APPEAL NO. 000111

This appeal arises pursuant to the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, TEX. LAB.
CODE ANN. § 401.001 et seq. (1989 Act). A contested case hearing (CCH) was held on
December 13, 1999. With regard to the only issue before her, the hearing officer
determined that the first certification of maximum medical improvement (MMI) and
impairment rating (IR) assigned by Dr. L on December 29, 1997, became final under Tex.
W.C. Comm’n, 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 130.5(e) (Rule 130.5(e)).

Appellant (claimant) appeals, asserting that the first assigned certification of MMI
and IR by Dr. L did not comply with the requirements of Rules 130.1, 130.2, and 133.3 and,
therefore, is not legally valid or binding. Claimant contends that Dr. L’s assessment was
“an incomplete evaluation report.” Claimant requests that we reverse the hearing officer’s
decision and render a decision in her favor. Respondent (carrier) responds that a
certification of MMI and IR for purposes of Rule 130.5(e) is separate and “distinct” from
completing a medical evaluation report. Carrier urges affirmance.

DECISION
Affirmed.

The parties stipulated that claimant sustained a compensable injury to her right knee
in the form of a torn lateral meniscus on . Claimant testified that Dr. L was her
treating doctor; that Dr. L referred her to Dr. P, who performed surgery on the right knee,
apparently in December 1997; and that she then returned to the care of Dr. L.

Dr. L, on a Report of Medical Evaluation (TWCC-69) dated December 29, 1997,
certiied MMI on December 24, 1997, with a zero percent IR. Carrier presented
documentary evidence that a copy of the report was sent by certified mail to the claimant
and was signed for on January 28, 1998. The hearing officer found that claimant received
notice of Dr. L’s first certification of MMI and IR “on or about January 28, 1998.” Itis also
undisputed, and the hearing officer found, that claimant did not dispute Dr. L’s first
certification within 90 days of receiving the notice. It was claimant’s contention, both at the
CCH and on appeal, that Dr. L’s first certification was invalid because it did not fully comply
with Rules 130.1 (Reports of Medical Evaluation), 130.2 (Certification of MMI by the
Treating Doctor) and 133.3 (Responsibilities of the Treating Doctor). Claimant, in her
appeal, sets out the provisions of those rules in some detail.

Rule 130.5(e) provides that the “first [IR] assigned to an employee is considered final
if the rating is not disputed within 90 days” after the party receives it. That rule only
requires that, by necessity, MMI is certified and an IR be assigned. The rule does not
require the completion of a medical evaluation done in accordance with Rules 130.1 and
130.2 as a condition precedent to certifying an MMI date and assigning an IR. As carrier



notes, certification of MMI and assignment of an IR is distinct from completing a medical
evaluation report. Essentially, the same argument claimant makes here was made in
Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 93330, decided June 10, 1993,
where the notice of the first certification of MMI and assignment of the IR was made
through a Payment of Compensation or Notice of Refused/Disputed Claim (TWCC-21).
The employee in that case contended that the documents, including a TWCC-69, did not
constitute a proper certification of MMI and IR. The Appeals Panel agreed with the hearing
officer, stating that the issue before him was not whether those documents constituted a
“certification” under Rule 130.1 but whether the employee’s dispute of the first IR assigned
was timely under Rule 130.5(e).

The Appeals Panel has held that “certain questions regarding the validity of the first
certification of MMI and the assignment of an [IR] must be brought forward in a dispute
within 90 days of notification in writing of the findings.” Texas Workers’ Compensation
Commission Appeal No. 94475, decided June 3, 1994. Citing our decision in Appeal No.
93330, supra, the decision in Appeal No. 94475, supra, held that the challenge to the
validity of the first TWCC-69 based on the doctor’s failure to complete that portion of item
14 calling for documentation of objective laboratory or clinical findings of impairment,
“where the doctor has in fact reported the date of MMI and assigned a 13% [IR] in the
TWCC-69, should have been brought forward by way of disputing the certification of MMI or
assignment of [IR] within 90 days of receiving written notice of the assignment of the [IR].”
See also Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission Appeal No. 950794, decided June
30, 1995. Claimant and the hearing officer both cite Rodriguez v. Service Lloyds Insurance
Company, 997 S.W.2d 248 (Tex. 1999) for the proposition that the plain language of Rule
130.5(e) does not contain exceptions and an IR is considered final if not disputed within 90
days. In this case, we hold that an IR under Rule 130.5(e) need not contain all the
elements of a medical evaluation required in Rules 130.1 and 130.2 and it is up to the party
disagreeing with that rating to dispute the rating within 90 days of receiving written notice of
it.




Upon review of the record submitted, we find no reversible error and we will not
disturb the hearing officer’s determinations unless they are so against the great weight and
preponderance of the evidence as to be clearly wrong or unjust. In re King’s Estate, 150
Tex. 662, 244 S.W.2d 660 (1951). We do not so find and, consequently, the decision and
order of the hearing officer are affirmed.
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