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APPEAL NO. 000404 
 
 

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. 
CODE ANN. ' 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act).  A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on 
December 15, 1998.  The issue at the CCH was whether the claimant is entitled to 
supplemental income benefits (SIBS) for the first compensable quarter.  The hearing officer 
determined that the claimant is entitled to SIBS for the first compensable quarter.  The 
claimant appealed to correct an error in stating the period covered by the first compensable 
quarter.  The Appeals Panel affirmed, as reformed, the hearing officer=s decision after 
correcting it to state the correct period covered by the first compensable quarter.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 990118, decided March 5, 1999 
(Unpublished). 
 

On February 2, 2000, the hearing officer issued a Commission Order for Attorney's 
Fees (Order), covering services from September 25, 1998, through December 30, 1998, 
approving 30.99 hours out of 58.24 hours requested, for a total approved fee of $4,648.50 
out of $8,736.00 requested, the fee to be paid pursuant to Section 408.147(c) and Tex. 
W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE ' 152.1(f) (Rule 152.1(f)).  The appellant (attorney) 
appeals, contending that all of the requested fees were reasonable and necessary and 
pointing out that the Appeals Panel has held that in SIBS disputes where the fee is paid by 
the carrier the guidelines do not apply.  The attorney asks that the Appeals Panel approve 
all of the denied fees.  The appeal file contains no response from the claimant or the 
carrier. 
 

DECISION 
 

We reverse and remand. 
 

We review attorney's fees cases under an abuse of discretion standard.  Texas 
Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 951196, decided August 28, 1995.  The 
hearing officer disapproved all of the hours requested by the attorney for preparation for the 
benefit review conference (BRC) for the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl."  The hearing 
officer disapproved four items for "Multiple Reasons" and disapproved 16 other items (not 
counting the BRC items) for the reason "Ex Guideline/Unreasonabl."  As the attorney has 
pointed out, the guidelines do not apply in this case.  Rule 152.1(f).  Pursuant to Section 
408.147(c), the carrier is liable for reasonable and necessary attorney=s fees incurred by 
the employee as a result of the carrier=s dispute.  Attorney=s fees awarded are not subject 
to Section 408.221(b), (e), and (h).  The hearing officer entered into the Texas Workers' 
Compensation Commission's (Commission) Attorney Fee Processing System (AFPS) the 
following log text: 
 

ATTY REQUESTS THAT WERE DENIED WERE DONE SO B/C OF NO 
JUSTIFICATION TEXT. 
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The AFPS indicates that no justification text was submitted.  The attorney included with her 
appeal a copy of her Application for Attorney's Fees (TWCC-152), which included a 24-
page copy of her Client Billing Worksheet.  While this may not technically constitute a 
justification text, a justification text is designed to justify exceeding the guidelines, which do 
not apply to this case.  The hearing officer needs to determine whether the requested fees 
are reasonable and necessary.  The Client Billing Worksheet should be helpful in this 
regard.  The hearing officer's use of terms like "Multiple Reasons" and "Ex Guideline/ 
Unreasonabl" gives the Appeals Panel no basis on which to determine whether she has 
abused her discretion in denying the disapproved items.   
 

We therefore reverse the Order and remand for the hearing officer to provide a 
reasoned justification for disallowance of any item which she disapproves.  The hearing 
officer may, at her discretion, hold a CCH on remand or allow the parties to submit and 
respond to written materials.  We note that at the end of the CCH the hearing officer gave 
both attorneys an opportunity to submit justification for exceeding the guidelines at that 
time, later in writing, or both, and the attorney for the carrier and the attorney for the 
claimant both indicated that they would submit justification at a later date. 
 

Pending resolution of the remand, a final decision has not been made in this case.  
However, since reversal and remand necessitate the issuance of a new decision and order 
by the hearing officer, a party who wishes to appeal from such new decision must file a 
request for review not later than 15 days after the date on which such new decision is 
received from the Commission=s Division of Hearings, pursuant to Section 410.202.  See 
Texas Workers= Compensation Commission Appeal No. 92642, decided January 20, 1993. 
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Appeals Judge 

 
CONCUR: 
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