APPEAL NO. 000933

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing was held on
February 14, 2000. The issues at the hearing were whether the claimant sustained a
compensable injury on , and whether he had disability. The hearing officer
determined that the claimant did not sustain a compensable injury and did not have
disability.

On April 13, 2000, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's
Fees (Order 2), covering services for the period from January 31 to February 25, 2000,
approving .90 hours out of 22.00 hours requested, for a total approved fee of $131.00 out
of $2,896.00 requested, the fees to be paid pursuant to Section 408.222 and Tex. W.C.
Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 152.1(f) (Rule 152.1(f)). Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission records reflect that on March 24, 2000, another Commission
Order for Attorney's Fees (Order 1) was issued addressing the same items that are the
basis of Order 2. Order 1 approved 5.00 hours of 8.50 hours requested for preparing for
and attending the February 14th hearing. Order 1 also approved .70 hour of 4.00 hours
requested for communications and 7.00 hours of 9.50 hours requested for travel time. In
her appeal, the attorney argues that the hearing officer abused her discretion in denying
the requested fees for her and her associate and asks that we render a new order
approving the fees in total. The carrier did not respond to the appeal; however, the
claimant filed a response in which he maintained that the appeal was untimely.

DECISION

We reverse Order 2 and render a decision approving the items not previously
approved and ordering payment of an additional $1,110.00 in fees.

Initially, we consider the claimant's assertion that the carrier's appeal is untimely.
We find no merit in this assertion. Order 2 was mailed to the carrier's attorney on April 13,
2000. In her appeal, carrier's attorney states she received Order 2 on April 17, 2000, four
days after it was mailed. We received the carrier's appeal of Order 2 on May 1, 2000,
within the time limit for filing an appeal.

We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard. Texas
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995. The
attorney includes with her appeal a copy of the Application for Attorney's Fees (TWCC-
152) for her and an associate, which included a justification text. In Order 2, the hearing
officer disapproved all of the 8.50 hours for attending and preparing for the hearing. Order
1 approved 1.00 hour for attending the proceeding and 4.00 hours of preparation time,
which corresponds with the guideline in Rule 152.4(c)(6). The hearing officer approved
.90 hour and disapproved 3.10 hours for communications in Order 2. Order 1 had
approved an additional .70 hour for communications. Thus, the total approved for
communications was 1.60 hours between Order 1 and Order 2 and 2.40 hours for



communications remain unapproved. Rule 152.4(c)(2) provides a guideline of 2.50 hours
per month for communications. In Order 2, the hearing officer denied all of the 9.50 hours
submitted for travel time to attend the hearing. Order 1 approved 7.00 hours of the 9.50
hours requested; thus, 2.50 hours remain unapproved. Rule 152.4(c)(8) provides that for
travel the "guideline" is "[a]ctual costs that are reasonable and necessary." As noted
above, the attorneys submitted a justification text explaining why the fees they requested
exceeded the guidelines. However, in denying the fees, the hearing officer did not address
the justification text and it was an abuse of discretion for her not to do so. Accordingly,
Order 2 is reversed and a new decision is rendered approving the fees requested that
remain unapproved. Specifically, 3.50 hours for attending and preparing for the hearing
are approved at $130.00 per hour, for a total of $455.00; 1.50 hours for communications
are approved at $130.00 per hour ($195.00) and .90 hour for communications are
approved at $150.00 per hour ($135.00) for a total of $330.00; and 2.50 hours for travel
is approved at $130.00 per hour, for a total of $325.00.

Order 2 is reversed and a new decision is rendered approving the additional
$1,110.00 in fees that was not approved in either Order 1 or Order 2.
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