no detailed explanation of the expenses requested.  The burden of proof is on the
attorney to show his entitlement to the requested fees and expenses.  We conclude that
the denial of the expenses on this basis was not an abuse of discretion.  

The guidelines allow for 2.5 hours for communications each month.  Rule
152.4(c)(2). Eighteen of the telephone conference entries of Order 1 were disallowed for
“Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl[e]” and two entries for telephone conferences of Order 1 were
disallowed for “Multiple Reasons.”  The hearing officer approved 2.4 hours for
communications.  

While we generally do not consider reasons for denial such as "Multiple Reasons"
to be sufficient for our review, the hearing officer's log text and the other documents in the
file provide a sufficient basis for us to review the order to determine if there was an abuse
of discretion.  The hearing officer’s log stated that this case was neither factually nor legally
complex and that it was not reasonable to exceed the guidelines.  The denial of these
items by the hearing officer was not an abuse of discretion.

In the application for attorney’s fees applicable to Order 2, Attorney requested
approval of 3.5 hours but incorrectly used the code for a contested case hearing.  The
justification supplied by Attorney as well as the dates of service indicate the services were
for participation in the administrative appeal process and the amount of time spent is less
than that allowed by the guidelines.  The guidelines allow 5.00 hours for participation in the
administrative appeal process.  Rule 152.4(c)(7).  Denying 2.3 of the hours requested was
an abuse of discretion.  Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 972304,
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decided December 22, 1997 (unpublished). 

We reverse that part of Order 2 that denied 2.3 hours requested by Attorney and
render a decision approving an additional 2.3 hours.  In all other respects, we affirm Order
1 and Order 2. 

                                          
Judy L. S. Barnes
Appeals Judge

CONCUR:

                                         
Michael B. McShane
Appeals Judge

                                        
Philip F. O’Neill
Appeals Judge


