APPEAL NO. 000372

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
January 12, 2000. The hearing officer determined that the compensable injury of the
appellant (claimant) extends to and includes a cervical injury and that the first certification
of maximum medical improvement (MMI) and impairment rating (IR) certified by Dr. M (first
certification) became final pursuant to the 90-day rule, Tex. W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX.
ADMIN. CODE § 130.5(e) (Rule 130.5(e)). Claimant appealed, contending that there was
no valid or complete IR for his cervical injury to become final under the 90-day rule. The
file does not contain a response from respondent (carrier). The determination regarding
extent of injury was not appealed by the parties.

DECISION
We affirm.

Claimant contends that the hearing officer erred in determining that the first
certification became final under the 90-day rule. Claimant did not assert at the CCH or on
appeal that he disputed the first certification within 90 days. Claimant contends that he
should receive a separate IR for his cervical injury, which he did not discover until after the
first certification became final. Claimant asserts that an IR should not be considered final
when all of the injury is not rated and the injured employee does not discover a part of the
injury until after the 90 days has passed.

It is undisputed that claimant was treated for a shoulder injury after he slipped and
fell at work on . Claimant also sustained an abrasion to his head. The record
reflects that on February 2, 1999, Dr. M certified that claimant reached MMI on December
22, 1999, with an IR of zero percent. After this time, claimant began to have headaches
and pain and numbness in his upper extremity and was then diagnosed with a cervical
injury. Claimant testified that he did not have any neck pain or idea that he had a cervical
injury until after the 90 days had passed. The hearing officer in this case also determined
that claimant’s compensable injury extended to his cervical injury.

The hearing officer determined that: (1) claimant received Dr. M's February 2, 1999,
Report of Medical Evaluation (TWCC-69) on March 17, 1999; (2) claimant did not dispute
the first certification within 90 days; and (3) the first certification became final pursuant to
the 90-day rule.

The version of Rule 130.5(e) in effect at the time the IR in this case became final
provided that the first IR assigned to an injured worker will become final if not disputed



within 90 days after it is assigned.’ In Rodriguez v. Service Lloyds Insurance Company,
997 S.W.2d 248 (Tex. 1999), the Texas Supreme Court considered whether there are any
exceptions to Rule 130.5(e). The court's majority opinion stated that: (1) "[t]he plain
language of the 90-day Rule does not contain exceptions"; (2) "[t{]he Rule's language is
consistent with the Commission's [Texas Workers' Compensation Commission] intent"; (3)
"in interpreting this rule . . . the Commission's appeals panels have created exceptions";
and (4) "given the language and intent of the 90-day Rule, we cannot recognize the
exceptions to the 90-day Rule that [the injured worker] pleads, including substantial change
of condition."

The 1989 Act provides that the hearing officer is the sole judge of the weight and
credibility of the evidence. Section 410.165(a). Where there are conflicts in the evidence,
the hearing officer resolves the conflicts and determines what facts the evidence has
established. As an appeals body, we will not substitute our judgment for that of the hearing
officer when the determination is not so against the great weight and preponderance of the
evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176
(Tex. 1986); Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 950456, decided May
9, 1995.

From the evidence, the hearing officer could determine that the first certification
became final. Regarding the complaint that Dr. M did not consider the entire injury,
claimant was required to raise any complaints in this regard within the 90 days. Claimant
asserts that he should receive another IR for his cervical injury, which he could not have
known about within the 90-day period. However, Section 401.011(24) states that an IR is
the percentage of permanent impairment from a “compensable injury.” Claimant’s
compensable injury includes the cervical injury. The 90-day rule applies to the first
certification regarding the compensable injury in this case. The Commission has since
amended the 90-day rule and created exceptions regarding finality under Rule 130.5(e).
These exceptions were included in the new version of Rule 130.5 after public notice and
comment. Again, however, these exceptions were not in effect at relevant time periods in
this case. The hearing officer did not err in his interpretation of the 90-day rule in this case.
We have reviewed the record and we conclude that the hearing officer's determinations
are not so against the great weight and preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly
wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain, supra.

TSubsection (f) of amended Rule 130.5 states that the rule “applies to certifications of MMI and [IRS] that have
not become final prior to the effective date of this rule.” The effective date of this amendment is March 13, 2000.



We affirm the hearing officer’s decision and order.

Judy L. Stephens
Appeals Judge

CONCURRING OPINION:

| believe that a reversal of the case under review would be perceived to be contrary
to the Rodriguez v. Service Lloyds Ins. Co., 997 S.W.2d 248 (Tex. 1999) decision. As a
result, this concurring opinion is reluctantly written. Regardless of any "exceptions" that
may have been applied by the Appeals Panel, there is another, underlying, reason why the
IR should not become final in this case. An impairment rating (IR) is not assigned until
maximum medical improvement (MMI) has been certified. See Texas Workers'
Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). Any IR is to be
assigned for the compensable injury. See the 1989 Act. When medical evidence clearly
shows that pain was mistakenly thought to emanate from, for instance, a shoulder, but later
is found to be from the cervical spine, an IR for the shoulder could not be assigned
because the injury includes more than the shoulder and MMI has not been reached for the
cervical spine injury. See the 1989 Act.

The controlling criteria of the 1989 Act, as opposed to the rule, has been set forth
previously in considering whether an IR is final under Tex. W.C. Comm'n, 28 TEX. ADMIN.
CODE § 130.5(e) (Rule 130.5(e)); one instance was in Texas Workers' Compensation
Commission Order No. 99025, decided July 15, 1999. It, too, said that Rule 130.5(e)
contains no exceptions, as had just been stated in the Rodriguez decision. That order cited
Section 408.123 as stating that an IR is not assigned until MMI has been reached. It also
cited Section 401.011(24) as stating that the IR is a percentage of impairment from the
compensable injury, not just from part of a compensable injury that is discovered in the first
weeks, or even days, after the accident.

While it is true that the Appeals Panel cannot create "exceptions" to a rule, the rule
cannot turn a blind eye to unambiguous standards set forth in the 1989 Act that the rule
should complement. The term "exception" was unfortunate; if it must be used, then it would
be appropriate to observe that the "exceptions" were not created out of whole cloth, but
reflect the criteria of the 1989 Act.

Joe Sebesta
Appeals Judge



DISSENTING OPINION:
| respectfully dissent.

The Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq.
(1989 Act) contains provisions that must be met for the Texas Workers’ Compensation
Commission (Commission) or a court to make a determination that an injured worker has
reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) and to assign an impairment rating (IR).
Section 401.011 contains general definitions. Subsection (26) provides:

“Injury” means damage or harm to the physical structure of the body and a
disease or infection naturally resulting from the damage or harm. The term
includes an occupational disease.

Subsection (10) states ““Compensable injury’ means an injury that arises out of and in the
course and scope of employment for which compensation is payable.” Subsection (23)
provides:

“Impairment” means any anatomic or functional abnormality or loss existing
after [MMI] that results from a compensable injury and is reasonably
presumed to be permanent.

Subsection (24) states “impairment rating’ means the percentage of permanent impairment
of the whole body resulting from a compensable injury.” Section 408.123 states that after
an injured employee has been certified as having reached MMI the certifying doctor shall
evaluate the condition of the employee and assign an IR. Section 408.124 provides that an
award of impairment income benefits (11BS), whether by the Commission or a court, shall
be made on an IR determined using the Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent
Impairment, third edition, second printing, dated February 1989, published by the American
Medical Association. Subsection (30) provides:

“Maximum Medical Improvement” means the earlier of:
(A) the earliest date after which, based on reasonable medical probability,
further material recovery from or lasting improvement to an injury can

no longer reasonably be anticipated;

(B) the expiration of 104 weeks from the date on which income benefits
begin to accrue; or

(C) the date determined provided by Section 408.104. [Section 408.104

pertains to MMI after spinal surgery and applies to compensable
injuries with a date of injury on or after January 1, 1998.]
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JOHN T. MONTFORD, ETAL., AGUIDE TO TEXAS WORKERS' COMP REFORM
(1991) is authored by Senator John T. Montford, the lead sponsor of the 1989 Act, and Will
Barber and Robert Duncan (now a state senator), who worked closely with Senator
Montford. It contains the following hypotheticals on pages 4-114 and 4-115:

Hypothetical No. 4B-15. Substantial Change in IIBS Condition. What if the
claimant's condition deteriorates and impairment becomes worse following an
initial [IR]?

Result. If the employee's treating doctor assesses a new [IR] because of a
substantial change in condition, the employee should be entitled to a benefit
review conference to obtain an order increasing the duration of IIBS based
on the new [IR]. If the carrier disputes that new [IR], under these hypothetical
facts, the carrier is entitled to an order directing the employee to be examined
by a “designated doctor” to resolve the dispute.

Hypothetical No. 4B-16. Improved Impairment. What if, after the carrier
initiates 1IBS, it reasonably appears to the carrier that the employee's
condition may have substantially changed, so that the employee's initial [IR]
has become excessive?

Result. The carrier should be entitled to request the Commission to issue an
order directing the claimant to be examined by a “designated doctor.” There
is no provision in the [1989] Act that should be construed to prevent the
carrier from going forward, after IIBS are initiated, with new evidence of a
substantial change of condition that raises bona fide questions as to the initial
[IR].

Section 402.061 provides that the Commission “shall adopt rules as necessary for
the implementation and enforcement” of the 1989 Act. The version of Tex. W.C. Comm’n,
28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 130.5(e) (Rule 130.5(e)) that applies to the case before us
provides “The first [IR] assigned to an employee is considered final if the rating is not
disputed within 90 days after the rating is assigned.” A rule of an agency should be
interpreted to be in harmony with the statute it implements. It is presumed that the
Commission considered all of the 1989 Act when it adopted Rule 130.5(e). The version of
Rule 130.5 that applies to the case before us provides:

Rule 130.5. Impairment Rating Disputes
(a) Aninsurance carrier that disputes an [IR] shall file with the commission a

statement of disputed [IIBS] that gives the insurance carrier's reasonable
assessment of the correct rating. A copy of the statement shall be sent to the



employee, and employee’s representative, at the same time it is filed with the
commission.

(b) If the carrier does not begin paying of [IIBS], the statement shall be filed
no later than five days after receiving the report from the certifying doctor.

(c) If the carrier begins payment of [IIBS], the statement shall be filed no
later than three weeks after the carrier receives the report from the certifying
doctor.

(d) If the carrier elects not to perform its own reasonable assessment, the
carrier may file a request for selection of a designated doctor to assess
impairment. Section 130.6 of this title (relating to Designated Doctor;
General Provisions) shall apply except that:

(1) the examination shall be held no later than 14 days after a
designated doctor is agreed to by the parties, or appointed by the
commission, whichever is earlier; and

(2) if the request does not indicate agreement on the designated
doctor by the employee and the insurance carrier, the commission
shall select the designated doctor; and

(3) the employee shall not reschedule the examination other than for
an “exceptional circumstance” (as described in §130.4(i)(3) of this title
(relating to Presumption That [MMI] Has Been Reached and
Resolution When MMI Has Not Been Certified)), and the rescheduled
examination must be within 72 hours of the original examination.

(e) The first [IR] assigned to an employee is considered final if the rating is
not disputed within 90 days after the rating is assigned.

Rule 130.5 contains some of the provisions of then Section 4.26 [IIBS], now codified at
Sections 408.121 through 408.126. Sections 408.127, 408.128, and 408.129 in
Subchapter G or Chapter 408 are codifications of other provisions related to 1IBS. The
requirement for the carrier to begin payments no later than the fifth day after it received the
report certifying MMI and the provision for the carrier to make a reasonable assessment of
the IR are in Section 4.26. Rule 130.5 (a), (b), (c), and (d) each has “carrier” as the third
word in it. The original draft of Rule 130.5 did not contain (e). It was added at the request
of a commissioner representing wage earners. Originally, it was apparently thought of as
placing another requirement on carriers. In practice, it has most often resulted in a
claimant being unsuccessful in disputing a first certification of MMI and IR because the 90-
day period has run.



In my opinion, the use of the phrase “is considered final” should be read as
permitting the agency to consider the provisions of the 1989 Act in determining whether the
first certification of MMI and IR became final. There is no indication that the Commission
intended for a certification of MMI and IR that was not rendered in compliance with the
1989 Act to become final. In the case before us, at the time the first certification of MMI
and IR was rendered and for 90 days after that certification was rendered, the claimant was
unaware that he had a cervical injury. Arguments for not keeping the date a claimant
reached MMI and his or her IR for the compensable injury open indefinitely can be made.
In my opinion, those concerns are addressed in the provisions for MMI being reached by
operation of law in Section 401.011(30). A certification of MMI and IR that does not
consider all of a claimant’s compensable injury is not a certification in compliance with the
1989 Act. | do not interpret the provisions of Rule 130.5(e) to require that the agency hold
that a certification of MMI and IR that does not include impairment for a cervical injury that
was unknown during the 90-day period in Rule 130.5(e) became final under the provisions
of that rule. That interpretation does not create an exception to Rule 130.5(e) that is
prohibited by Rodriguez v. Service Lloyds Insurance Company, 997 S.W.2d 248 (Tex.
1999), but interprets that part of the rule to be in harmony with the 1989 Act and other rules
implementing that act. To interpret Rule 130.5(e) otherwise does not afford the claimant
the opportunity to prove what his IR for the compensable injury is and denies him due
process. | would reverse the decision of the hearing officer and render a decision that the
first certification of MMI and IR did not become final under the provisions of Rule 130.5(e).

Tommy W. Lueders
Appeals Judge



