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This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. 8§ 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing was held on May 4,
2001. The hearing officer determined that: (1) the compensable low back injury of the
respondent (claimant) does not extend to or include a herniation at L3-4 and L5-S1; and
(2) the first certification of maximum medical improvement (MMI) and impairment rating
(IR) did not become final because it is invalid and because claimant timely disputed it.
Appellant (carrier) appealed, contending that the first certification did become final. The
determination regarding extent of injury was not appealed. The file does not contain a
response from claimant.

DECISION

We affirm.

Carrier contends that the first certification signed by Dr. H on July 25, 2000, became
final pursuant to the 90-day rule. It contends that the Appeals Panel should not look at the
chronologically first TWCC-69 in this case, which was the unsigned TWCC-69 from Dr. H’'s
office dated July 24, 2000. However, Tex. W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE 8§
130.5(e) (Rule 130.5(e)) does apply only to the chronologically first Report of Medical
Evaluation (TWCC-69). See Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No.
981585, decided August 28, 1998. Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal
No. 000693, decided May 8, 2000, cited by catrrier, is distinguishable and does not support
carrier's contention in this regard. In that case, the Appeals Panel noted that a TWCC-69
that was first in time was not the first certification of IR because it was prepared, not as a
certification of IR, but for informational purposes. A physical therapist had sent the
document to the doctor who actually did sign a TWCC-69, which was intended to be a
certification of IR. In the case before us, however, there is nothing to indicate that Dr. H
did not intend for the July 24, 2000, TWCC-69 to be a certification of IR. Texas Workers’
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 980953, decided June 25, 1998, cited by carrier
is also distinguishable. In that case, there were both signed and unsigned copies of the
same TWCC-69, which were all dated the same date. Therefore, there was no unsigned
TWCC-69 that predated the TWCC-69 that was found to be the “first certification of MMI
and IR” in that case. We conclude that the hearing officer did not err in determining that
the first certification of MMI and IR was unsigned.

Carrier contends that claimant did not prove that the first certification was disputed
within 90 days. Carrier asserts that the testimony of claimant’s daughter was inconsistent.
However, the hearing officer resolved any inconsistencies and he determined what facts
were established. We conclude that the determination that claimant disputed the first
certification within 90 days is not so against the great weight and preponderance of the
evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176
(Tex. 1986).



We affirm the hearing officer’s decision and order.
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