APPEAL NO. 000278

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
January 21, 2000. In response to the issue at the CCH, the hearing officer determined that
the first certification of maximum medical improvement (MMI) and impairment rating (IR)
assigned by Dr. G on October 20, 1998, became final under Tex. W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX.
ADMIN. CODE § 130.5(e) (rule 130.5(e)). The appellant (claimant) appealed, contending
that the first certification did not become final. The respondent (carrier) responds, urging
affirmance.

DECISION
We affirm.

Claimant contends the hearing officer erred in determining that the first certification
became final pursuant to Rule 130.5(e), the “90-day rule.” Claimant asserts that: (1) the
first certification was disputed by carrier within 90 days when carrier filed its November 3,
1998, Payment of Compensation or Notice of Refused/Disputed Claim (TWCC-21); (2) her
employer gave her incorrect information that she could not timely dispute her IR; and (3)
the first certification is void because Dr. G rescinded it.

It was undisputed that claimant sustained a compensable left knee injury on
. On October 20, 1998, Dr. G certified that claimant reached MMI on October
14, 1998, with a two percent IR for impairment to her left knee. Claimant’s interrogatory
answers indicate that she sustained a compensable left knee injury when she tripped over
some mats. The record contains an “EES-19" letter addressed to claimant and dated
October 29, 1998, that states that Dr. G certified a two percent IR and an MMI date of
October 14, 1998. Claimant testified that she did not remember the date that she received
written notice of the first certification. A Dispute Resolution Information System (DRIS)
note dated November 12, 1998, states that claimant called the Texas Workers’
Compensation Commission (Commission) and that a Commission employee and claimant
“went over TWCC 69 [received] from [Dr. G].” The DRIS note stated that the employee
explained “MMI and IR” to claimant and that “[claimant] does not want to dispute at this
time.” The next call from claimant logged in to the DRIS system is dated April 12, 1999,
and states that claimant said the right to dispute had never been explained to her. Carrier
filed a TWCC-21 dated November 3, 1998, that stated, “carrier disputes [claimant’s]
entittement to [temporary income benefits (TIBS)]. [Claimant returned to work] 6/8/98
therefore there is no compensable lost time. Carrier received EES.19 from [Dr. G] . . . .
Carrier has requested and received TWCC-69 from [Dr. G] and sent same to treating
doctor . .. for concurrence.” A medical note, apparently from Dr. G, dated April 7, 1999,
states that “MMI has been rescinded as the pain continuum dictated that [claimant] undergo
a total knee replacement . . . .”



The hearing officer determined that: (1) Dr. G was the first doctor to certify MMI and
IR; (2) claimant received the first certification at least by November 12, 1998; (3) claimant
did not dispute the first certification until April 12, 1999; (4) the TWCC-21 filed by carrier
was not a dispute of the first certification; and (5) the first certification became final
pursuant to the 90-day rule.

Rule 130.5(e) provides that the first IR assigned to an injured worker will become
final if not disputed within 90 days after the doctor assigned it. The 90-day period starts to
run from the date that written notice is received. Texas Workers' Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 92693, decided February 8, 1993. The Appeals Panel has
frequently held that the first certification doctor may rescind a first certification if it is
rescinded within 90 days of when it was assessed. Texas Workers' Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 990056, decided February 24, 1999; Texas Workers'
Compensation Commission Appeal No. 970021, decided February 20, 1997; Texas
Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 000065, decided February 24, 2000.

The 1989 Act provides that the hearing officer is the sole judge of the weight and
credibility of the evidence. Section 410.165(a). Where there are conflicts in the evidence,
the hearing officer resolves the conflicts and determines what facts the evidence has
established. As an appeals body, we will not substitute our judgment for that of the hearing
officer when the determination is not so against the great weight and preponderance of the
evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d 175, 176
(Tex. 1986); Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal No. 950456, decided May
9, 1995.

We have reviewed the evidence in this case and claimant’s contentions abut the
TWCC-21. We conclude that the hearing officer's determination that there was no valid
dispute within 90 days is not so against the great weight and preponderance of the
evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain, supra. Regarding claimant’s
contention that her employer told her she could not dispute her IR and her case was
“closed,” we have stated that ignorance of the law does not justify or excuse
noncompliance with the requirements of Rule 130.5(e). Texas Workers' Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 94269, decided April 20, 1994. Reliance on misinformation does
not excuse the failure to dispute pursuant to the 90-day rule, especially where, as here, the
Commission gave the claimant correct written advice about the application of Rule 130.5(e)
in the form of the “EES-19" letter. See Texas Workers' Compensation Commission Appeal
No. 970305, decided April 7, 1997. Regarding Dr. G’s rescission letter, we note that this
rescission was not accomplished within the 90-day period. Therefore, the first certification
became final because there was no rescission within 90 days. We conclude that the
hearing officer’'s determinations are not so against the great weight and preponderance of
the evidence as to be clearly wrong or manifestly unjust. Cain.



We affirm the hearing officer’s decision and order.
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