APPEAL NO. 002229

Following a contested case hearing held on September 1, 2000, pursuant to the
Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. 8§ 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act),
the hearing officer, resolved the disputed issues by determining that, based upon newly
discovered evidence, the respondent (carrier herein) was entitled to reopen the issue of
compensability; that the appellant (claimant herein) did not sustain a compensable injury
on ; that the claimant did not sustain disability; and that the claimant's average
weekly wage (AWW) was $326.83. The claimant appeals, essentially arguing that these
determinations were contrary to the evidence. The carrier responds that the decision of
the hearing officer was sufficiently supported by the evidence.

DECISION

Finding sufficient evidence to support the decision of the hearing officer and no
reversible error in the record, we affirm the decision and order of the hearing officer.

The claimant testified that while working as a fence installer he was stepping over
pipe and trenches and felt pain in his back. The carrier initially accepted the claimant's
injury but when it discovered that the claimant's recorded statement concerning his prior
injury and claim history was inaccurate, it disputed the compensability of the claimant's
injury.

Section 409.021 provides as follows, in relevant part:

(@  An insurance carrier shall initiate compensation under this subtitle

promptly. Not later than the seventh day after the date on which an

insurance carrier receives written notice of an injury, the insurance
carrier shall:

(2) begin the payment of benefits as required by this subtitle; or

(2) notify the commission [Texas Workers’ Compensation
Commission] and the employee in writing of its refusal to pay
and advise the employee of:

(A) the right to request a benefit review conference; and

(B) the means to obtain additional information from the
commission.

(b)  An insurance carrier shall notify the commission in writing of the

initiation of income or death benefit payments in the manner
prescribed by commission rules.



(c) If an insurance carrier does not contest the compensability of an injury
on or before the 60th day after the date on which the insurance carrier
is notified of the injury, the insurance carrier waives its right to contest
compensability. The initiation of payments by an insurance carrier
does not affect the right of the insurance carrier to continue to
investigate or deny the compensability of an injury during the 60-day
period.

(d)  Aninsurance carrier may reopen the issue of the compensability of an
injury if there is a finding of evidence that could not reasonably have
been discovered earlier.

In the present case, the carrier sought to reopen the issue of compensability. It
argued that it could not have reasonably discovered earlier that the claimant's back
problems did not result from his compensable injury because it was misinformed by the
claimant concerning his prior history of injuries and claims. The hearing officer specifically
found that this was the case, and we do not find that he erred as a matter of law in doing
So.

The question of whether an injury occurred is one of fact. Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 93854, decided November 9, 1993; Texas
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 93449, decided July 21, 1993. Section
410.165(a) provides that the contested case hearing officer, as finder of fact, is the sole
judge of the relevance and materiality of the evidence as well as of the weight and
credibility that is to be given the evidence. It was for the hearing officer, as trier of fact, to
resolve the inconsistencies and conflicts in the evidence. Garza v. Commercial Insurance
Company of Newark, New Jersey, 508 S.W.2d 701, 702 (Tex. Civ. App.-Amarillo 1974, no
writ). This is equally true regarding medical evidence. Texas Employers Insurance
Association v. Campos, 666 S.W.2d 286, 290 (Tex. App.-Houston [14th Dist.] 1984, no
writ). The trier of fact may believe all, part, or none of the testimony of any witness. Taylor
v. Lewis, 553 S.W.2d 153, 161 (Tex. Civ. App.-Amarillo 1977, writ refd n.r.e.); Aetna
Insurance Co. v. English, 204 S.W.2d 850 (Tex. Civ. App.-Fort Worth 1947, no writ). An
appeals level body is not a fact finder and does not normally pass upon the credibility of
witnesses or substitute its own judgment for that of the trier of fact, even if the evidence
would support a different result. National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh,
Pennsylvania v. Soto, 819 S.W.2d 619, 620 (Tex. App.-El Paso 1991, writ denied). When
reviewing a hearing officer's decision for factual sufficiency of the evidence we should
reverse such decision only if it is so contrary to the overwhelming weight of the evidence
as to be clearly wrong and unjust. Cain v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176 (Tex. 1986); Pool
v. Ford Motor Co., 715 S.W.2d 629, 635 (Tex. 1986).

A finding of injury may be based upon the testimony of the claimant alone. Houston
Independent School District v. Harrison, 744 S.W.2d 298, 299 (Tex. App.-Houston [1st
Dist.] 1987, no writ). However, as an interested party, the claimant's testimony only raises
an issue of fact for the hearing officer to resolve. Escamilla v. Liberty Mutual Insurance
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Company, 499 S.W.2d 758 (Tex. Civ. App.-Amarillo 1973, no writ). In the present case,
the hearing officer found no injury contrary to the testimony of the claimant and some of
the medical evidence. The claimant had the burden to prove he was injured in the course
and scope of his employment. Reed v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 535 S.W.2d 377
(Tex. Civ. App.-Beaumont 1976, writ ref'd n.r.e.). We cannot say that the hearing officer
was incorrect as a matter of law in finding that the claimant failed to meet this burden. This
is so even though another fact finder might have drawn other inferences and reached other
conclusions. Salazar v. Hill, 551 S.W.2d 518 (Tex. Civ. App.-Corpus Christi 1977, writref'd
n.r.e.).

Nor do we find error in the hearing officer's resolution of the AWW issue. The
claimant had not worked for the employer for 13 weeks at the time of his asserted injury.
It was undisputed that the claimant was paid at the rate of $11.50 per hour. The claimant
argued that his AWW should be based upon this hourly rate and a 40-hour work week.
There was evidence that during the weeks prior to the alleged injury the claimant actually
worked less than 40 hours a week and the carrier argued that the claimant's AWW should
be paid on the wages he was actually paid during the nine weeks preceding the alleged
injury during which he worked for the employer.

Section 408.041 deals with the calculation of AWW. Under Section 408.041(a) if
an employee worked for the employer for 13 weeks prior to the injury, the AWW s
computed by dividing the amount actually earned by 13. The claimant argued that his
AWW should be computed under Section 408.041(c) which provides that if Section
408.041(a) or (b) cannot reasonably be applied that the employee's AWW be determined
by "any method the commission considers fair, just, and reasonable to all parties and
consistent with the methods established under this section.” As we have previously noted,
when the hearing officer determines that the usual AWW calculation method cannot be
applied in a given case the hearing officer has discretion to apply any fair, just and
reasonable method in arriving at AWW and we review the method used under an abuse
of discretion standard. See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No.
941292, decided November 9, 1994, and cases cited therein. Our review indicates that
the hearing officer's method of calculating AWW was fair, just and reasonable and was
consistent with the methods established in Section 408.041 to calculate AWW, although
it was not the only method that could have been used in this case. Therefore, he did not
abuse his discretion in so calculating AWW and we affirm the determination that the
claimant's AWW is $326.83.

Finally, with no compensable injury found, there is no loss upon which to find
disability. By definition, disability depends upon a compensable injury. See Section
401.011(16).



The decision and order of the hearing officer are affirmed.
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