APPEAL NO. 010378

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing was held on January
25, 2001. The hearing officer determined that the appellant (claimant) did not sustain a
compensable injury on ; that the claimant did not timely report her alleged injury
to her employer; and that the claimant did not have disability within the meaning of the
1989 Act because she did not sustain a compensable injury. In her appeal, the claimant
contends that those determinations are against the great weight of the evidence. In its
response to the claimant’s appeal, the respondent (carrier) urges affirmance.

DECISION
Affirmed.

The claimant has the burden to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that she
sustained a compensable injury and that she timely reported the alleged injury to her
employer. Johnson v. Employers Reinsurance Corp., 351 S.W.2d 936 (Tex. Civ. App.-
Texarkana 1961, no writ). Those questions presented the hearing officer with questions
of fact. The hearing officer is the sole judge of the relevance, materiality, weight, and
credibility of the evidence before him. Section 410.165. The hearing officer resolves
conflicts and inconsistencies in the evidence, including the medical evidence, and
determines what facts have been established. Texas Employers Ins. Ass'n v. Campos,
666 S.W.2d 286 (Tex. App.-Houston [14th Dist.] 1984, no writ). To that end, the hearing
officer may believe all, part, or none of the testimony of any witness. An appeals-level
body is not a fact finder and it does not normally pass upon the credibility of the withesses
or substitute its judgment for that of the trier of fact, even if the evidence would support a
different result. National Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Soto, 819 S.W.2d 619 (Tex. App.-El Paso
1991, writ denied). There was conflicting evidence on the issue of whether the claimant
sustained a work-related injury and whether she advised her employer that she was
claiming a work-related injury within the 30-day period specified for doing so in Section
409.001. The hearing officer was acting within his province as the fact finder in
determining that the claimant did not sustain her burden of proving that she sustained a
compensable injury and that she timely reported the injury to her employer. As the fact
finder, the hearing officer was free to discount the claimant’s evidence that she was injured
assisting a patient on , and that she reported her injury to her employer within
30 days of the date of alleged injury. Our review of the record does not demonstrate that
the hearing officer’s injury and notice determinations are so against the great weight and
preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Therefore, no
sound basis exists for us to reverse those determinations on appeal. Cain v. Bain, 709
S.W.2d 175 (Tex. 1986).

Given our affirmance of the hearing officer's determination that the claimant did not
sustain a compensable injury, we likewise affirm his determination that the claimant did not
have disability. By definition, the existence of a compensable injury is a prerequisite to a
finding of disability. Section 401.011(16).



The hearing officer’s decision and order are affirmed.
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