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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. 8§ 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
August 15, 2001. The hearing officer resolved the disputed issue by determining that the
Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission (Commission) order for attorney fees in the
amount of $337.50 was for services which were reasonable, necessary, and performed
during the period where there was an attorney-client relationship. The claimant appealed,;
there is no response from the attorney.

DECISION
We affirm.

All dates are 2001 unless otherwise stated. The claimant asserts that the attorney
for whom fees were granted was never his attorney, and that although he knew that the
June CCH was to be rescheduled (he had requested postponement) he did not receive the
setting notice and was in surgery at that time. When the CCH was held, the claimant was
not there. There was no representative from the carrier there. The attorney did not put on
testimony concerning the fees but said that the records would speak for themselves.

The date of injury asserted was The claimant was represented for
the period from February 14 through March 12; an agreement with the law firm was signed
on the day representation was undertaken. Although the name of the law firm was that of
a different individual than the claimant’s attorney (Law Offices of. . .), the attorney who
represented the claimant was with this same law firm. The attorney was apparently hired
at the point at which the claim was initially filed and there is no indication whether the
claim was disputed. According to the activity log of the attorney, the Commission had
approved $262.50 in attorney fees for services rendered the day of representation,
although a copy of such order is not in evidence.

On April 11, the Commission entered an order approving another $337.50 in
attorney fees for services claimed during the period from February 1 through February 28.
Essentially, the services for which fees were claimed were telephone calls and drafting two
letters, for a total of 2.25 hours at $150.00 per hour. The claimant discharged his attorney
on March 12 in a telephone call to the attorney. On April 24, the claimant requested a CCH
to dispute the order. The CCH was set for June 5, but rescheduled on request from the
claimant to August 15. Both notices were addressed to the same address of the claimant,
also the return address on the envelope that accompanied his appeal.

The claimant is deemed to have received the August set notice in accordance with
Tex. W.C. Comm’n 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE 8§102.5(d) (Rule 102.5(d)). Attorney fees are
considered as necessary and reasonable when they meet guidelines established by Rule
152.4. The previously approved fees would appear to fall within the guidelines for initially



setting up the file, and the fees under dispute here would appear to meet the hourly
guidelines for monthly contacts. The pertinent guidelines apply whether the claim is
disputed or not; the claimant opted to hire an attorney to set up the claim rather than
pursue it initially himself, and cannot avoid responsibility for a fee if the claim was not
contested. We therefore affirm the hearing officer’'s decision and order.
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